Distractions

July 30, 2007 at 10:00 am 27 comments

With a mere 155 days left until I’m officially unemployed and chasing the dream like a maniac, I find I can’t write.   Nothing, blank pages all over the place. bren-with-keys-web.jpg It would be easy to blame the numerous and interesting distractions that tend to wander through my life.  Pretty babies like these two newestayla-for-web.jpg grandgirls that need the benefit of my years of wisdom.  Chocolate chips that need to be made into cookies.  I’m sure everyone can agree that the world would stop turning on its axis without lemon, blueberry and strawberry muffinsbalcony-deer-side.jpg in the bread box.  The flower boxes on my balcony are not going to dead head and water themselves, what choice do I have but to tend the impatients and pansy’s?  If I don’t sweep off those 18 boards that make up the floor and dust down those railings just who will?   Of course I had to take time to rearrange my closet by color.  My make-up really did need to be stored alphabetically, how else would I know the difference between “midnight blue” mascara and “deepest black” at seven in the morning?  I can’t be the only one who scrubs their three rows of flip-flops by hand.  Then there was that back log of reading I’ve been meaning to get to, well, I didn’t really get to it yet. games-on-computer.jpg First I had to safety check these for Princess, I mean she’s only 20!  It would be negligent of me to allow her access to games that might have swear words or violence in them.  I had to read this one so I could still hp-7.jpghang out with the cool kids, and then the other three were given to me by a neighbor.  Only books.jpga totally rude person wouldn’t read them right away…even though I hate books in which all the women are beautiful, all the men handsome and chapters 3, 5, 7 and 9 are sex scenes.  I really didn’t mean to get sucked into the pottery festival again, but hey, they made such a mess of things this year its my civic duty to rescue them.  Yes, I know there are several dozen people on the committee and it shouldn’tpottery-festival-site.jpg be necessary for me to balance the checkbook, type the contracts, write the thank you letters and do the advertising…but I am a writer by night and an accountant by day, it fits right into my skill set, right?  So many distractions around my place.  Its easy to blame them for my inability to get down to business.   But  I know better.   My problem is discipline.  I have none. 

Entry filed under: Books, Day Job, Flaws, writing.

When Good Men Go Dumb A New Day

27 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Dave M  |  July 30, 2007 at 11:07 am

    It’s a bit like when your cramming for an exam, you’ll read anything and everything but what you should be reading.

    Reply
  • 2. Delmonti (Dave)  |  July 30, 2007 at 2:31 pm

    Jeezzus woman! do you ever stop?

    I’m a bit concerned about your aphabetically arranged makeup, thats a “man” thing to do…. the alphabet thing not the makeup….. oh…. hold on….. I’m feeling a little politicallty incorrect right now. I best shut up and leave.

    Reply
  • 3. Mr. Fabulous  |  July 30, 2007 at 4:02 pm

    I am the same way with distractions and discipline. I should have finished my second draft by now, dammit! LOL

    Reply
  • 4. J.  |  July 30, 2007 at 6:32 pm

    LMAO! You crack me up.
    Three rows of flipflops? You’re my hero!
    And I read that Nora Roberts series. I really liked it, did you? It was fun.

    Reply
  • 5. mrsjosegoldbloom  |  July 30, 2007 at 6:45 pm

    Finally…someone else who hand scrubs their flipflops!

    Reply
  • 6. katcampbell  |  July 30, 2007 at 7:02 pm

    You guys are just the best, you make me laugh!

    Dave M – You’re so right! Its like a little act of rebellion.
    Dave – No, I never stop and I’m so happy you clarified that make-up comment.
    Mr. Fab – It just sucks, doesn’t it? I want to flog myself sometimes, or hire a nagging mother.
    Jan- I’m embarrassed to say I did like it up to the third book. By then I was so over the “will she love him or reject him” thing.
    Mrs. Jose – Just because they’re flip flops doesn’t mean they must look unkept.

    Reply
  • 7. Jon Mayhew  |  July 30, 2007 at 9:08 pm

    I would remind you that Procrastination is the thief of time, madame. Which is why I’m reminding you of that fact myself. If in doubt blog!

    Reply
  • 8. Catch  |  July 30, 2007 at 10:24 pm

    you scrub your flip flops by hand????? can I send you mine????

    Reply
  • 9. katcampbell  |  July 30, 2007 at 10:32 pm

    Jon – So I’m not the only one that gets easily distracted! Thank you for the reminder.

    Catch – Sure, I’m all about getting sucked in by distractions.

