The New Kid

March 7, 2007 at 8:42 pm 25 comments

My first clue that there was something on Jazzmin’s mind yesterday was when she slammed the door on the car hard enough to rattle my teeth.  When I asked “what’s wrong?” and she said “NOTHING!”…I left it alone.  She may be little, but she’s very tough.

She went about her homework and chores silently, very unusual for her.  At dinner, she turned to me and said “How was your day at work Nana?”  That was my signal that she was ready to talk.  Jazz is 9, she couldn’t care less what happens at my work.  I answered it was fine and then asked how school was.  In her hautiest, most stuffy and disapproving voice, she informed me that they got a new girl in their class.

JAZZ:  This girl came to class wearing LIP GLOSS, and a BRA!

ME:  She did NOT! A bra? In third grade? 

JAZZ: Not only that, she doesn’t even know her 4’s,we’re on 9’s, she’ll never catch up. She had 3 pony tails in her hair and black boots with a pink skirt. 

ME: But I like black with pink.

JAZZ:  In rooms, maybe, but ruffles and those biker boots did not look good. 

PAP:  Its really hard to move in the middle of the year like this, maybe she needs a friend.

JAZZ:  This girl squirted soap on her hands from every pump in the bathroom and then ran up and down the sinks to rinse.  She didn’t even SCRUB! 

Secretly, I’m thinking, gee Jazz just got the kid I’m always writing positively about in my books.  The unconventional kid, the fun kid I thought they’d aspire to….

Jazz:  Then, you know what Nana?  She talked back to the teacher {insert Jazz’s imitation of her teacher} and was REALLY mean to Abby.

Okay, now we’re getting somewhere.  Jazz thinks her teacher walks on water, and Abby has Downs Syndrom, there is no reason, ever, to be mean to Abby- she’s like sunshine in a jumper. 

ME:  Well, she was probably really nervous, and nobody’s told her it isn’t polite to talk back.  What did you do? 

JAZZ:  I told her to get in her chair and shut up before I punched her lights out.

Relief.  Yes, it may have been a violent response, but atleast I’m not turning her into an insufferable prig.   

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Small Towns The Over Scheduled Life

25 Comments Add your own

  • 1. J.  |  March 7, 2007 at 9:23 pm

    LOL! Punch her lights out …
    too cute.

    Reply
  • 2. hammer  |  March 8, 2007 at 1:37 am

    Sounds like the kid has a good head on her shoulders 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Linda  |  March 8, 2007 at 1:53 am

    At least she is fighting for what she believes in. What have we got if we can’t do that. I know I shouldn’t approve of fighting, but good for her. I am sure that the “new girl” will eventually calm down. She just picked the wrong idetity for the first day at a new school, I’ll bet.

    Reply
  • 4. Jackie  |  March 8, 2007 at 3:29 am

    Jazz is a lucky girl to have you to talk to – when she’s ready. She sounds like her nana!

    Reply
  • 5. katcampbell  |  March 8, 2007 at 3:35 am

    Jan – Our Jazz is a hoot. Lucky for us, she trys talking first.

    Hammer – She’s a good kid most of the time, toddles that line between cool and nerdy.

    Linda – I think you’re right about the new girl picking the wrong identity. It really would be a nightmare to start a new school this late in the season.

    Jackie – Jazz has always been more my kid than her mothers. That’s what worries me!

    Reply
  • 6. Stacy  |  March 8, 2007 at 6:16 am

    That’s funny. Leave it to a kid to cut straight to the chase.

    Reply
  • 7. John Linna  |  March 8, 2007 at 6:30 am

    THere are lines that shouldn’t be crossed and the new girl crosssed them. The response therefore makes good sense.

    Reply
  • 8. hayden  |  March 8, 2007 at 8:13 am

    too funny!

    Reply
  • 9. Gawpo  |  March 8, 2007 at 8:48 am

    Wait a minute. For a minute there I thought you said Jazz was only nine. How silly of me.

    Reply
  • 10. QuillDancer  |  March 8, 2007 at 9:31 am

    Jazz has her priorities right. Tell her some people act obnoxious when they are scared. Ask her to give the new kid another chance.

    Reply
  • 11. Jay  |  March 8, 2007 at 9:45 am

    You have to admire her protective nature.

    Reply
  • 12. The Rev. Dr. Kate  |  March 8, 2007 at 11:54 pm

    Out of the mouths of babes!!! Good for her for standing up for treating others respectfully and for knowing that bras and biker boots do not belong in THIRD GRADE??? – but she also knows that knowing her stuff is far more important than what she can strut!

    Reply
  • 13. Mr. Fabulous  |  March 9, 2007 at 6:55 am

    I love her sass!

    Reply
  • 14. Janet  |  March 9, 2007 at 8:20 pm

    Jazz just might wind up being best friends with that girl. It’ll be interesting to see what happens in the next few months.

    Reply
  • 15. delmonti  |  March 9, 2007 at 9:26 pm

    Fantastic…. you’ve gotta love the fact she confides in her Nana…..

    I love it!

    Reply
  • 16. Diesel  |  March 10, 2007 at 2:17 am

    Sounds like that kid has some potential as long as she has someone around to keep her in line. Maybe they’ll become friends. 🙂

    Reply
  • 17. Catch  |  March 10, 2007 at 5:36 am

    hey

    Reply
  • 18. Catch  |  March 10, 2007 at 5:38 am

    comments not coming thru

    Reply
  • 19. Catch  |  March 10, 2007 at 5:38 am

    only short ones

    Reply
  • 20. Catch  |  March 10, 2007 at 5:38 am

    WTH?

    Reply
  • 21. Catch  |  March 10, 2007 at 5:39 am

    funny post..new girl probably has implants as well! LOL

    Reply
  • 22. Catch  |  March 10, 2007 at 5:40 am

    sorry to take up so much room..lol

    Reply
  • 23. smileymama  |  March 11, 2007 at 7:40 am

    oh. I can see my 9-yr old saying these things. Good for her to speak up for her classmate, hopefully the new girl will tone it down a bit once she feels like she belongs….what a great kid that Jazz is!

    Reply
  • 24. Jay  |  March 13, 2007 at 4:44 pm

    That’s a great moral.
    Too bad I’m afraid of heights.

    Reply
  • 25. mrsjosegoldbloom  |  March 16, 2007 at 6:51 pm

    That was cute Kat…good luck with the book.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
March 2007
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Feeds


