Views

April 9, 2007 at 3:13 pm 18 comments

We now live on the top floor of a three story building.  When you walk in my front door you can see straight through the apartment to my bedroom at the end of the hall.  On your right, we have the dining area and kitchen. On the left, the living room and sliding glass doors to the balcony.  Sounds romantic, doesn’t it?  Balcony… a perch above the bustling world below.  Places with balconys really should have views.  Mine?  Not so much.

During the day I can see an empty field of scrub grass.  The new road to the mall that will eventually be full of traffic.  A thin row of scrawny trees beyond that and a hillside featuring a selection of McMansions.  During the day, its pretty ugly.  But after dark the view from my balcony is something different altogether.  The ugly stuff disappears under cover of darkness, the wispy trees turn white and fuzzy in the moonlight.  There’s a big piece of sky right at eye level, sometimes filled with clouds, sometimes filled with stars.  Visitors to my balcony at night oohh and ahhh and ask how I found such a view from a city apartment. 

Most things are like that, what you see will depend on how and when you look at it. 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

This New Life The Mother’s Curse

18 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mr. Fabulous  |  April 9, 2007 at 4:20 pm

    I love this post. I’ve read it about a half dozen times. It is so very true, and a lesson for all of us.

    Reply
  • 2. guyana-gyal  |  April 9, 2007 at 4:42 pm

    Kat, I am now really catching up on your blog, having been away because of a dreadful flu, a family crisis, a full house with lots of family here to deal with the problem.

    I did read one of your posts some time ago, about your new grandbaby, and I’d left a comment there, but I hadn’t read the other posts. So I didn’t know.

    And this post made me wonder, why has Kat moved? And I started reading back. And realised. I felt that same horrible coldness when it happened to my cousin.

    I am shocked. Hurt for you. I wish you lots of healing, and send many hugs in support.

    Reply
  • 3. guyana-gyal  |  April 9, 2007 at 4:44 pm

    And yes, that last line of yours, so true. I discovered it, moving back home.

    Reply
  • 4. katcampbell  |  April 9, 2007 at 5:51 pm

    Mr. Fab – Its important to remember that everything has many sides. I’d forgotten, and got stuck looking at only mine.

    GG – Thank you for the hugs, there are never enough to go around.

    Reply
  • 5. hammer  |  April 9, 2007 at 6:11 pm

    Good point. things often look better at nght or covered in snow.

    Reply
  • 6. katcampbell  |  April 9, 2007 at 7:40 pm

    True Hammer, snow can make things look new and fresh…but the yuck still lives beneath.

    Reply
  • 7. Dave M  |  April 9, 2007 at 8:29 pm

    Hi Kat, Like the rest of us pleased to see your back posting. A good last line, and sometimes it works if you think of what you have, rather than what you have haven’t got.

    Reply
  • 8. katcampbell  |  April 9, 2007 at 10:06 pm

    Dave – So true! Gratitude for what you already have is the cornerstone of the Law of Attraction. Sometimes I forget that no matter what is happening – I have it pretty darn good. I’ve never known hunger, homelessness or physical frailty. I’m blessed.

    Reply
  • 9. jackiesgarden  |  April 9, 2007 at 11:39 pm

    Kat, Happy Easter to you and your grand-girls. Hope you had a great one. Sounds like you are getting settled in the new apartment. I loved your ‘what you see will depend on how and when you look at it’ – isn’t that the truth! And, thank God, we have the choice about that. We can close the drapes in the daylight – and open them to enjoy the view at night!

    Reply
  • 10. rel  |  April 10, 2007 at 2:15 am

    Kat,
    Good to see you back!
    How and when you look at it….There is much wisdom there.
    I have no advice save a comment I read in One of the Dalhi Lama’s books; Expectation is the root of all disappointment.
    rel

    Reply
  • 11. smileymama  |  April 10, 2007 at 2:53 am

    Nice to hear you “talkin'”. Thanks for describing the apartment. New view on the balcony, new view on life, they’re right beautiful when you look at the right time….

    Reply
  • 12. Shelli  |  April 10, 2007 at 5:54 am

    It is an awesome post.

    I sent you an email.

    Reply
  • 13. katcampbell  |  April 10, 2007 at 6:43 am

    Jackie – Easter was a little strained. The grandkids were all with other grandparents so mine was quiet.

    Rel – Thank you! Its good to be back. The Dalhi Llama nailed that right on the head.

    SmileyMom – Thanks! I loved catching up with all of you today.

    Shelli – Thank you.

    Reply
  • 14. J.  |  April 10, 2007 at 8:06 am

    I read this three times.
    You have such a way with words Kat.

    Wishing you all the happiness in the world in this next chapter of life.
    xxoxox

    And write more often or I will kick your ass.

    (had to say that heheheehe)

    Reply
  • 15. Linda  |  April 10, 2007 at 8:08 am

    The stars always make things seem more romantic. If I were you, I would make myself a potted paradise for the daytime on your balcony. We must have been thinking of each other tonight, because I was posting and when I was done I saw that you had posted on my previous post. I hope all continues to go well.

    Reply
  • 16. katcampbell  |  April 10, 2007 at 2:26 pm

    Jan – LOL! Because I’m really scared you will kick my ass…I’ll write more often.

    Linda – I’ve already placed my order for over the rail planter boxes…proof that great minds think alike. Thank you for the well wishes.

    Reply
  • 17. Janet  |  April 10, 2007 at 6:18 pm

    I read it twice. It’s so true that things look different if you look at them differently-in this case, at a different time of day.

    I hope you keep your bedroom neat since you can see it when you walk in the apartment! 😉

    Reply
  • 18. katcampbell  |  April 12, 2007 at 2:49 pm

    Janet – I do keep the bedroom neat, just because of that! Actually I keep everything neat here. Its so small there’s no way to get away from any mess.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
April 2007
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Feeds


