“I’m a Real People Person”

July 20, 2007 at 4:30 pm 19 comments

I didn’t think I could ever find something more tedious than interviewing for secretaries until this week, when I had to interview for accounting clerks.  I feel like someone kicked me in the head and left me in a ditch.  Partly from saying the same thing over and over, partly from watching a parade of hopefulls shoot themselves in the foot.  Don’t they teach interviewing in college any more? 

 We only interview the applicants that have backgrounds in the work we need.  Potentially, everyone who gets a call for an interview is already qualified to do the job.  This is common knowledge to our applicants and we still got:  1) Applicants that showed up on the wrong day or time, 2) Applicants inappropriately dressed for the office (even if it is summer), 3) Applicants that forgot their glasses and couldn’t do their best on the test, 4) Applicants that didn’t follow the directions on the test.  Then there’s my all-time pet peeve – wimpy, watery, vague answers to our questions instead of answers based in the meat of their experience.  What makes you most qualified for this job? “I’m a real people person.”  Ugh.  I could make a fortune teaching people how to interview. 

One more day of it. 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

On the Edge of the City End of an Era

19 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Stacy  |  July 20, 2007 at 4:58 pm

    I think they do still teach it, but seems to me you can’t tell the younger generation anything about certain subjects. It doesn’t seem that there is any reason (except prom and your own wedding) that requires dressing up beyond casual grunge….and responsibility? Don’t get me started.

    God, I sound like a crabby old woman. I blame PMS, but seriously, while I know it isn’t the entire generation, it’s a lot of them.

    Reply
  • 2. katcampbell  |  July 20, 2007 at 5:21 pm

    Stacy – If it were just the young people it wouldn’t be so bad, half my applicants were middle aged! Crazy.

    Reply
  • 3. Nessa  |  July 20, 2007 at 6:30 pm

    I feel your pain. I hate the interviewing process beginning to end. So much of my time is wasted on people who haven’t got a clue.

    Reply
  • 4. Kat  |  July 20, 2007 at 7:40 pm

    You recently went through this too, didn’t you Nessa? Just shoot me.

    Reply
  • 5. Jon M  |  July 21, 2007 at 1:03 am

    I can soooo sympathise as you know, Kat! I’m an unreal people person myself, they’re so much more entertaining and they have infinite possibilities!

    Reply
  • 6. quilldancer  |  July 21, 2007 at 3:05 am

    Kat, my first year’s teaching experience was as a job coach. I actually had to tell people things like, “brush your teeth, comb your hair, wear deodorant” and such. I think the one that floored me the most was the girl who went to interview as a file clerk wearing a tube top and spandex shorts. I said, “What happened to the skirt and blouse we discussed?” She said, “I wanted them to get to know me right up front.” (Which is why she left her “up front” sticking out ….)

    Reply
  • 7. John Linna  |  July 21, 2007 at 4:43 am

    So “I’m a real people person isn’t enough for an accounting clerk’s job. Next I suppose you will want them to know something about accounting.

    Reply
  • 8. Wanderlust Scarlett  |  July 21, 2007 at 6:17 am

    Ah… but do you have the patience to teach people how to interview?

    Faux pas like that always make me shudder.

    The other big one is prom in April, since it’s Denver, there are several schools and several proms and so prom ‘season’ runs all through April.

    God bless them.

    The thing about this that drives me nuts is when I am at a restaurant and I see girls without a clue in the world, all dolled up and eating with their GLOVES ON.

    I always stop them in the ladies room and say… ‘honey, let me give you a couple of tips…’

    Scarlett & Viaggiatore (the lion)

    Reply
  • 9. Delmonti (Dave)  |  July 21, 2007 at 11:58 am

    Just do what we do here at IBM Kat…. We simply use a shepherds crook, jam it out the front door and drag in any wandering fool and make them management

    Reply
  • 10. guyana-gyal  |  July 21, 2007 at 4:15 pm

    Oh my good gravy. Tell me this ain’t true! 😀 And why do I find it so funny? Because I don’t have to interview them! Quilldancer’s girl with the spandex and tube was great hahaha…

    Reply
  • 11. Janet  |  July 21, 2007 at 5:24 pm

    It occurred to me that the ones who show up late or on the wrong day, who dress inappropriately, etc. either don’t have a clue or don’t really want the job and are sabotaging themselves, but at least they’ll be able to say “I interviewed for the job”. The ones who give lousy answers might be nervous and unable to think of something that sounds intelligent, and haven’t practiced interview questions. But I think I’d rather see them off balance, because giving rehearsed answers only shows that they can tell you what you want to hear. I’d rather see how they do with the unexpected, because a lot of life, and business, is unexpected.

    Reply
  • 12. Catch  |  July 21, 2007 at 7:16 pm

    so I guess the days of just needing big boobs to get the job are over huh? lol

    Reply
  • 13. frothingatlemouse  |  July 22, 2007 at 2:00 am

    Kat, I can’t imagine the obnoxiousness. I used to think I could be a professional interviewee. I still do. Hell, who knows, I may need to if things go weird where I am now. And you know what? I know what to say and do and I’m flipping 55!

    You should just mess with their heads, within legal limits, ask them something really bizarre and write it down and blog it.

    Reply
  • 14. frothingatlemouse  |  July 22, 2007 at 2:01 am

    And another thing, I’m amazed at people who don’t take the time to find out a little bit about the company they’re interviewing for. Oh, not smaller ones-realize there may not be a bunch of info out there. But, corporations and others that have websites. Um, you might want to read up a bit…Ya know?

    Reply
  • 15. Gela Words  |  July 22, 2007 at 6:01 am

    I totally feel you on this, I’ve been there. Ugh!

    Reply
  • 16. Gela Words  |  July 22, 2007 at 6:02 am

    Hmmmm, so you’re a rocking girl blogger I see. I totally agree. You rock girl!

    Reply
  • 17. Therevdrkate  |  July 22, 2007 at 9:01 pm

    I am always amazed byt the quality (or lack thereof) of young people as they apply for jobs or as I watch them working behind a counter, etc. I know God loves us all, but . . .if I did my job as poorly as most people do theirs, I would not have a job!

    Reply
  • 18. hammer  |  July 23, 2007 at 5:29 am

    Kids aren’t being taught these skills early on. Even people in their 30’s have a hard time preparing and being on time.

    Very sad.

    Reply
  • 19. katherine.  |  July 25, 2007 at 1:56 pm

    I always interview my top three twice. Far too often the one who was a star on the first go round will crash and burn on the second.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
July 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Feeds


