Wonky is Genetic

September 20, 2007 at 4:57 pm 11 comments

With just 41 days until Halloween it witch.jpgwas time to break out the scary decorations.  It just so happens that this witch is exactly the same height as the baby, Brendolyn.  She spent several days standingbren-september-first.jpg in front of her saying “up” or “nana”, but the old hag refused to answer.  She tried the rest of her vocabulary on her… “mama”…nothing from the witch.  She smiled at her, made fish faces, blew kisses…darn witch still wouldn’t answer.  This baffled our baby, everyone talks to her!  In sheer frustration she chucked her Papaw’s shoe at the silent witch hard enough to knock her off her crock.   “Uh-Oh” she said to the witch on the floor.  “Up?” 

Plans for the Grandgirl’s annual Halloween halloween-party.jpgSpooktacular are in full swing.  Pop-Up Invitations this year.  It should be interesting pulling this off.  Last year we had the big house, this year we have their mother’s small apartment…hmmm…they have 60 invitations ready to send (two classrooms of kids and assorted cousins).  We should perhaps be wishing they are aren’t popular so very few will come. 

P.S. to my dear friend Gawpo:  While the laws in Oregon are much better than mine here in Ohio, you gave us the keys we needed to make law enforcement know we were serious and watching them.  Thank you. 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

A Landmark and Middle Age Disrespect

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Linda  |  September 20, 2007 at 6:56 pm

    With the slight chill that has been in the air the past few nights, I start to long for Halloween. Have fun planning.

    I am in the midst of birthday party hoopla. Sophia’s 4th birthday is tomorrow and her party in on Saturday. She is having a Pirate party. It should be interesting!!!

    Reply
  • 2. lauraj  |  September 20, 2007 at 7:24 pm

    Ohhh that sounds like so much fun! I want an invite! I do love halloween these past few years. I don’t decorate until October 1st though. Geesh it’s just too early yet! lol.
    That little grandbaby is just a hoot! That had me laughing.

    Reply
  • 3. Rhea  |  September 20, 2007 at 8:15 pm

    I love Halloween. I’ve been giving big parties for years.

    Reply
  • 4. katcampbell  |  September 20, 2007 at 9:51 pm

    Linda – Happy Birthday to Sophia! 4 is fun. Juliette turned 4 this summer and we have a whole different girl.

    Laura J – Pack up Aaron and come on over for the party!

    Rhea – Halloween is my second favorite holiday. Pap and I used to do killer adult parties but now we let our kids do that, and we spend our efforts on their kids.

    Reply
  • 5. katherine.  |  September 20, 2007 at 10:03 pm

    what a great story with Brendolyn…

    Halloween…already…where did the year go?

    Reply
  • 6. colleen  |  September 20, 2007 at 10:48 pm

    I haven’t begun to think about Halloween but I do find myself thinking about Christmas! I think I should stay at the Hotel Floyd, just sleep in the bed their for a few days.

    Reply
  • 7. QuillDancer  |  September 20, 2007 at 10:49 pm

    I love when babies do that stuff. I had a very real looking ceramic kitten that my ex’s grandson got very frustrated with because it would not come to him (he was in a playpen and couldn’t go to it).

    Reply
  • 8. Nessa  |  September 20, 2007 at 11:01 pm

    I love Halloween. Yours sounds like fun.

    Reply
  • 9. jon M  |  September 21, 2007 at 1:32 am

    Hee! Nice one. 60 kids? That’s going to be cosy! We are more low key about Hallowe’en over here but I still love it.

    Reply
  • 10. katcampbell  |  September 21, 2007 at 3:00 am

    Katherine – Brendolyn is a fountain of stories. What a little character.

    Colleen – Christmas is only 97 days away (my first favorite holiday).

    Quilly – How funny! I love this age when they don’t know the difference between fantasy and reality. Doesn’t last long unfortunately.

    Nessa – It is fun! Come on down, you can help me make monster joe’s and mummy finger cookies. Yum!

    Jon – No matter how popular these girls are, we won’t get all 60 thank goodness. I’m hoping for an even dozen.

    Reply
  • 11. hammer  |  September 21, 2007 at 6:07 am

    That’s cute. I like it when kids think halloween decorations are real 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
September 2007
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Feeds


