The Weird, The Dumb and The Gift

June 26, 2007 at 4:27 pm 17 comments

Yesterday was one of those kinds of days when, at first glance, you suspect you should have just stayed in bed.  It started with a long tedious meeting during which I notice this bump on my thumb.  Little thing, flesh colored, smaller than the head of a pin.  I’m bored, the committee I’m recording minutes for is repeating the same argument for the third time so there isn’t anything new to write down.  I’ve doodled away the margins of my notepad, and they still haven’t changed topic.  So now, this bump on my thumb is intriguing me…what could it be?  A bug bite maybe? I pick at it.  I pick at it some more and then all of a sudden it starts bleeding.  Blood is gushing from this tiny little bump on my thumb.  Its getting on my papers, its running down my hand.  Ugh.  It gets worse.

I leave the meeting and my car won’t start.  I just put a new battery in the old girl, but I freak out anyway.  Within minutes, three auxiliary cops, a councilman and a guy driving by that sees my hood up are all gathered around my engine attempting to get jumper cables attached between a van and my car.  It still won’t start.  The on-duty cop wanders over and leans in the window.  He asks if my lights are off, did I turn off the radio…blah, blah, blah.  Then he looks down.  “Put it in park, Kat.” 

Okay, a day full of dorky behavior, but then I get home  and waiting for me is a beautiful treasure box filled with goodies from Dr. John and Betty.  Very cool stuff…an eagle lamp to light my way, angels to watch over my dorky self and an orange thing with a bicycle on it….wait, on further inspection (and reading the back) it’s a safety bike reflector!  Thank you Dr. John and Betty!   This could seriously have turned into one of those whiney, somebody push me off the balcony, kind of days but nobody can be sad when there’s presents waiting!  If you’ve never visited Dr. John, surf on over there!  His blog has everything, the continuing saga of Pidgeon Falls, Finnish lessons, a daily link to an interesting site and some quite good words of advice. 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Ecanus at Work The Universe Takes Care of Itself

17 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Shelli  |  June 26, 2007 at 6:45 pm

    I have totally done the put the car in park thing. More than once. Gimme a break! I learned to drive in a car with a manual transmission!

    Reply
  • 2. Stacy  |  June 26, 2007 at 7:10 pm

    I’ve done the car in park thing with a school bus. Talk about embarassing when you have called the mechanic out from the shop. Ugh.

    Those packages from Dr. John are the absolute best aren’t they. I’ve received 3 or 4 of them and they just make my day like nothing else.

    Reply
  • 3. Nessa  |  June 26, 2007 at 7:59 pm

    Pleasant surprises are always a pick me up. And Dr. John is always good for that.

    Reply
  • 4. katcampbell  |  June 26, 2007 at 8:42 pm

    Shelli – I learned on a manual transmission too…65 Volkswagen. Coolest car ever, it didn’t even have a heater, you pulled up this lever and hot air came in from the engine.

    Stacy – You’ve totally out embarrassed me! I bet the mechanic gave you no end of grief.

    Nessa – Dr. John is just an angel on earth, isn’t he?

    Reply
  • 5. Dew  |  June 26, 2007 at 9:01 pm

    So, what was wrong with your thumb? I had something like that happen recently, but it was a skin tag that got ripped off. Those things bleed like you wouldn’t believe!

    Reply
  • 6. katcampbell  |  June 26, 2007 at 9:48 pm

    Dewey – Probably what it was…I don’t know for sure but I never expected something so small to bleed me dry!

    Reply
  • 7. themuttprincess  |  June 26, 2007 at 10:55 pm

    I have done the panic when my vehicle won’t start… And then realize it was not fully in park. ooops.

    Reply
  • 8. Delmonti (Dave)  |  June 26, 2007 at 11:06 pm

    I dont do claret (blood). Which is interesting as I’m the site first aider.

    Reply
  • 9. katcampbell  |  June 26, 2007 at 11:43 pm

    Princess – Welcome! Its so nice to know I’m not the only ditz in blog world. Have you noticed none of the men fessing up to this mistake. As if….

    Dave – I don’t do blood either, especially my own! Why in the world did they pick you to be the site first aider?

    Reply
  • 10. colleen  |  June 27, 2007 at 1:12 am

    I hate to laugh at your misfortunes but the bump on the thumb bleeding at the meeting is kind of funny in retrospect.

    I used to have to go to meetings. I usually suddenly develop ADD at meetings so I bring colored highlighter pens and decorate my doodles and the print I’m suppose to be reading.

    I enjoyed visiting John’s blog. Thanks.

    Reply
  • 11. John Linna  |  June 27, 2007 at 5:55 am

    What you described is my average day. I alwys manage to so something stupid. For you it was a different kind of day.

    Reply
  • 12. Mimi  |  June 27, 2007 at 6:05 am

    Dr John and Betty have a way of making people feel special. I am glad they perked up your bad day. I have done the car not being in park thing PLENTY of times.

    If that bump doesn’t go away get it checked. I had a bump that itched and eventually bled cause I scratched at it. Doc said it was a bug bite but it was malignant cancer. Do not wanna scare yeah but better safe than sorry.

    Take care!:)

    Reply
  • 13. Catch  |  June 27, 2007 at 12:20 pm

    I love getting packages from Dr John! I still have the box he sent some things in….it is so cute!!! You have an award over at my place on 6/25! Come pick it up…lol

    Reply
  • 14. katcampbell  |  June 27, 2007 at 3:39 pm

    Colleen – You’re always welcome to laugh at my misfortune. Hey, colored markers…that might just get me through these last few months.

    Dr. John – Now I don’t believe that for a minute! What a very nice thing to say though.

    Mimi! How nice to see you out and about. Its gone completely now, but I’ll bring it up at my appointment in July.

    Catch – He’s a special person, that’s for sure.

    Reply
  • 15. J.  |  June 28, 2007 at 3:10 am

    ‘put it in park’
    LMAO!!!! Oh girl, I’ve so been there, done that.

    Reply
  • 16. hammer  |  June 29, 2007 at 1:52 am

    I sympathise about the car thing. I had to call AAA because I didn’t know I had to step on the brake to put it into gear.

    Reply
  • 17. Therevdrkate  |  June 29, 2007 at 4:54 am

    What a day! I do hope you get your thumb checked out though – you never what those things can be – my older son had the same thing happen and it turned out to be a benign cyst – but it still had to be removed! Hope things are looking up!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
June 2007
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Feeds


