Arbor Day, A Meeting and A Date

April 27, 2007 at 5:57 pm 17 comments

Tomorrow is Arbor Day in Ohio.  “A day set aside for the planting of trees, both forest and fruit…” that from J. Sterling Morton’s plea to the Nebraska Board of Agriculture in 1872.  Since then Arbor Day has become big business and is recognized in every state. 

My job for Arbor Day over the last 12 years has been to organize a “do” and the poster contest for the elementary school.  This is my last one as organizer, the additional duty comes with my day job.  Of all the things I’ve done for the community, this is my favorite.  Our group has landscaped the water plant, built a park on Main Street, replaced trees all over the big park and the museum property.  There is immediate gratification in planting a tree, and no arguing about the necessity for maintaining a healthy urban forest in our cities and towns.  At the very least, with no trees all those squirrels and chipmunks will start trying to move into your guest room.  Personally, I prefer them outside. 

Sunday I have a meeting with Dr. M from our writing project.  THE BOOK was finished and delivered to Dr. B, who brought us all together, and we’ve barely heard from him since.  He isn’t returning phone calls or e-mail.  We suspect deception, but part of me is just worrying, worrying, worrying that Dr. B has been in an accident or something.  It’s stressful and sad.  I should be marketing this book right now, not wondering where its gone.

Tonight I have a date with Pap.  Hopefully it isn’t to White Castle or something equally nasty.  I’ll be left with no choice but to divorce him.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

No Joy in Mudville Somebody Swear For Me

17 Comments Add your own

  • 1. hammer  |  April 27, 2007 at 6:25 pm

    Hope the guy turns up. That would be disturbing if he ran off.

    Have a nice date. My wife would love for me to take her to white castle, We don’t have any around here.

    Reply
  • 2. katcampbell  |  April 27, 2007 at 7:03 pm

    Hammer – White Castle is not a date, those things are nasty! I’m pretty sure they use less beef and more of something else too….

    Reply
  • 3. J.  |  April 28, 2007 at 12:42 am

    A date? That’s cool!

    Reply
  • 4. Dave M  |  April 28, 2007 at 1:05 am

    Kat, having trouble posting comments.

    Had to Google “White Castle” as we dont have them over here. Its the original, and was started in 1921. Good luck on the date, and like all your readers, I wll be in suspenders….sorry… suspense, awaiting the outcome, so fingers crossed. All the best.

    Reply
  • 5. Therevdrkate  |  April 28, 2007 at 1:08 am

    Better luck with the date than the missing dr! Hope thngs go the way you would like them too – and have fun with the trees. It sounds like a wonderful way to give back!

    Reply
  • 6. Steve Clackson  |  April 28, 2007 at 3:39 am

    Here is hoping it was not a scam! To many authors have fallen pray to slick agents/editors and publishers.

    Eat drink and be merry… remember the days when it was just hot-dogs and a coke?

    Reply
  • 7. QuillDancer  |  April 28, 2007 at 6:05 am

    crossing fingers
    adding prayers

    Reply
  • 8. FatWhiteMan  |  April 28, 2007 at 6:05 am

    What’s wrong with WhiteCastle? burp. I met three of my wives there.

    Reply
  • 9. jackiesgarden  |  April 28, 2007 at 6:15 am

    Kat, good luck on all fronts! I’ll be hoping for the best for you.

    Reply
  • 10. Catch  |  April 28, 2007 at 9:50 am

    Oh Kat you and Pap have a date! Thats cool! Thanks for reminding me it was Arbor Day,…lol.Hope the date goes well!!! Let us know!

    Reply
  • 11. Shelli  |  April 28, 2007 at 10:31 am

    Good luck on your date. If that’s what you want. Whatever it is, I will be hoping that for you. You know I am thinking about you.

    The book thing…I am crossing fingers that he has just been busy with other stuff. ‘Cuz it would totally suck if it was either deception or an accident.

    Reply
  • 12. rel  |  April 28, 2007 at 4:59 pm

    Kat,
    Trees are some of my favorite people!

    A date is a date. It’s the company not the place. 😉
    hope all goes well.
    rel

    Reply
  • 13. katcampbell  |  April 28, 2007 at 6:36 pm

    Jan – Yeah, I’ve always said I’d rather date Pap than marry him. When he’s doing something he wants to do, he’s very charming.

    Dave M – How inconsiderate of me! White Castle is a hamburger joint that makes the nastiest little onion infested hamburgers in the world. I bet that wasn’t on their website!

    Dr. Kate – The old hippy in me just loves Arbor Day.

    Steve – I’m hoping the Dr. hasn’t done something stupid with the book I wrote for him. If anyone could fall for a scam it would be him. Will chase him down even if I have to make an appointment.

    Quilly – Thank you! Nice being covered on both fronts.

    FWM – LOL! You silly thing! I’m sure you needed three wives because the first two died from those nasty burgers.

    Jackie – Thanks!

    Catch – You’re welcome, now get out there and plant a tree!

    Thanks Shelli – Its time for things to turn around, even if its just one small step at a time.

    Rel – A fellow tree hugger! Dates are normally about the people, not the place…but strip joints and White Castle are deal breakers for me.

    Reply
  • 14. Janet  |  April 28, 2007 at 7:55 pm

    how’d it go? I can’t eat White Castles either, I don’t know what kind of meat they use but it doesn’t agree with me.

    Reply
  • 15. smileymama  |  April 29, 2007 at 1:48 am

    The book is done! Round of applause! I hope you have a way of contacting Dr. Mysterious….Well I am glad to hear of the Arbor Day projects, this is a very noble cause. And I don’t have any idea what White Castle is, but he better NOT have brought you there, grrrr. I hope you have/had a lovely time, in any case.
    T

    Reply
  • 16. Gawpo  |  April 29, 2007 at 1:19 pm

    A date? With PAP?! Make like I’m an abandoned rock quarry and fill me in. Email might be best….

    Reply
  • 17. guyana-gyal  |  May 1, 2007 at 3:22 pm

    Tree planting! In the city. How lovely.Funny how our city here used to be called the Garden City but we don’t plant trees anymore.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
April 2007
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Feeds


