Stranger Than Fiction

June 16, 2007 at 9:38 am 9 comments

I learned today that the local Masons have selected Pap as their Man of the Year.  Since Pap isn’t a Mason, I’m not sure how that works.  I know only that I must deliver him to an award banquet tomorrow night.  I suspect they expect me to sit dutifully by his side too, smiling, maybe wiping away an occasional tear of pride.  It’s way too much weirdness for me, its threatening to shatter my carefully constructed shell of calm.  Already there are hairline cracks all over the surface.  If I were a china doll, they’d say I was “crazed”.  How apt.  I’ll do what’s expected of me, that’s just the way I roll, but it won’t stop the small town gossip.  I certainly hope they don’t ask him to make a speech, that will definately set me off into a cackling, hair pulling fit.  Life is crazy.

The 9th Annual Art Walk was a rousing success.  For those of you that asked:  The local artists (painters, sculptors, quilters, jewelers and potters) set up selections of their work inside all the businesses on Main Street.  The people wander up and down the street looking at this art and hopefully buying some.  We had perfect weather and a great crowd.  Since it was my last one, I’m glad it was a success. 

Last week was too full of drama to write.  First I didn’t even get my eight days, the Doctor released Pap early.  Then I had to find new homes for my dog and big ole cat because I can’t afford to keep them at the apartment, and he can’t risk infection from the things they bring in from outside.  The poor couple that suffered through fourty minutes of me crying through the directions for properly caring for my cat must think they’re doing the old girl a favor.  Ruger went to a home with another shitzu.  When they put him in their truck it felt like I was giving away a child.  I know they are just animals, but jeez….

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Ch-ch-changes Apartment Life – Part Two

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Dave M  |  June 16, 2007 at 1:21 pm

    I just hope Pap appreciates what you have done, giving away the family pets……..a huge gesture.

    Reply
  • 2. Stacy  |  June 16, 2007 at 4:02 pm

    I feel like I should tell you to screw duty and get off the guilt train, but it would be so much empty air. I’d do the exact same thing you are doing….and I’d resent it like crazy. I don’t know how you are managing to sound so calm about it all. Hang in there. Better days are coming.

    Reply
  • 3. nessa  |  June 16, 2007 at 5:44 pm

    You poor thing. They are not just pets. You have every right to be upset and to be resentful. Neither takes away from the wonderful thing you are doing.

    Reply
  • 4. katcampbell  |  June 16, 2007 at 6:17 pm

    Dave – If I’m being honest, I think he does. He’s trying his best to be a good houseguest.

    Stacy – “Get off the guilt train” – LOL, you mean the doors actually OPEN on this boxcar?

    Nessa – Thanks. I know they’re just animals, and they’ve gone to very good homes, but I miss them.

    Reply
  • 5. J.  |  June 16, 2007 at 6:44 pm

    Awww hon, I’m sorry.
    Pets ARE like children.

    Reply
  • 6. jackiesgarden  |  June 17, 2007 at 6:06 am

    Kat, that life ‘drama’ that we sometimes can’t avoid, sucks big time. Especially losing pets. Take care of yourself – before those fissures become canyons!

    Reply
  • 7. Linda  |  June 17, 2007 at 7:32 am

    Sorry that things have been so hectic. I am also sorry that you had to give away your pets. I know that it must have been hard. I hope that Pap behaves himself, you don’t need any additional drama right now. I will be thinking of you.

    Reply
  • 8. Janet  |  June 17, 2007 at 6:31 pm

    I’m looking forward to reading about the awards!

    It would break my heart to part with any pet, and I’d resent the person who made me do it. I hope this doesn’t last too long.

    Reply
  • 9. Delmonti (Dave)  |  June 18, 2007 at 7:55 pm

    I’m with ya on the pets issue. I had to give away 2 of my cats when I left to start a new life…. its a killer

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
June 2007
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Feeds


