Fantasize

May 18, 2007 at 7:37 pm 32 comments

Imagine that the world is divided into two islands.  Men live on one, women on the other.  Children really are found beneath cabbage leaves…on either island.  There’s a ferry that travels between the two with an elaborate dock at each end.  The rules for each island say that men cannot leave the dock at the women’s island without being in the company of a woman and vice versa. They can’t stay more than 24 hours regardless.

Looks like a pretty good plan to me.  Need your refrigerator moved or toilet unplugged?  Just take the ferry over, fetch back one of the willing men hovering around the dock and then send him home when he’s done.  Feeling a little frisky?  Take the ferry over and pick one out.  Of course they’re doing the same thing. 

Who’s island do you think would revolt first?  Which island’s inhabitants would be the first to break, twist and mangle the 24 hour rule?  What would you miss most about having someone of the opposite gender living in your house?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Irrational Spontaneous Combustion

32 Comments Add your own

  • 1. hammer  |  May 18, 2007 at 10:05 pm

    It could work… One side would be really dirty and drunk all the time and the other would be frustrated about having no one to yell at 😉

    Reply
  • 2. Dave M  |  May 18, 2007 at 10:43 pm

    Can I be the ferry driver?

    Reply
  • 3. Nessa  |  May 19, 2007 at 1:23 am

    Oh, this is a toughy as I know many people of either gender go insane at the dock.

    Sometimes I could go for this idea, when I am feeling particularly stressed. I’d actually just like a deserted island I could go to occasionally.

    Reply
  • 4. QuillDancer  |  May 19, 2007 at 1:46 am

    Can I have an island all to myself? I am not living with all those women!

    Reply
  • 5. Stacy  |  May 19, 2007 at 3:54 am

    I think after a brief and glorious period, BOTH would implode and sink into the sea, a la Atlantis.

    Reply
  • 6. John Linna  |  May 19, 2007 at 4:30 am

    I think the women would revolt first. They need that refigerator mover more of the time.

    Reply
  • 7. Therevdrkate  |  May 19, 2007 at 7:39 am

    The children would all wind up on the island with the women! And I am not certain anyone would revolt – it might just keep everyone sane!

    Reply
  • 8. Linda  |  May 19, 2007 at 11:08 pm

    Women are so competitive that I think they would fail first. I am not good at being alone, so I would have problems. I would miss having somebody to sleep with. There is just something that feels so safe about having another person in the bed with you.

    Reply
  • 9. jackiesgarden  |  May 20, 2007 at 7:38 am

    Kat, you still crack me up! As one who’s spent nearly equal time on both sides – I can tell you that it’s one of those “the grass is always greener” things. Or maybe the “can’t live with them – can’t live without them” things! Personally, (finances aside), I do equally well, whether as a married woman or a single woman. While single, when married friends would tell me I should be married, I told them that most of them were pretty poor examples of the product they were pushing! And I’ve always said (not meaning to offend anyone) that the one thing men are good for (finances aside) they aren’t much good AT! LOL

    Reply
  • 10. katcampbell  |  May 20, 2007 at 5:03 pm

    Hammer! LOL! You’re probably right!

    Dave M: Sure! It would atleast keep you out of the chaos that would surely reign at both islands.

    Nessa – There’s a good idea! We’ll add a third island, for those who need to de-stress.

    Quilly – Hey Miss Anti-Social! You’ll just have to figure out how you can get a man to sponsor you every day.

    Stacy – Quite possibly…

    Dr. John – LOL! That’s so true, enlightened times or not, there are just some things best left to burly men.

    Dr. Kate – Funny picture, legions of little kids sneaking onto the ferry to get away from the men’s island.

    Linda – You could sponsor a guy to keep you company every night…you just have to send him back during the day.

    Jackie – LOL! You nailed that. Finances, ugh, I’d certainly like to appreciate one for more than that necessary evil.

    Reply
  • 11. Diesel  |  May 21, 2007 at 7:15 am

    I give the women’s island 3 days before it’s completely taken over by spiders.

    Reply
  • 12. Catch  |  May 21, 2007 at 9:22 am

    I think the men would revolt first…..who will cook for them or wash their clothes????? As a divorcee I can tell you, there is nothing I miss about having a man living in my house!!! It stays cleaner, I dont have to listen to him whine, and its very peaceful! I sound like a man hater! Not so…I love men…I just dont want to live with one! lol

    Reply
  • 13. delmonti (Dave)  |  May 21, 2007 at 7:01 pm

    Isnt that how it works already? maybe not physically, but emotionally and mentally thats how it all hangs together.