    Reply
  • 10. QuillDancer  |  July 30, 2007 at 11:09 pm

    Discipline is for children. Adults no longer need it …. :p

    Reply
  • 11. Nessa  |  July 31, 2007 at 12:48 am

    I think someone stole mine too along with my ability to focus.

    Reply
  • 12. hammer  |  July 31, 2007 at 2:41 am

    Yeah it’s tough to get motivated. I still haven’t completely unpacked from my move 7 years ago.

    Reply
  • 13. John Linna  |  July 31, 2007 at 4:01 am

    Enough with the nonsense. Set an hour every day and write. Force yourself. Even if its bad at least your writing.

    Reply
  • 14. Diesel  |  July 31, 2007 at 7:01 am

    All you need is an even bigger project looming over your head that you can avoid by writing. Start an addition to your house.

    Reply
  • 15. jackiesgarden  |  July 31, 2007 at 8:47 am

    LOL – No, you aren’t the only one that scrubs your flip flops by hand! I have a special ‘fingernail brush’ that I use on mine.

    I’m tired now, just reading about all you are doing. Have to go to bed.

    Reply
  • 16. katcampbell  |  July 31, 2007 at 3:19 pm

    Quilly – Perhaps you’re right. Ugh, then all I lack is self-control. Thats even worse.

    Nessa – We should start a support group, or a five step program or something.

    Hammer – Just go ahead and throw it away. If you haven’t used it for 7 years, nobody needs it anyway.

    Dr. John – Thank you, you’re absolutely right.

    Diesel – Hey, now thats an idea! Its working for you.

    Jackie – I knew I could count on you to back me up.

    Reply
  • 17. katherine.  |  August 1, 2007 at 12:49 am

    it seems to be everywhere….

    http://bagwine.blogspot.com/2007/07/feed-my-mind.html

    Reply
  • 18. rel  |  August 1, 2007 at 3:06 pm

    Kat,
    Join the club! 😉
    I’ve just got too many interests.
    rel

    Reply
  • 19. colleen  |  August 1, 2007 at 6:24 pm

    I organize my closet by the clothes i like best.

    Are you retiring from accounting or being a pottery promoter?

    Reply
  • 20. Stacy  |  August 1, 2007 at 6:32 pm

    It sounds to me like you have a good, full life. Enjoy it!

    Reply
  • 21. Gawpo  |  August 2, 2007 at 12:12 am

    Sung to the tune of “Pretty Baby”: Cuando estaba lo chiquito me desia mi Mama: Pretty Baaaaby, Pretty Baaaaby.

    Trans: When I was a little boy, my mother told me….

    Reply
  • 22. Linda  |  August 2, 2007 at 2:22 am

    I have had similar issues. I have not written in over a month and I have not been commenting on other blogs. I am not really sure why, but some of my distractions (espicially pretty babies and Harry Potter) have well had me distracted. I have been feeling kind of low, so that has taken up some time as well. I really don’t have very good excuses, but they are excuses none the less.

    The new babies are beautiful and I could not blame you for spending as much time with them as you can. As you and I both know babies grow up far too fast!

    Did you finish Harry Potter? What did you think? I loved it. I was satisfied with the way things ended.

    Reply
  • 23. katcampbell  |  August 2, 2007 at 9:40 pm

    Katherine – Maybe its summer…just so hard to get in proper gear when the sun is shining (that’s my excuse).

    Rel – Hooray! We have a club?!

    Colleen – Leaving the accounting, getting back into the pottery promotion business.

    Reply
  • 24. Wanderlust Scarlett  |  August 3, 2007 at 9:23 am

    No apologies. Civic duties are paramount.

    And… I’ve been on the so-far-failed-mascara-quest for ages now… color is the least of my worries…

    by the way, I awarded you with a thoughtful blogger award on my page… please drop by when you get a chance, and pick it up.

    Best,
    Scarlett & Viaggiatore

    Reply
  • 25. Therevdrkate  |  August 3, 2007 at 5:55 pm

    I have often found that pursuing those “distractions” lets my subconcious work on the sermon or paper I am writing. when I do finally sit down to confront the blank page, words pour out (not necessarily good ones, but they ARE words!)

    Reply
  • 26. hayden  |  August 5, 2007 at 6:10 am

    writers block has so many names. For me, when the time escapes because of all the things that don’t need doing are getting done….I know I have writers block. I’ve only found one cure for it. Write drivel until the drivel shapes up and sucks me in.

    Reply
  • 27. Janet  |  August 7, 2007 at 6:17 pm

    So much going on! No wonder you’re blocked. Things will all work out, you’ll see. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
July 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Feeds


