Packing Up – Round One

June 21, 2007 at 7:17 am 16 comments

I used part of today to start sorting out the fifteen years of clutter I’ve accumulated at my day job.  I started here as the secretary to a very unpopular Mayor.  I was new to town and that’s exactly why he hired me.  He was run out of office before his term ended and the most popular man in town, Doug, took his place. 

Custom dictates that  the personal secretary to an elected official leave when he does, so I did.  I didn’t find it necessary to formally resign, it was just “the done” thing.  Four days after he took office Doug showed up at my house.  I opened the door and he said “You coming to work today?”  I answered “Do you want me to?”  to which he said “I’ve got typing”.  Then he turned on his heel, climbed back into the police car that had delivered him to my house and drove away. One year after that he asked me to run for the fiscal officers position.  He campaigned more for me than he did for himself, the party after we won was insane.  We had a crazy fun ten year run bringing this small town into the 21st century.  He died of cancer and a variety of other bodily failures two years ago and the light went out of this job.  I miss his goofy, energetic, idea a minute self every single day.  Into the box went the cup he brought me from Germany, the cross made of salt he brought from a mine he’d visited, and a picture of him dressed as Yoda for the first town wide Halloween party the two of us held at the park in 1997. 

The red ribbon adorned with gold letters spelling out Unit of the Year goes into the box along with a random blue card and an outdated copy of the boy scout merit badge book Personal Management.  Souveniers of my time as an advisor for eagle scout wanna be’s and police explorers.   A picture of a giant ship being towed by a tiny tug boat named Tiny Miss Kathy – gift from one of those boys I helped to Eagle Scout.

The desk is filled to overflowing.  Lists, cards, notes, pay stubs…a poem written by a man named Stan LeMaster.  A fine southern gentleman who helped me start the tree commission in town, and gave me seedlings from trees he’d collected from all over the world.  An old financial statement from the Arts Council…funny, we had only $26 that first year. 

Fifteen years is a long time and there’s been too much change lately to finish the job.  As happy as I am about the fact that have less than 200 days left on this job, its hard to leave this place I’ve put such personal stamp on. 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Brain Dead Randomness Eight Things

16 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Gela the city dweller  |  June 21, 2007 at 8:34 am

    Where are you going in 200 days Kat? You got a new day job? Your life is so interesting.

    Reply
  • 2. katcampbell  |  June 21, 2007 at 2:58 pm

    Gela – Going home to write and write and write. YOU are the one with the interesting life.

    Reply
  • 3. Stacy  |  June 21, 2007 at 5:20 pm

    Wow, Kat. What great memories you have of your job and your former boss. You have me missing the place for you. I can understand how you feel, though. Went through something similar as a youth director. It was a great ride until things changed too much and I felt kinda like the square peg in the round hole. It just reached a point where I knew it was time to let it go. Anyway, I’m glad you’ll have more time to write. I’m looking forward to reading what you come up with!

    Reply
  • 4. quilldancer  |  June 21, 2007 at 7:00 pm

    Oh, my can I sympathize. I know the packing, the sorting, the remembering, the keeping and the throwing away — especially the throwing away. Not much comes along on a move to Hawaii.

    Keep all the good stored in your heart. Let the rest go.

    Reply
  • 5. J.  |  June 21, 2007 at 7:29 pm

    Girl, this is definitely your year for change. Wow.
    You tire me out! *wink*

    Reply
  • 6. Delmonti (Dave)  |  June 21, 2007 at 9:25 pm

    at least you left a mark on the place

    Reply
  • 7. another kat.  |  June 21, 2007 at 9:52 pm

    touching.

    Reply
  • 8. DaveM  |  June 21, 2007 at 10:25 pm

    15 years as you say is a long time. But think of all those experiences and ideas that Doug came up with and I’m sure you can use some of them somewhere in something that you write. Kat, I’m sure you’re not the type who will let all that valuable material go to waste.

    All the very best.l

    Reply
  • 9. katcampbell  |  June 21, 2007 at 11:43 pm

    Stacy – He was one of a kind. Native son, teacher, traveler. Everyone misses Doug.

    Quilly – Yes you can. I followed your paring down hoping it would inspire me to get busy doing my own. Oh well.

    Jan – Tire myself out, that’s why I’m giving up the day job.

    Dave – That I did, including my picture for ever and ever in the new municipal building. :>)

    Kat – Ah, thanks.

    Dave M – Nothings going to waste, you’re right about that!

    Reply
  • 10. Wanderlust Scarlett  |  June 22, 2007 at 1:30 am

    Hey Kat,

    That’s very bittersweet… such great memories, such sad loss.
    Made me think of that Garth Brooks song (and I’m not a real country music fan)… The Dance. ‘could have missed the pain, but then I’d have missed the dance.’

    Wish you the best in your days to come. good luck.

    Scarlett & Viaggiatore

    Reply
  • 11. John Linna  |  June 22, 2007 at 4:57 am

    It is hard to come to the ends of one ministry and not really know aht the next one will be like.BUt with all of your talent and concerns it will be great.

    Reply
  • 12. hayden  |  June 22, 2007 at 7:27 am

    whew! your year for a whirlwind of change, kat! sometimes it works better that way, just turn everything upside down and let the important stuff drift back up to the top.

    Reply
  • 13. katcampbell  |  June 22, 2007 at 8:27 am

    Thank you Scarlett, there isn’t anything I’d do differently and mostly I look forward to new adventures ahead.

    Hayden – LOL, absolutely! Everything needs totally shook up from time to time.

    Reply
  • 14. Janet  |  June 22, 2007 at 5:21 pm

    I think that change, even when it’s looked forward to, is always harder than we think it’ll be.

    Reply
  • 15. Gela the city dweller  |  June 22, 2007 at 5:25 pm

    OMG, full time writer. Cool. You are talented though. Jeez, when you become a world reknown author, can I travel with you on some of the book tours that you’ll go on?

    Reply
  • 16. End of an Era « kat’s random thoughts  |  July 24, 2007 at 2:14 am

    […] written before of my favorite work mate, Doug.  One of the things we had in common was books and he’s who got me hooked on Harry Potter.  […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
June 2007
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Feeds


