This New Life

April 4, 2007 at 6:35 pm 18 comments

Thanks everybody for your comments, prayers and good wishes.   I’m as okay as one can be without her house, husband, dog or cats.  Quite frankly, I’m sick to death of feeling crappy and depressed.  I’ve always believed that we’re in charge of our own destiny, as well as our happiness, and I’m prepared to go chase both those elusive states of being.

Princess and I, along with the two grandgirls, are all settled into our new place.  Getting there was an adventure.  The first problem was deciding which of the treasures from the big house we had to have in the little apartment.  Since I am not a spiteful, vindictive woman by nature, I was trying to be nice and not remove ALL the best stuff, but eventually the hierarchy of needs took over.  He makes more money than me, its easier for him to replace things.  Once it was all sorted and packed, the guy at U-Haul determined we needed a 17 foot truck. 

This was an interesting turn of events.  Princess and I both drive small cars, are near sighted and tend to believe that we own both sides of any road.  This works okay in her Kia or my Sebring…not so good in a gigantic moving van.  I was in charge of driving it.  She was in charge of taking notes on which street signs, mail boxes or small children I took out on the way between domiciles.  When all was said and done, I only ran into one street sign (my own, prophetic) and destroyed one branch on a tree that needed trimmed anyway. 

This past week has spent unpacking, painting and getting settled, as well as catching up on the day job.  My internet and cable will be installed on Friday and I’ll be back in full swing.  I look forward to catching up with all of you!

Entry filed under: Moving.

The World Spins On Views

18 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Linda  |  April 4, 2007 at 8:32 pm

    I am glad to see you back. I wish that I could habe been with you to help with the move. I know how stressful that can be. I hope that you are all adjusting to the new place. I am looking forward to hearing your new adventures!

    Reply
  • 2. DELMONTI (Dave)  |  April 4, 2007 at 10:17 pm

    You make me laugh…… you make me cry….. but much more than this, you make me feel better about…. stuff.

    wonderful.

    Reply
  • 3. DaveM  |  April 4, 2007 at 11:44 pm

    Pleased to hear from you and the latest “adventures” ! Good for you Kat, as hard as it must be, you can still entertain us, and you seem to be not someone who lets lifes upsets get in the way. I guess your’e a hard act to follow but an inspiring one. Good luck………who needs it she says….I make my own.

    Reply
  • 4. LauraJ  |  April 4, 2007 at 11:47 pm

    Like the above poster I want to laugh and cry all at the same time. Here’s a hug and a kiss on the cheek. And another hug! Take your time to get settled, we’ll be here a while.

    Reply
  • 5. John Linna  |  April 5, 2007 at 3:53 am

    You are handling this grief experience very well. I am not sure what I would do if Betty decided to leave me. I applaud your decesion to find a new life and go on.

    Reply
  • 6. Janet  |  April 5, 2007 at 7:18 am

    I’m guessing you couldn’t have the pets in the apartment, it must be hard to be without them. Glad you’re doing better-and I’m happy you didn’t run over too much with the van!

    Reply
  • 7. bobciz  |  April 6, 2007 at 12:44 am

    New apartment, new life, same Kat. Keep on truckin.

    Reply
  • 8. hayden  |  April 6, 2007 at 8:36 am

    oh my, that apartment doesn’t know what’s coming! make-over mama is in her new home!
    best wishes with this kat – lots of work, but sometimes that’s the best doctor.
    thinking of you.

    Reply
  • 9. Catch  |  April 6, 2007 at 8:49 am

    Kat,you are going to be ok…and one day you will wake up and you wont feel crappy and depressed anymore…you have a new life ahead of you and it could be fun and exciting! Im so glad you are getting online again….I have missed you. Take care my sweet friend and I wish you and the girls a Happy Easter! God bless.

    Reply
  • 10. Gawpo  |  April 6, 2007 at 12:38 pm

    You RULE!

    You RAWK!

    U-HAUL!!!!

    I am seeing resilience. I love seeing that in you, Kat.

    There is a message you might enjoy on what I posted tonight. You will also want to go to Blue’s page since she inspired my third video.

    You are in my thoughts every day. Love for you is in my heart, dear one. G

    Reply
  • 11. Gawpo  |  April 6, 2007 at 12:40 pm

    I know that all things happen for a reason. But some things need not occur just to make that point. And I know this is a G-Rated blog, but I am just going to say this:

    That sockcucking, futhermucking bonofasitch!

    There.

    I feel better.

    Reply
  • 12. Gawpo  |  April 6, 2007 at 12:41 pm

    …oh, and if you need to remove that last comment, you won’t offend me in the least. I just had to say it. It is said. There.

    Reply
  • 13. smileymama  |  April 6, 2007 at 6:03 pm

    Glad to see you writing again. And sounding feisty as ever. Best wishes in your new home. That street sign had it coming. 🙂 T

    Reply
  • 14. Stacy  |  April 7, 2007 at 1:31 am

    Big hugs to you, Kat! You are handling all of this with so much grace. If I am ever in your shoes I hope to have half as much. Keeping you in my prayers.

    Reply
  • 15. Diesel  |  April 7, 2007 at 11:09 am

    Best wishes to you in your new life, Kat.

    Reply
  • 16. Mr. Fabulous  |  April 7, 2007 at 11:55 am

    You trim trees while you drive; ever the multi-tasker!

    Hang in there, my friend.

    Reply
  • 17. Janet  |  April 8, 2007 at 8:13 pm

    Happy Easter, Kat!

    Reply
  • 18. The Rev. Dr. Kate  |  April 9, 2007 at 7:50 pm

    Bless you for your attitude and your willingness to see! Easter is here and brings with it the lesson that new life is always there for us. Blessings to you as you go so bravely into your new life!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
April 2007
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Feeds


