The Commute

August 28, 2007 at 6:16 pm 12 comments

There are two things I do on the commute to work every morning.  Think and Look.  I should probably be thinking and looking at the road, but that’s boring, so I notice all the little details of what’s happening on the edges.

If I drive straight through the city I will see the morning walk of a little old lady that has to be every minute of 90 years old.  She is spry, she is tiny and she is dressed as if she’s about to take the stage.  One morning it may be as a ship captain, complete with white pants and a navy jacket sparkling with gold buttons and fringed epalets, topped off with a gleaming white cap.  The next she may be Scarlet O’Hara, hooped shirts just barely brushing the sidewalk.  On Fridays she goes casual, I’ve seen her in everything from a McDonald’s uniform, the traditional ball cap modified to include a veil, to a Cleopatra- like sheath, gold bracelets wrapped around her skinny upper arms. 

Now that school is back in session I like to take a short cut through the…less desirable (?) part of town.  The kids in this part of the city don’t even have air conditioning, much less their own cars or credit cards.  What they do have is style.  I’ve never seen a kid on this street that wasn’t perfectly coiffed, made-up and dressed to the nines including a dazzling assortment of bling.  In contrast, once I’ve reached the highly desirable part of town, the teenagers climbing into their mother’s mini-vans are generally dressed in jeans and t-shirts and look like they’ve just rolled out of bed.  Says something about priorities, but I’m not sure what. 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Overheard **sigh**of relief

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jon Mayhew  |  August 28, 2007 at 6:22 pm

    The little old lady sounds like someone straight out of a cartoon! I couldn’t comment on your observation about dressing as I’m a scruffy B…

    Reply
  • 2. hammer  |  August 28, 2007 at 7:29 pm

    We need pics of the old lady, she sounds like a hoot.

    Reply
  • 3. stacy  |  August 28, 2007 at 7:49 pm

    I hope I’m that much of a character at 90….sounds way better than having someone wiping the drool off my chin and changing my diaper.

    Reply
  • 4. Nessa  |  August 29, 2007 at 1:44 am

    I love that old lady. You have allowed me to see her too.

    Reply
  • 5. John Linna  |  August 29, 2007 at 2:33 am

    You have discovered and described a true character.

    Reply
  • 6. katcampbell  |  August 29, 2007 at 4:18 pm

    Jon – All those rowdy dogs, I’m sure scruffy is your only option. :>)

    Hammer – Someday I’ll have the camera with me when I zip by, she’s a mumbler I fear.

    Stacy – Ditto! Even if she’s crazy a loon, its better than diapers.

    Nessa – What a nice thing to say!

    Dr. John – I’m surprised at how many characters there are roaming around here.

    Reply
  • 7. Jon mayhew  |  August 29, 2007 at 11:49 pm

    “All those rowdy dogs, I’m sure scruffy is your only option. :>)”

    No it just comes naturally, somehow!

    Reply
  • 8. Catch  |  September 1, 2007 at 8:46 am

    I bet the old lady is having a ball dressing in all her finery…and at that age…I say..you go girl!

    Reply
  • 9. Dave m  |  September 1, 2007 at 3:07 pm

    I notice this too. Its seems sometimes as if kids from more affluent backgrounds with material trappings dont feel the need to present themselves tidily. Maybe if you dont have material wealth then all you have to display is yourself. Could be a very deep and long discussion on this topic.

    Reply
  • 10. Gawpo  |  September 2, 2007 at 3:36 am

    Ah. Relief. I am finally in the right box.

    Nice in here.

    Very comfortable.

    Yes, pics of the lady please.

    Reply
  • 11. jackiesgarden  |  September 2, 2007 at 6:45 pm

    I’m a ‘thinker’ and ‘looker’ when I drive, too. Much more entertaining than listening to the radio. And I love it when it’s dark and people leave their curtains open so that I can see in! No, I’m not a pervert! I just like to see what they have hanging on their walls and how they’ve decorated and what they are doing. 🙂

    Reply
  • 12. katcampbell  |  September 3, 2007 at 1:02 am

    Jon – LOL
    Catch – If I didn’t have all these kids that would have me committed if I dressed like I really want to…I’d be strolling down the street right next to that cool old lady.
    Dave – This would be an interesting thing to investigate.
    Gawpo – Glad to see you could make it.
    Jackie – I thought I was the only one who checked out open curtains for decorating!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
August 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Feeds


