Opportunities and a Couple of Shout Outs

July 1, 2007 at 7:56 pm 18 comments

Years ago I read a reincarnation theory that alleged people pick their own parents.  I don’t believe in reincarnation, quite frankly the thought of doing life over and over horrifies me…but the thought of picking ones own parents was an interesting concept.  They described it as a bunch of bodiless souls hovering around in a blue space waiting for the correct parents to come along that will provide the necessary foundation blocks they didn’t get in their last life. 

I’m trying to imagine myself hovering around up there waiting and then deciding that the two middle aged people struggling to pay the light bill were exactly who I needed.  Hmmm… not so much.  I had a happy childhood, filled with people who loved me and I would’nt trade it.  But,  I’m pretty sure that if I had been offered the opportunity to pick my own parents, I would have chosen people willing to give me art lessons.  Or parents with pots of money they wanted to bestow on their bouncing baby girl.  Who would you have picked?

Catch has given me a Rocking Girl Blogger award, Thanks!  You’re a rocker yourself girl!  Go say hi to this fellow Ohioan, her last two posts are two of the funniest jokes I’ve heard in a long time. 

Seamus has announced that its time to vote on the prose/poetry and actual lions from The Shameless Lions Writing Circle.  If you haven’t shameless-lion.jpgchecked out the 48 members of this group yet, you must!  The artists who decorated the lions and the writers who have adopted them come from all over the world and are sharing some of the most amazing work.  The group is still open for “friends of the pride”.  Click on the link and you can learn all about it.  If you scroll down my sidebar you can read the history of this project.

Dr. John’s Sunday topic is Faith.  Along with his own great teachings he’s linked his message to Dr. Kate’s views on the same thing.  Interesting reading any time, but this topic on this day in these times is both moving and thought provoking. Click over there, even if you aren’t reading this until Monday. 

Since noone has replaced my digital camera, and I’m too poor to replace it myself right now, I’m off to paint a picture of the view from my balcony.  Artists everywhere are groaning and running for cover.  Have a great Sunday!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

The Universe Takes Care of Itself Remembrance Day

18 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Hayden  |  July 1, 2007 at 10:42 pm

    Humm. I think I’d have picked parents that were more SOCIAL and more oriented towards family. I always wished I could go to family reunions and big gatherings, but it was just our nuclear family plus my mom’s sister & brother-in-law and their one son

    After I grew up I found I had scads of cousins I’d never met. Meeting them as adults, and living far away, they are barely acquaintances.

    Reply
  • 2. nessa  |  July 2, 2007 at 1:28 am

    I would have consciously chosen other lessons for myself, too.

    Reply
  • 3. katcampbell  |  July 2, 2007 at 8:05 am

    Hayden – If its any comfort, big families aren’t all that great most of the time. Since you don’t get to pick them, it can sometimes be tedious and boring.

    Nessa – Now you’re wandering into the if “I” could do it all over again. I’m still way to scared to go there!

    Reply
  • 4. rel  |  July 2, 2007 at 2:17 pm

    Kat,
    Although this particular couple (my parents) were far from perfect, I think I prospered and grew immensely because of this “choosing.” It would be a good guess, that if there is in fact a blue space where we float around waiting to pick out a new set of parents, we have the gift of both foresight & hindsight, and choose just what we need.
    What happened to your camera?
    rel
    Hoo-rah for Dr. Evil’s Karmic payback!
    In your next life you and he might be siblings, working out your differences. 😉 Kidding.

    Reply
  • 5. katcampbell  |  July 2, 2007 at 10:44 pm

    Rel – The camera took on a puddle of water and lost. Very funny, if I ever end up a sibling of Dr. Evil’s I’ll be forced to smother him in his sleep.

    Reply
  • 6. guyana-gyal  |  July 2, 2007 at 11:05 pm

    Well, I do like my big family…meaning all the cousins and aunties and their hubbies…we get into squabbles, yes, but ohhh, the fun when / if we’re all together. They mostly all live overseas now. It’s sad and I miss them.

    Hmmm…now what parents would I pick? That’s a real hard question, Kat…I can’t think of anyone.

    Reply
  • 7. Stacy  |  July 3, 2007 at 12:25 am

    I am pretty darn sure that if I had been able to pick my own parents I would have chosen much differently than what I got.

    Reply
  • 8. katcampbell  |  July 3, 2007 at 1:51 am

    GG – You and Rel hit the jack pot apparently!

    Stacy – I think I would have too, even though I love and adore what I got, we’re talking about the opportunity to pick perfection here!

    Reply
  • 9. Dew  |  July 3, 2007 at 2:33 am

    I think I’m going to try to get away with not voting on the lions and poems. I read all the poems and looked at all the lions, and chose my first choice. It took me about 2 hours. Then I saw that, wait a minute, we’re supposed to pick our top TEN. If I had known that while I was spending time on it, that would be ok. But I don’t want to spend more hours to correct my mistake.

    Reply
  • 10. katcampbell  |  July 3, 2007 at 2:54 am

    Dewey – I know how you feel, its crazy trying to pick from 48, write the e-mail and then send it. We need one of those little voting boxes you can just click on.

    Reply
  • 11. Shelli  |  July 3, 2007 at 4:25 am

    I want to see your painted view.

    I would have given you the rockin’ blogger award, but I tried to pick people that I hadn’t before. You knows I loves ya! lol

    Reply
  • 12. John Linna  |  July 3, 2007 at 5:20 am

    I don’t know if I would have picked my parents but they gave me values and a concern for people. They were the right one’s for me.

    Reply
  • 13. Catch  |  July 3, 2007 at 8:57 am

    I would have picked the same two parents that I have. I had a wonderful childhood with a Mother and Father who were the best, I could not ask for any more. Not only that….my grandparents were great too….both sets.

    Thanks for the kind words Kat,…we are the rockin gals!!!! LoL

    happy 4th!

    Reply
  • 14. Delmonti (Dave)  |  July 3, 2007 at 4:17 pm

    I dont think I’d change my parents. I did have a great childhood although I cant stand my father (too long a story).

    Faith and stuff: Try and get ahold of a book called “Conversations with God”. It’s no way a religious book, well not quite, it seems to be a collection of religious “what to do in this situatiuon” but written as if God is actually answering…. very very interesting read…. and that not something you’ll hear me saying very often!

    Reply
  • 15. hammer  |  July 3, 2007 at 4:31 pm

    My dad believes we pick our own parents.

    I’m still trying to wrap my mind around the reincarnation thing,

    Reply
  • 16. Jon M  |  July 3, 2007 at 10:52 pm

    Having to choose your parents sounds like a punishment rather than a blessing!

    Reply
  • 17. Dave M  |  July 4, 2007 at 1:03 am

    If you can pick your parents, how come we end up turning into them?

    Reply
  • 18. Gela  |  July 8, 2007 at 6:40 am

    Hmmm. That’s interesting. I’d pick back my mother. She’s the best I tell ya.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
July 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Feeds