    I’ve already opted out of any kinda of “relations”. I have an inner peace.

    Reply
  • 15. katcampbell  |  May 22, 2007 at 1:55 am

    Diesel – LOL! Why is it always the man’s job to kill the spiders?

    Catch – I think the men would too, they’d be trying to sneak onto the ferry, swim across the ocean…wait, that’s illegal aliens.

    David! No, it doesn’t work that way with all women… most of us are wishing for one guy that could fill all those roles – handyman, lover, and friend.

    Reply
  • 16. katcampbell  |  May 22, 2007 at 1:57 am

    Dave – We aren’t all bad, really.

    Reply
  • 17. Gela Words  |  May 22, 2007 at 5:05 am

    Hmmmm. Can I be the only woman living on the men’s island?

    Reply
  • 18. bobciz  |  May 22, 2007 at 6:31 am

    This will never work. My wife won’t let me.

    Reply
  • 19. FatWhiteMan  |  May 23, 2007 at 12:50 am

    Am I reading this right? In between the Men and Women are a bunch of fairies?

    Reply
  • 20. rel  |  May 23, 2007 at 5:57 am

    Kat,
    Today? One island, only me, and no G.D. dock.
    rel

    Reply
  • 21. Hayden  |  May 24, 2007 at 5:33 am

    It’s difficult to know. I lived with my x for some 20 years, and have lived alone for the last 10. I’ve had lovers before and after, but not to live with, though I lived with male friends when I was young. I like male company, I find it relaxing in a way I rarely find other women.

    But my ideal has always been to live in a duplex with me on one side, and “him” on the other.

    Reply
  • 22. smileymama  |  May 24, 2007 at 7:34 am

    The men would whine about it first. The women would actually do something about it first. And they’d renovate and extend their island.

    Reply
  • 23. guyana-gyal  |  May 24, 2007 at 5:29 pm

    If there were lots of West Indian men, the men would revolt first, hahaha. Whinge, whine, complain, need their women, want more women than they can handle. They would start fights amongst themselves. Ask Gela if you don’t believe me!

    Reply
  • 24. guyana-gyal  |  May 24, 2007 at 5:35 pm

    Uh-oh, I see Gela wants to live only with the men, hahahaha…

    In my world, the women are sweet, kind, caring, funny. Actually, the men in my family are real cool and funny too.

    Reply
  • 25. katcampbell  |  May 24, 2007 at 8:35 pm

    Gela! They’d wear you out. You just go fetch one when you’re in the mood!

    Bob – Hmmm… maybe would should ask Mary, she might just like to only have to deal with you when she feels like it.

    FWM – LOL!!! Just one ferry… but you might be on to something.

    Rel – Oh dear, having a bad day I see. I feel your pain.

    Hayden – Perfect! Adjoining households.

    SmileyMom – That’s how I always see it, one island all in pink taffeta tents, the other with stink rising off it.

    GG – Its not just west indies men, I think whining comes with the gender sometimes.

    Reply
  • 26. J.  |  May 25, 2007 at 10:01 pm

    I think the men would revolt first.
    They can’t survive on their own for that long.
    *wink*

    You haven’t been showing up in my Bloglines. I have to go fix that.

    Reply
  • 27. Gawpo  |  May 27, 2007 at 1:44 am

    I’ll run the ferry.

    That Diesel is always thinking. Good point.

    I would miss everything I’m missing now.

    Reply
  • 28. Gawpo  |  May 27, 2007 at 1:58 am

    Comment moderation?

    Reply
  • 29. Janet  |  May 30, 2007 at 6:34 pm

    I’d want my own island.

    Reply
  • 30. Jay  |  June 1, 2007 at 12:04 am

    I can move my own refrigerator, thank you very much.

    Reply
  • 31. Diesel  |  June 1, 2007 at 10:49 am

    Have you gone to live on an island?

    Reply
  • 32. lmnoonan  |  June 11, 2007 at 5:44 am

    Have you ever read “The gate to Womens Country” by Sherri S Tepper?
    I think it’s a splendid idea. As mother of 5 sons I am more convinced than ever that there are really only two different races on earth!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
May 2007
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Feeds


