A New Day

August 6, 2007 at 3:45 pm 13 comments

 The one thing I hate about the publishing business is sending rejection letters.  Its very personal to me, I know how it feels and I know I’m wrecking their day.  The blow is softened a little, because unlike big publishing companys, we send a personal letter accompanied by a review of their book (which includes what was good as well as what was bad) along so they know why we rejected it.  But its still a gloomy, dreary job, best suited for rainy days.  It rained this weekend, so two rejections left my desk. 

Speaking of reviews…a big, public, I’d hug you if you were close enough, thank you to Nessa for her help reading from our submissions list.  Nessa is a writer, it hangs out all over her book summaries.

With a long, dreary weekend full of drudgery behind me, this morning looks like the start of something new.  The new secretaries start today, new blood always brightens up the work place. 

If somebody would tell me how to make pancakes without the first batch sticking to the pan, this day would be perfect. 

Holy Cow!  I nearly forgot, Scarlett has gifted thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpgme with a thoughtful blogger award…after this post, she may be reconsidering her decision, but thank you Scarlett!

Entry filed under: Books, Uncategorized.

Distractions Oddities

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Nessa  |  August 6, 2007 at 9:16 pm

    Aren’t you sweet to mention me. I’m learning a great deal. I hope it sticks when I start submitting.

    It has got to be tough writing rejection letters. I know I’d wouldn’t want to do it, but at least you make it personal so they can learn what they need to do to improve.

    I give the first batch of pancakes to my husband. he likes things just this side of burnt.

    Reply
  • 2. Linda  |  August 6, 2007 at 10:05 pm

    It is nice to hear that somebody actually thinks about how a person feels about being rejected. It seems that all too often the person on the sending end just does not give a crap.

    I am a decent cook, but no matter what I do, my pancakes always turn out bad. I have found some success with using a crape pan to make them, but then the pan is so small that it takes a long time to make them. I hate all the mess that goes with pancakes, too, so my family does not get them very often.

    Reply
  • 3. katcampbell  |  August 7, 2007 at 3:20 am

    Nessa – Rats, I thought for sure you’d know how to make a decent pancake.

    Linda – I don’t have a crepe pan, but I LOVE pancakes, so it would be worth the investmen.

    Reply
  • 4. katherine.  |  August 7, 2007 at 6:44 am

    rejection sucks in all its forms….

    Reply
  • 5. Catch  |  August 7, 2007 at 10:59 am

    Rejection hurts, but its something we all must learn to deal with. Speaking of rejection…try eating my pancakes! lol

    Reply
  • 6. Mr. Fabulous  |  August 7, 2007 at 3:29 pm

    My pancakes always turn out great. I order them when I am at Perkins.

    Reply
  • 7. katcampbell  |  August 7, 2007 at 4:30 pm

    Katherine – Rejection does suck, but its part of life.

    Catch – Oh no! You can’t make pancakes either?

    Mr. Fab – LOL, no challenge, but atleast you’re getting a decent pancake.

    Reply
  • 8. QuillDancer  |  August 7, 2007 at 10:23 pm

    Teflon. The first pancake still may not be edible, but it won’t be glued to the pan!

    Reply
  • 9. Jon Mayhew  |  August 7, 2007 at 11:07 pm

    Rejection makes acceptance all the more sweet…but you can’t accept everyone all the time!

    I make nice pancakes…

    Reply
  • 10. John Linna  |  August 8, 2007 at 4:50 am

    I always had trouble saying no to anybody. It was really hard for me to hire a secretary because I didn’t want to disappoint anybody. So I know how you feel.

    Reply
  • 11. katcampbell  |  August 8, 2007 at 2:36 pm

    Quilly – Hmmm….teflon….

    Jon M – Real nice, buddy, rub it in but don’t share your secret. Jeesh.

    Dr. John – Its definately easier to be rejected than do the rejecting.

    Reply
  • 12. jackiesgarden  |  August 11, 2007 at 12:13 am

    LOL – Kat, you’re still searching, huh? I gave it up. I just plan on throwing the first two pancakes in the garbage – and that’s it – life is simple.

    Reply
  • 13. Wanderlust Scarlett  |  August 11, 2007 at 12:33 am

    The rejection letters make good kindling.

    but its summer.

    So… make some paper airplanes and see how far they can fly.

    I’m very glad to have gifted you the award, so glad to see it up here!

    Scarlett & Viaggiatore

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
August 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Feeds


