Brain Dead Randomness

June 19, 2007 at 3:01 am 13 comments

If its Monday, I’ll be the one with the nervous ticks and glazed eyes.  For the last 12 years, Monday is Meeting Night.  Council meetings, my job is to take notes…when I’m not doodling in the margins.   As soon as I’m done with this job I’m not even going to balance my own checkbook.  That’s another good reason to reconcile with Pap, I can make him balance the checkbook.

I feel a need to have a talk with the Pixar writers.  Princess and I went to see Shrek The Third a few weeks ago and I couldn’t help noticing that Shrek and Fiona’s offspring are ogres.  “Well of course they are!”  You may be saying, but wait!  Genetically speaking, Fiona is half human and half frog, turned ogre by magic.  Technically those kids should look half ogre, one fourth human and one fourth frog.  They need to get it right.

Its summer so of course every youth group in town is having a car wash.  Why is it that these groups only send their bikini clad girls out to the street with the placards?  Where are the muscle bound young men with placards to lure in the women?  We ladies have dirty cars and cash…come on. 

Now that I’ve completely mutilated my reputation as a serious writer and rational woman, I’ll go to my meeting.  Pay no attention to the new look here in my neighborhood – it probably won’t last any longer than the last one.  As soon as I leave this job I’m going to learn HTML or CSS or whatever it is that lets me design these things myself. 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Apartment Life – Part Two Packing Up – Round One

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. John Linna  |  June 19, 2007 at 5:43 am

    I like the new look. The problem is that the ogre genes are dominant.

    Reply
  • 2. katherine.  |  June 19, 2007 at 5:44 am

    I’ve been away from blogland for a couple months….so I had to read back a gazillion posts to catch up on your life.

    Hope you are well…

    another kat.

    Reply
  • 3. Mr. Fabulous  |  June 19, 2007 at 5:54 am

    I like it when you take your serious hat off for a moment!

    Reply
  • 4. Stacy  |  June 19, 2007 at 6:56 am

    Fiona is half frog? Now how did I miss that?

    Reply
  • 5. katcampbell  |  June 19, 2007 at 7:04 am

    Dr. John – Darn that shrek and his bad genetics!

    Kat – How nice to see you! Hanging in, still fighting.

    Mr. Fab – Its fun to see people out of character isn’t it?

    Stacy – Yes! Her father was really a frog made human by Charmings mother. Where you been girl?

    Reply
  • 6. QuillDancer  |  June 19, 2007 at 10:00 am

    Dr. John stole my comment! Don’t you think a pastor would know better then to behave like that — retured or not?

    Reply
  • 7. DaveM  |  June 19, 2007 at 10:11 am

    Who can remember the car wash scene in Cool Hand Luke???, now that takes some beating.

    Reply
  • 8. katcampbell  |  June 19, 2007 at 2:06 pm

    Quilly – You got here quick to outwit Dr. John.

    Dave – There’s a car wash scene in Cool Hand Luke? I can only remember the egg scene….ugh.

    Reply
  • 9. Catch  |  June 19, 2007 at 7:51 pm

    Yea Kat….where are all those young guys??? Do you suppose they are out looking for an older woman???? LOL

    Reply
  • 10. katcampbell  |  June 19, 2007 at 11:06 pm

    Catch – Definately discrimination. Like sex doesn’t sell to us too. Jeesh, I we claim we have equality.

    Reply
  • 11. Nessa  |  June 19, 2007 at 11:35 pm

    One of the great things about summer is looking at the young guys with no shirts on.

    Reply
  • 12. Therevdrkate  |  June 21, 2007 at 5:28 am

    I am sorry your eyes blur and your brain goes numb – that kind of meeting would do the same to me. And who knew about the offspring of Shreck? See – even when you let off steam, we learn something!

    Reply
  • 13. Gela the city dweller  |  June 21, 2007 at 8:39 am

    Jeez Kat, I was thinking the same thing about fiona too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
June 2007
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Feeds


