Water Everywhere & News from The Lions

September 24, 2007 at 9:23 pm 18 comments

Growing up in California we were frequently cautioned that the San Andreas fault would someday cause our sunny state to fall straight off into the ocean.  As kids we’d alternately have nightmares from this news or poo-poo it, depending on how many little earthquakes we’d had in the preceeding weeks.

Today scientists are telling us that the effects of global warming will cause the oceans to rise 39 inches.  It isn’t a matter of “will” it happen, but “when”.  Some say 50 years, some say 150 and there are plenty of estimations inbetween.  Since science also says there’s nothing anyone can do to stop it at this point, we need only think about how a rise of 39 inches changes the face of America.  Louisiana could become the new lost city of Atlantis, the silicon valley would be underwater and anyone working on Wall Street will most likely need to boat in to work every morning.  Who knew that my home in the heart of the midwest could someday become beach front property?

Attention all Members of the shameless-lion.jpgShameless Lions Writing Circle – Seamus has announced a new writing project, very cool.  Click on over there and read up.  Ecanus and I are looking forward to playing and I hope you will too.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Disrespect Shoes

18 Comments Add your own

  • 1. lauraj  |  September 24, 2007 at 10:05 pm

    I don’t think it will happen all of a sudden. I think it will happen gradually and those who do live near water will just slowly have to pack up and move back to drier higher land.
    I’m thinking we should have stayed in those mountains 20 years ago.

    Reply
  • 2. tony  |  September 24, 2007 at 10:47 pm

    That would be awesome! At 13 ft. above sea level here in Melbourne, FL…I’m in on that tidbit of info. I’m gonna start saving for my sailboat immediately!

    Reply
  • 3. katherine.  |  September 24, 2007 at 11:39 pm

    hmmm…so when my home is underwater…can I come live with you? laughing…

    Reply
  • 4. katcampbell  |  September 25, 2007 at 12:03 am

    Laura J – The scientists led me to believe it will be more sudden than you think. Like during a spring melt off.

    Tony – LOL! Absolutely.

    Katherine – Sure, there’s always room for more Kat’s at my house!

    Reply
  • 5. Nessa  |  September 25, 2007 at 1:46 am

    We need pontoons, Well, I won’t. I’ll be dead. I need to make more money so my daughter can have pontoons.

    Reply
  • 6. stacy  |  September 25, 2007 at 2:31 am

    I remember being taught in school that California would just fall off the continent one day thanks to a big earthquake. However, I also remember being taught (by people with straight faces) that by the year 2000 we would have colonies on the moon, cities under the oceans, and we’d all be tooling around in Jetson bubble cars. Seems they were a bit off. Maybe they’re off on this one, too.

    Reply
  • 7. Wanderlust Scarlett  |  September 25, 2007 at 2:37 am

    Remember earthquake drills in school? When I moved from California to the midwest, none of the other kids believed me…

    I can’t wait for the lions writing project!

    Scarlett & Viaggiatore

    Reply
  • 8. katcampbell  |  September 25, 2007 at 3:20 am

    Nessa – LOL! Move inland my friend! Lots of room here in Ohio.

    Stacy – We were taught all that stuff too, and maybe this is just alarmism. But I keep always in the back of my mind how much technology has changed since my childhood.

    Scarlett – Earthquake drills! I do remember, I was always worrying about my panties showing when we had to hunker down under our desks.

    Reply
  • 9. QuillDancer  |  September 25, 2007 at 4:09 am

    I have some ocean front property in Arizona. From my front porch you can see the sea ….

    Reply
  • 10. dew  |  September 25, 2007 at 4:40 am

    I’m excited about the new lions project, too!

    I’m always astounded at the dangerous places people build houses. On the edges of cliffs, where mudslides happen, etc.

    Reply
  • 11. Linda  |  September 25, 2007 at 6:11 am

    I always knew that I would prefer living in the mountains.

    Reply
  • 12. Gawpo  |  September 25, 2007 at 6:44 am

    I live alone.

    On a hill.

    And I would welcome a shorter trip to the ocean.

    Reply
  • 13. katcampbell  |  September 25, 2007 at 7:20 am

    Quilly – Hmmm…makes you wonder just WHO will be beach front if this actually comes to pass.

    Dew – Isn’t it nuts? We lived on a hill in California when I was kid famous for mud slides. I think my parents must have smoked alot of something you can’t get at Walgreens.

    Linda – its not too late. Call a realtor.

    Gawpo – If you can just hang on for 50 more years your wish may come true.

    Reply
  • 14. Dave M  |  September 25, 2007 at 10:44 am

    If you look at the UK caost line about 500 years ago some towns that were on the coast then are now a few miles inland. So maybe the land will just return to what it was. Still frightening though.

    Reply
  • 15. Mr. Fabulous  |  September 25, 2007 at 3:54 pm

    Hmm….maybe I will have a shorted drive to the beach..

    Reply
  • 16. Delmonti (Dave)  |  September 25, 2007 at 5:54 pm

    as I’m a Piscean will I be ok?….. on a serious note, I only now flush for number 2’s

    Reply
  • 17. colleen  |  September 25, 2007 at 6:07 pm

    Some moved to the Blue Ridge Mountains, where I live now, for that very reason. Back then the earth changes were predictions now it is a forecast. It’s very sad that as a species we are so short sighted, or that those in power are.

    Reply
  • 18. hammer  |  September 25, 2007 at 8:38 pm

    I think my house would gain value by becoming ocean front property.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
September 2007
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Feeds


