Scrapbook Hazard

August 20, 2007 at 9:07 pm 20 comments

With my big, sprawling family I’m sure it isn’t hard for you to imagine the mountains of pictures I have cluttering up two domiciles.  Five kids, five grandgirls, two step grandkids….Before digital, there was instamatic, then 35mm, we’ve had box cameras, throw away img041.jpgcameras…and enough pictures to fill a museum.  So when the scrapbooking craze came along, I was on it.  The process appeals to me on many levels:  I’ve never met an office supply store I didn’t like, I love color and pattern and this medium lets me ramble out the family stories in writing.  I thought for SURE I’d found a plan to get all these boxes and drawers full of pictures tidied up and displayed in a way that people could enjoy them.  Like most great plans, this one also went awry.

bills-graduation-day.jpg

Apparently I have a maudlin streak that seems to surface most often when I’m working with the pictures.  For instance, this picture of my son and three of his tiffany.jpgsisters at his college graduation in May.  That’s Princess on the left, Sheena, Bill and then my kindergarten teacher, Michelle.  This was a nice day, but the picture of the four of them reminded me that the fourth sister is once again missing.   Grandgirls Mom, who we just can’t seem to keep on track no matter how we try.  It wouldn’t be so bad if she looked like her dad, but no, she’s the one that looks like me.

Then there’s this sweet picture that looks like Princess and her brother playing in a human habitrail.  But I see it and remember bill-and-katie-at-seaworld.jpgthat it was taken at Sea World in 1990 and that the only reason they’re smiling is because they’ve escaped from us.  Scariest moment of my life when I turned away for just a minute and Princess disappeared.  By the time we found her I was nearly hysterical and then she refused to come out of the thing and I couldn’t get my big butt into it to fetch her.  That’s why the boy is going to the rescue and then also refused to come out. 

Whole weekend  wasted traveling from one set of memories to another and nary a picture getting put in a book.  The good news is I needed the rest.  Just 133 days and I’m unofficially done with my day job, I have to kill time on an annual report and exit audit until March lst, but that will be nothing. 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Foreign Imports Overheard

20 Comments Add your own

  • 1. lauraj  |  August 20, 2007 at 10:25 pm

    i too thought scrapbooking would be so much fun, i invested loads of $$ on paper and gadgets. once i started working on some pages i quickly lost interest. it wasn’t as fun as i thought it’d be.

    Reply
  • 2. Nessa  |  August 20, 2007 at 11:30 pm

    I love taking pictures, which is why I love my digital camera. But once they are taken, I lose interest in the pictures themselves. My husband and my mother love looking at pictures.

    I lost my daughter at the beach once. I thought I would die.

    Reply
  • 3. Jon Mayhew  |  August 21, 2007 at 12:01 am

    There is something about a whole collection of pictures all resting between covers. I get quite maudlin looking at past images too, but being maudlin can be fun and it’s not a bad emotion in moderation!

    Reply
  • 4. Mr. Fabulous  |  August 21, 2007 at 1:43 am

    I am not a picture taking person and I am not a scrapbooker, but you speak about it in a way that makes me understand a little better.

    Reply
  • 5. katcampbell  |  August 21, 2007 at 2:28 am

    Laura – Some days I still really love it, but mostly its very time consuming and that’s what I don’t have, time.
    Nessa – The beach! OMG, I don’t know what’s worse, fearing they’ve drowned or fearing they’ve been kidnapped.
    Jon – Excellent attitude, maudlin in moderation is a good thing.
    Mr. Fab – You aren’t a picture taker? I wasn’t really either until I had kids.

    Reply
  • 6. John Linna  |  August 21, 2007 at 3:57 am

    WE have piles and piles of albums and no place to put them.

    Reply
  • 7. QuillDancer  |  August 21, 2007 at 4:00 am

    I have spent so many $$ on hobbies that I never continued, that I decided to give scrapbooking a miss. I use my blog as my scrapbook ….

    Reply
  • 8. jackiesgarden  |  August 21, 2007 at 4:27 am

    Thank God for digital – and the computer to store photos! I still have a shoebox full of pictures to put into albums, but got caught up after I had two surgeries in two months – and had to spend alot of down time.

    Sorry to hear about Grandgirls’ mom. Don’t ever give up, Kat. It takes what it takes. You have to just keep hoping and praying that one day she’ll make it out of that hole.

    Reply
  • 9. hammer  |  August 21, 2007 at 4:32 am

    I like looking at scrap books but I haven’t the patience to do them.

    Great pics!

    Reply
  • 10. stacy  |  August 21, 2007 at 6:15 am

    It’s comforting to know that I am not the only one with children who will inherit a mountain of unidentified pictures.

    Reply
  • 11. smileymamaT  |  August 21, 2007 at 7:42 am

    Hi Kat. Been a while! Well, I figure when I’m 90 I’ll just dump all my photos out in one big pile and look them all over and remember the good old days. Until then, I’ll scrapbook maybe twice a year but then they all go back into the box. (and basket, and bag, and tote. Etc). I don’t beleive there are people out there with only one shoebox full…that is an urban legend, right??

    Reply
  • 12. Catch  |  August 21, 2007 at 12:55 pm

    I would love to scrapbook…..I just dont know how. I would be like you….go through all the pictures…..memories…what have you…and none would be in a scrapbook…lol. I keep the pictures in a trunk…lol..for when Im ready to sort! ha!

    Reply
  • 13. rel  |  August 22, 2007 at 12:26 am

    Kat,
    If pictures were dollars I could buy the world. Not that I’d want to, but I could.
    Your have a beautiful family. No wonder you have so many beutiful memories!
    rel

    Reply
  • 14. DaveM  |  August 22, 2007 at 11:25 am

    Getting ready for our move made us go through all the photos, weed out the not needed and ditch the duplicates. I had loads and still have loads left. As you say it takes a while.

    Reply
  • 15. Wanderlust Scarlett  |  August 23, 2007 at 12:01 am

    I love doing that. It happens when I attempt to organize one of those ‘I’ll get to it later’ boxes in the back of the closet.

    Memories flood my mind, heart, day and oftentimes most of the night, and I come away a bit worn out and usually not totally organized.

    But wading through them all is good. Remembering all the good and bad that put me where I am today.

    thanks for the memories….

    Scarlett & Viaggiatore

    Reply
  • 16. hayden  |  August 23, 2007 at 6:42 am

    I understand… I can get lost in piles of pics for weeks at a time….. the hours fly by

    Reply
  • 17. Mimi  |  August 26, 2007 at 6:58 am

    I decided to jump on the scrapbbok train and bought $100 worth of stuff. I hated it! So not my thing. I even posted about it. I forced myself to get it done since I spent the $. But now I am back to regular albums.

    Enjoy the rest of the summer!:)

    Reply
  • 18. Gela Words  |  August 27, 2007 at 6:28 am

    I’m alive Kat! Thanks for the prayers. As usual I’ll have to play catch up. Lovely family pics. My favourite is the one with Princess and her brother, hehe.

    Reply
  • 19. colleen  |  August 27, 2007 at 9:40 pm

    I regret the person that is going to clean up my mess after I’m gone. I am the litter bug of pictures hanging around.

    Reply
  • 20. Gawpo  |  September 2, 2007 at 3:30 am

    Boy. I sure do remember the Bownie. And remember how you could see the frame number through the little glass window on some cameras? And that thunky mechanical click when the shutter shut? Wow. You took me back, Kat. Thanks.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
August 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Feeds


