happy

May 6, 2007 at 8:30 pm 18 comments

The view from balcony has changed with the warmer weather.  The McMansion is now hidden behind the trees in full leaf.  The empty field behind my building is now lushly green with grass.  At Pap’s house the bleeding heart I planted three years ago is in full bloom as are the rhodedendrons.  That made me sad for a moment, because I miss working in the garden…but then I went inside. 

Pap is a stacker.  Something that drives me insane, I’m a sorter.  Everything in its place, a place for everything.  The antique (hand sanded and stained over days, and days, and…) dining room table is neatly stacked with piles of stuff.  Mail, newspapers, the miscellany of receipts and change from his pockets, all in their own neat piles.  The dishes are washed and stacked in the dish drainer, but he hasn’t wiped off the stove or counters.  The pet bowls are clean and filled.  The correct number of pills are missing from his medicine box for this day of the week.  I’m just starting to think, hey, he’s really working on things, when I hear the meow of a cat.  From the ceiling.

Her name is Sis, she used to belong to my daughter Sheena, but she is now, apparently,  living with Pap.  Sis was adopted from the shelter, she’s never seen another cat she liked or a dog at all.  I understand the chaos that must of ensued when he brought Sis into the house with Ruger the maniacal dog, Queen Ophelia and Isobelle from the hood.  I can even understand why he put her in one of the empty rooms with her litter box and bowls and shut the door. 

What I don’t understand is why, when she squeezed her fat self into the vent in the floor over the kitchen, didn’t he just reach in and take her out?  He, instead, removed the dropped ceiling so Sis could see him and the other pets roaming around in the kitchen.  She has happily set up housekeeping in the rafters with the crumbling drywall, dust and creepy spiders.  And you people wonder why we’re seperated?  Jeesh. 

Progress has been made tracking down the bad doctor.  Next week I’ll post about it, I want to make sure all the letters that needed to be sent are in the hands of the recipients and then I’m narcing this backstabbing hypocrite out. 

The sun is shining today, date with Pap tonight, and aside from the moths that fly out of my wallet when I open it, all is right with the world. 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

wistful Scaling Down, Thinning Out

18 Comments Add your own

  • 1. QuillDancer  |  May 7, 2007 at 12:51 am

    The cat solution is one I might have made myself. The cat is happy, the rest of the household inhabitants are happy. What a piece or two of missing cealing?

    Reply
  • 2. Catch  |  May 7, 2007 at 1:46 am

    I have to laugh thinking of the cat looking down from the ceiling! LoL…too funny! Wait till she decides to jump down on something he is cooking!!

    Reply
  • 3. katcampbell  |  May 7, 2007 at 9:08 am

    Quilly – Oh groan! The thought of eating anything in the kitchen now with a cat knocking plaster everywhere just makes me ill. Someday I’ll remove the pea from under my mattress, but I don’t think it will be anytime soon.

    Catch – Yeah, my thought exactly! Its quite a drop, things will be splashing everywhere!

    Reply
  • 4. Nessa  |  May 7, 2007 at 3:27 pm

    It’s always interesting to me how people look at things differently.

    Reply
  • 5. katcampbell  |  May 7, 2007 at 3:46 pm

    Nessa – Yes it is. There are always many solutions to any problem.

    Reply
  • 6. Jay  |  May 7, 2007 at 11:01 pm

    I think I would be stressed about having a cat watching from up above – it’s a bit creepy, really.

    Reply
  • 7. katcampbell  |  May 7, 2007 at 11:24 pm

    Jay – Thank you! Totally creeps me out, and I love cats!

    Reply
  • 8. John Linna  |  May 8, 2007 at 3:37 am

    We have matching wallets. Glad you and Pap are still friends.

    Reply
  • 9. Tim Id  |  May 8, 2007 at 9:57 am

    I used to be a stacker. Tess is a sorter and has ordered our house. I am at peace with that. I still have a few stacks in my office.

    I love the description of the cat living in the ceiling, viewing life from above. Seems a bit like god if you think about it.

    Reply
  • 10. katcampbell  |  May 8, 2007 at 3:56 pm

    Dr. John – We will always be friends, we have five kids and grandkids together…hard to avoid him.

    Tim – That cat is more like some old gargoyle hanging around up there. Creepy. Lucky Tess to have convinced you to step into the light….

    Reply
  • 11. therevdrkate  |  May 8, 2007 at 5:55 pm

    Sometimes I really believe that men are from another planet! Taking down the ceiling in the kitchen for a cat? It boggles the female mind worried about cleaniless, etc. I am glad that you and Pap are working on things though – give yourself time. Blessings.

    Reply
  • 12. katcampbell  |  May 8, 2007 at 10:43 pm

    Dr. Kate – My thoughts exactly. Pap and I are talking, we’ve resolved many things but he can’t seem to get past his need to control our environment.

    Reply
  • 13. Gela Words  |  May 9, 2007 at 10:17 am

    Happy you’re happy 🙂

    Reply
  • 14. delmonti (Dave)  |  May 9, 2007 at 2:50 pm

    well, that post demonstrated that you two need each other. Its not just the chemistry. there’s a ying/yang thing going on.

    All the best

    Reply
  • 15. Linda  |  May 9, 2007 at 6:17 pm

    Ah spring, it does tend to lighten the mood. I had to laugh about the cat. I think alot of people would do that including my husband. My husband and I are neither stackers or sorters, so you can only imagine the chaos that awaits inside my house. I need one of those house clean teams to come through and organize. I hope your date went well!!! As far as the moths go, I am right there with you sister.

    Reply
  • 16. katcampbell  |  May 9, 2007 at 6:30 pm

    Dave – Remember you’re getting only my side of the story. If Pap were a writer, you might have had an entirely different account of this day. There’s still so many questions.

    Linda – Hey, I’m an excellent organizer! Maybe I could replace my wallet full of nothing by organizing the homes of all my blog friends!

    Reply
  • 17. Shelli  |  May 10, 2007 at 3:40 am

    Even though he has his issues, I hope you work things out. It hurts my heart to think of how much you love each other and that you are apart.

    Reply
  • 18. Gawpo  |  May 13, 2007 at 2:43 am

    So sweet. I love how you write.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
May 2007
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Feeds


