A Landmark and Middle Age

September 19, 2007 at 11:57 pm 9 comments

This will be my 301st post.  Luckily we don’t have to discard those posts from the count in which we say nothing, it would probably be only my 103rd if that was the case.  But a worthy time for reflection none-the-less.  There is only one thing that’s surprised me more about blogging than the fact that I’ve stuck with it…even haphazardly…and that is how much I miss hearing what the folks on my blogroll are up to when I’m not able to get around and visit everybody.  The internet has redefined what constitutes the parameters of friendship.  In many cases, those that come here to share what I write know things that I haven’t even shared with family.  I think that’s cool. 

We recently celebrated my mother-in-law’s 70th birthday.  If you were looking at her calendar and had to guess her age you’d probably say 37…the woman is a dynamo.  She runs the fabric and crafts department of her local Walmart, works in the garden, is an active member of the arts council.  Crazy busy little lady.  But at 70, she’s definately past the middle age peak and sliding down the side of the mountain of life. 

I’m hovering around on the peak yet, middle aged but just barely.  Half way through my one and only life.  I have a few regrets, especially when we’re scrambling around trying to pay the car insurance, but mostly I wouldn’t change anything at the front end of my life.  I’ve read enough science fiction to know that even a tiny change would result in the loss of my treasures…my kids. 

What about you? If you had the ability to change anything about your past, what would it be?

Entry filed under: friends.

Silver Linings Wonky is Genetic

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. jackiesgarden  |  September 20, 2007 at 1:11 am

    At 58 I guess I am past *gasp* even middle age – though I tell people I’m a 23 year old trapped in this body! I’ve given it some thought before, and I don’t think I’d change a thing. Even the deepest valleys in my life, have helped define who I have become. I would not be who I am today, had I not gone through everything that I have, the good and the bad. Hurray for your mother-in-law, I’m with her – I never intend to get ‘old’.

    Reply
  • 2. katherine.  |  September 20, 2007 at 2:41 am

    ah…what is middle age these days….50?

    there are some things I may do differently….but they are smaller things…and I agree with you..do NOT mess with the time warp continuum…

    Congrats to you on it all!

    Reply
  • 3. Linda  |  September 20, 2007 at 7:34 am

    Sometimes I think that I would love to wipe out all of the bad things that ever happened to me, but then I think about what I have learned from those experiences. I can only hope that my coping with things sometimes has made me a stronger person. I am with you then, I would not change a thing.

    Reading this made me long to talk with my Grandmother who passed away at 72. I think about what she was doing before her weak heart got in the way. She was walking with friends five days a week, traveling and taking college classes. I hope that when I am 70, I can live up to the standards that these fine two ladies have created for us!!

    Reply
  • 4. QuillDancer  |  September 20, 2007 at 8:39 am

    Kat — to change my past would change who I am today — and right now I am pretty pleased with who I am.

    Congrats on post 301 — and cheers to the next 300.

    Reply
  • 5. nessa / goldennib  |  September 20, 2007 at 3:34 pm

    While I occasionally wish I had done some things differently, I wouldn’t be who I am today and thank goodness I learned a few things.

    Congratulations on sticking with us; D

    Reply
  • 6. katcampbell  |  September 20, 2007 at 3:41 pm

    Jackie – You mean you aren’t 23? Couldn’t tell it from your lively blog!

    Katherine – Middle age looks so different nowdays, I’m calling it 50.

    Linda – I think you’re well on your way to being just like your grandma!

    Nessa – Thanks for sticking with me.

    Reply
  • 7. Delmonti (Dave)  |  September 20, 2007 at 6:18 pm

    errmmm, thats too difficult. Maybe the whole bloody lot!

    Reply
  • 8. Rhea  |  September 20, 2007 at 8:11 pm

    I am 49. I would change my parents. Sounds mean perhaps, but I felt trampled in my home. There was daily sarcasm and meanness. But, hey, I’m mostly happy today.

    Reply
  • 9. Dave M  |  September 21, 2007 at 11:16 pm

    Kat, I would suggest you have stuck with Blogging because you enjoy expressing yourself through the medium of writing and also because of the community that builds up as a result of this. It has always amazed me how this community builds up and how much I look forward to reading their comments.
    As for age forget all about it, just keep doing all the things that you want to. Even at my age I have a role model, he is in our cycling club and in his 78th year. Believe me you have to go some to keep up with him. As he says he cant stop, and why should he.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
September 2007
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Feeds


