Eight Things

June 22, 2007 at 8:48 am 11 comments

Seamus has tagged me for a “getting to know who we are” exercise.  Tough for you guys that hang out with me on a regular basis, but I think I found 8 things you don’t know:

The rules are:

1. Post the rules.
2. Each player starts with eight random facts/habits about themselves.
3. People who are tagged need to write their own post about their eight things and display these rules.
4. At the end of your post, you need to choose eight people to get tagged and list their names.
5. Don’t forget to leave them a comment telling them they’re tagged, and to read your blog.

Okay, don’t hold any of this stuff against me:

1.  5 is my magic number.  I’m the youngest of 5, married to the oldest of 5, we have 5 kids and 5 grandkids.  Remember when we had that little lottery win?  $5,000, there was 5 in the winning number and it took me 5 days to spend it. 

2.  Murphy’s Law Picked My Husband.  Pap and I are 18 months apart.  His father was stationed in California the year he was born which is why he was delivered at the same hospital I was.  In December of 1958 Pap’s family finally got orders to move back to Ohio.  His mother went to the hospital to retrieve their medical records and stopped by the nursery on their way out.  She held up her little blonde toddler and said “Take a last look son, you are never going to have to see any of these spoiled, bratty California girls again.”  Guess who would have been one of the baby girls in that nursery? 

3.  I am knocking on wood before I tell you that I’m unbreakable.  I’ve never had a childhood disease (measles, mumps, chicken pox – nope), the flu or lost a body part internal or external.  M.Knight will be pleased to know that truth really is stranger than fiction.

4.  I sleep five hours a night, six if I’m lucky.  I’ve never slept more than five or six hours at a time according to my baby book. 

5.  I’m hideously forgetful.  From important dates, to locking doors, turning off the oven or meeting any kind of deadline…if I don’t write it down I will forget it.  I’m a creature who operates almost solely by lists.  I have lists of my lists.  They can’t just be written on any old scrap of paper, the lists must be on the same size paper with a place for me to write in the date I finished whatever task is on the list. 

6.  I have the worse eating habits in the known world.  I won’t eat anything squishy or slimy at all.  I keep the Pepsi company in business single handedly.  The only green things I eat are lettuce and green beans.  And yet…see #3 above. 

7.  I have an addictive personality.  If I had ever smoked a joint, snorted a line or drank a beer three days in a row, I’d still be doing it and be unable to quit. 

8.  I’m passive-aggressive with a strong desire to be openly rebellious.  Which is why I’m breaking that tag eight other people rule.  But if you just want to write eight things about you, I’ll come over and praise your uniqueness profusely. 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Packing Up – Round One Ecanus at Work

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Stacy  |  June 22, 2007 at 4:03 pm

    I hate to admit it but I’m helping you keep Pepsi in business and I only sleep about 5 hours a night, too. Hmmm….think it has anything to do with all that caffeine?

    Reply
  • 2. katcampbell  |  June 22, 2007 at 4:09 pm

    Stacy – Nope. There’s a reference in my baby book that says “Kitty never sleeps”. I’ve always needed very little sleep.

    Reply
  • 3. colleen  |  June 22, 2007 at 6:01 pm

    You reminded me that I got tagged with this a long time ago and still haven’t done it. Although every time I read one, I start writing one in my head. Writing for me is like swatting flies. They buzz around my head and only occasionally do I slap one down.

    I like your lions blue and the poem too. Thanks for the welcoming hello.

    Reply
  • 4. katcampbell  |  June 22, 2007 at 6:23 pm

    Colleen – tags are a necessary evil sometimes! I’m not really interesting enough to study in depth, but I don’t like to let my friends down.

    Reply
  • 5. jackiesgarden  |  June 22, 2007 at 6:42 pm

    Kat, number eight had me LOL. You could have been writing about me! I’ve also never needed more than 5 or 6 hours sleep. I thought it was a combination of having three children and not being allowed to sleep in – and having a type A personality that has only high gear. I don’t think I ever wind down enough – even in my sleep.

    Reply
  • 6. Nessa  |  June 23, 2007 at 1:47 am

    i would never be able to survive on 5 or 6 hours of sleep. I must have 7 to 8 minimum or I’m not much good for anything. I get cranky.

    Reply
  • 7. katcampbell  |  June 23, 2007 at 5:29 pm

    Jackie – I’ve always suspected we were very much alike.

    Nessa – A normal person!

    Reply
  • 8. guyana-gyal  |  June 24, 2007 at 12:23 am

    9….there’s a 9…incredibly energetic. Do you think it’s all that Pepsi, Kat? 🙂

    Reply
  • 9. John Linna  |  June 24, 2007 at 4:25 am

    Thanks for sharing those eight things . Now we know a little more about you. Thank you for tagging nobody.

    Reply
  • 10. Therevdrkate  |  June 24, 2007 at 5:00 am

    There are some very interesting “coincidences” in your life – alot of them intertwined with numbers! The answer to your health isn’t the occasional green food – it’s the Pepsi! You have so many additives and preservatives in your system, no self-respecting germ would live there – LOL!

    Reply
  • 11. katcampbell  |  June 24, 2007 at 8:46 pm

    GG – Nope. I’ve never slept more than that, it predates Pepsi.

    Dr. John – You’re welcome…I just hate tagging people.

    Dr. Kate – LOL! Maybe you’re right!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
June 2007
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Feeds


