Apartment Life – Part Two

June 16, 2007 at 6:14 pm 15 comments

Remember my neighbors?  Dear Amber and Shutthefuckup have parted ways.  I know this because I was awakened one morning at 3:00 a.m to some country song that has this line:  I can get her back, if only in my dreams.  Poor old STFU played it over and over and over.  By 4:30 I was praying he was a drinker and would soon pass out.  He has recovered from his heart break with the help of his many and sundry friends.  Its actually quiet over there now if you don’t count the clanking of beer bottles.

The guy on the first floor would scare you to death if you met him in a dark alley.  Tattooed, pierced, mohawked and wearing leather in the heart of summer…he looks like a fella thats seen a bit more than normal of the dark side.  But I know him from the balcony.  He’s snuck into the high grass of the field behind our building and cleared himself some land for a little garden.  Tomatos, marigolds, carrots and radishes.  He waters and weeds in his boxers just after dawn.  If I yell good morning down to him, he yells back “You’re gonna eat good in just a couple more weeks Miss Kat”.  His friends call him Moe, but I know his optimistic mother actually named him Myron Robin. 

I love that the world is filled with characters. 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Stranger Than Fiction Brain Dead Randomness

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. J.  |  June 16, 2007 at 6:42 pm

    Ha! How cool is that?
    It’s the old, ‘never judge a book by it’s cover’ thing.
    Miss Kat. Too cute.

    Reply
  • 2. Dave M  |  June 16, 2007 at 7:47 pm

    and theres me thinking he had planted hash. Never sterotype people.

    Reply
  • 3. Catch  |  June 16, 2007 at 10:19 pm

    some of the weirdest looking people can be some of the kindest and most fun. You certainly can never judge a book by its cover! All those piercings and tattoos mean nothing….its just body armor….underneath it is some of the sweetest kids ever!

    Reply
  • 4. hammer  |  June 16, 2007 at 11:59 pm

    sometimes the weirdest looking folks are nice as hell. I meet em sometimes but can hardly stand looking at them 😉

    Reply
  • 5. quilldancer  |  June 17, 2007 at 5:22 am

    I love personality contridictions. They are what make meeting new pwoplw such a joy.

    Reply
  • 6. jackiesgarden  |  June 17, 2007 at 6:10 am

    Think positive, Kat! Maybe STFU won’t be able to afford the rent on his own – and will soon be moving along. 🙂

    Reply
  • 7. katcampbell  |  June 17, 2007 at 6:41 am

    Jan – I rarely judge people by how they dress or look. That’s one of my biggest pet peeves.

    Dave – Yup, stereotypes can make you miss meeting some of the coolest people on earth.

    Catch – I think you’re right about “body armour”.

    Hammer – Welcome back from vacation!

    Quilly – I always think that those people have really found themselves when the outside doesn’t match the inside at all.

    Jackie – STFU isn’t a bad neighbor, he has his moments but didn’t we all at his age. If he moves out, whatever will I write about?

    Reply
  • 8. Linda  |  June 17, 2007 at 7:36 am

    I like when the cover of the book does not tell the story. If that was not the case, then I probably would not have been interested in my husband. I am sure he is an interesting guy. Hopefully, STFU won’t mourn too long and things will stay quiet including the beer bottles.

    Reply
  • 9. Janet  |  June 17, 2007 at 6:29 pm

    What interesting people! Aside from the sleepless nights, they seem to be great character studies. I bet Amber will be back one day.

    Reply
  • 10. Hayden  |  June 17, 2007 at 8:42 pm

    Love it! I grew up doing the hippie and freak thing, so I know better than to judge on looks. Actually, I often do judge by appearance. I’m much more tolerant of a young girl with a green mohalk and orange boots than I am of a preppy valley girl. too much polish too young and I assume there is a bottomless well of vapid beneath the slick surface.

    Reply
  • 11. Stacy  |  June 18, 2007 at 12:24 am

    My mom and her sisters have to be the most judgemental people on Earth so I got a huge charge out it when Mom came back from a recent visit to her sister’s in the Arizona desert. Among the people hanging out at my aunt’s (who thinks my husband is scum because he doesn’t live to her standards) is a convicted felon….a guy who did time in Joliet because he “accidentally” stabbed his friend. 17 times. This hardened criminal cried over a potbellied pig that wandered onto his property and died. My aunt’s significant other and Mom’s husband had to hold a piggy funeral for him. He was too distraut to do it himself.

    Reply
  • 12. Gela the city dweller  |  June 18, 2007 at 6:17 am

    See you making some friends Kat, neighbor can address you by name.

    Reply
  • 13. nessa  |  June 18, 2007 at 6:40 pm

    Myron Robin is a great character name.

    Reply
  • 14. Delmonti (Dave)  |  June 18, 2007 at 8:00 pm

    So, will Moe be in a forthcomming book?

    Reply
  • 15. katcampbell  |  June 19, 2007 at 1:37 am

    Linda – I like that too. I’m not sure what will become of my little neighbor, but he seems to be adjusting to his Amberless state.

    Janet – I bet she will too…she’ll miss his money.

    Hayden – You a hippy? Nah…lol. I was Jackie Kennedy, doing the hippy thing now.

    Stacy – That’s hysterical!

    Gela – Yes, I say hello to everyone and some of them actually say hello back. Moe is one of the chatty ones.

    Nessa – Doesn’t that name sound like an accountant? Cracks me up.

    Dave – Everyone eventually becomes a character in one of my books…just wait until you see your fictional self!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
June 2007
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Feeds


