On the Edge of the City

July 16, 2007 at 6:11 am 17 comments

Living in a tiny copse of trees to the left of our deer.jpgapartment building are a group of city savvy deer.  We see them early in the morning and right before sunset.  That little one gives its mother fits on a daily basis.  This picture was taken from my balcony (Pap sprang for a new digital camera.  Sometimes he earns his keep).  There are seven deer that live in that tiny collection of trees including two babies.  They are so used to the cars that travel at breakneck speeds along the road that they actually stand on the berm and look both ways before they cross.  You can see the road in this picture, it was early in the morning view-from-the-balcony.jpgwhich is why there is very little traffic.  We are located about one  block off the busiest street in the city.  Therein lies the problem.   The deer lived here before the people did.  Since its been developed, they’ve learned to avoid the cars that could kill them.  No hunter will ever be able to shoot them because we’re just that close to the city…and they’re reproducing.  Hmmm….if nothing changes, we will eventually have more deer than people in my neighborhood.  That can’t possible be a good thing. 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Hometown Festivals “I’m a Real People Person”

17 Comments Add your own

  • 1. DaveM  |  July 16, 2007 at 10:32 am

    Just goes to show how animals adapt and take advantage of changes in their environment. In most cities here ,foxes have quickly adapted to an urban environment, its easy pickings really.

    Reply
  • 2. jackiesgarden  |  July 16, 2007 at 6:14 pm

    Kat, your deer are way smarter than ours. The deer here in the NW must be some of the dumbest creatures on earth. They jump right in front of cars, turn around and try to go the opposite way in the middle of the road — you cannot ever trust they will stay in one place, or continue on in the direction they are traveling. You would think that they would eventually learn = but they never ever have.

    Reply
  • 3. Stacy  |  July 16, 2007 at 8:31 pm

    No, not a good thing. They will eat/trample gardens and flower beds as there becomes not enough natural food for them. And you’ve seen those stories where the deer ends up inside a building and freaks out…. If the population keeps growing the Game Commision will have to step in and take measures to either reduce or relocate. For their sake and the sake of humans.

    Reply
  • 4. hammer  |  July 16, 2007 at 11:03 pm

    We’ve got a neighborhood where the front yards are full of deer.

    the tourists love it but the people who live there don’t

    Reply
  • 5. Jon M  |  July 17, 2007 at 12:51 am

    Venison anyone? 🙂

    Reply
  • 6. mrsjosegoldbloom  |  July 17, 2007 at 12:53 am

    I don’t know Kat I would probably choose the dear (as my neighbors) over most people.

    Reply
  • 7. katcampbell  |  July 17, 2007 at 3:19 am

    DaveM – I think I’ll take the deer over foxes!

    Jackie – What’s funny, our rural deer are the same way but these ones living so close to the city seem to have learned about the danger of cars.

    Stacy – I’m glad I live on the third floor (no trampling) and I’m sure you’re right. I hope I’m not the only one watching the deer population grow.

    Hammer – Whew, I bet not! Can’t they eat their weight in grass or something?

    Jon – Goofy!

    Mrs. Jose – LOL! I don’t mind them, they’re so quiet and elegant out there in the field.

    Reply
  • 8. katherine.  |  July 17, 2007 at 5:13 am

    “that little one gives its mother fits on a daily basis”…proof that we are part of the animal kingdom….smile..

    Reply
  • 9. John Linna  |  July 17, 2007 at 5:58 am

    Trust me having more deer than people is not a good thing.

    Reply
  • 10. katcampbell  |  July 17, 2007 at 7:08 am

    Katherine – So true! When the whole herd is out, there are two mothers and two babies…but one mother is diligent and the other spends most of her time hanging out with the buck.

    Dr. John – I believe you!

    Reply
  • 11. guyana-gyal  |  July 17, 2007 at 7:45 am

    They wouldn’t last too long in a 3rd world country like mine, boys would catch ’em and eat ’em…which is not really a good thing either because sooner or later, you just won’t see any around. Like the ground doves here…small birds, yet these boys, just for fun, catch them to cook…now we hardly have any about on the road 😦

    Reply
  • 12. katcampbell  |  July 17, 2007 at 7:49 am

    GG – Oh, that is sad!

    Reply
  • 13. Diesel  |  July 18, 2007 at 8:24 am

    I just got back from Michigan, where my parents have a condo. I saw deer in their backyard every day we were there. It was cool, but they do tend to eat stuff you’d rather not have them eat.

    Reply
  • 14. Nessa  |  July 18, 2007 at 7:15 pm

    I think more deer and less people would be very good.

    Reply
  • 15. J.  |  July 19, 2007 at 6:59 pm

    I’d take the deer over people anyday! 😀

    Reply
  • 16. Shelli  |  July 20, 2007 at 3:48 am

    We still see the deer from time to time in my area, too. I both like it and fear it. I am always afraid that one will jump out in front of me on a dark night.

    Reply
  • 17. Janet  |  July 21, 2007 at 5:19 pm

    It’s great that they’re cautious before crossing the road. I don’t think that people pay attention to the laws, so I hope some idiot doesn’t try to shoot them. Drive carefully!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
July 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Feeds


