Try, Try Again

October 7, 2007 at 5:40 pm 13 comments

The e-mail has arrived announcing auditions for the Community Theatre’s annual Christmas production.  You might remember my attempts to participate from last years post, and that “Performing in a Community Theater Play” is one of the 100 things I want to do before I die.  You might also remember that I didn’t reach that goal last year.  If you don’t, good.  I hate spectators at my failures.

I know everyone likes music, myself included, but I CAN NOT SING.  My own grandchildren, once they’ve accumulated sufficient vocabulary to clearly express themselves, beg me to stop singing on those rare occasions I decide to exercise my vocal chords.  I can, however, ACT.  According to this e-mail inviting me to auditions, there is an actual play happening in this year’s production – not the “musical review” they did last year.  We will see.  I’m taking Jazz and Bri along just in case, those grandgirls CAN sing. 

There’s a collective writing project going on at The Shameless Lion’s Writing Circle.   Pop over there for a sneak peek at the story in progress.  Plenty of intrique going on.

Now that I babysit the grandgirls two nights a week and on the weekends so their mother can work, I have to applaud all of you with children at home that still manage to keep up with your blog.  When do you sleep?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Resolution Bees Get More Rest

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. rel  |  October 7, 2007 at 7:18 pm

    Kat,
    Good luck with your audition. One of the funest things I’ve ever done is act in community theater productions. SometimesI sing too.
    rel

    Reply
  • 2. Absolute Vanilla... (& Atyllah)  |  October 7, 2007 at 9:43 pm

    Good luck with the audition – I suppose it’s too early to say “break a leg” – hope it goes really well and that you have loads of fun!
    Am reminded of, “can’t act but can sing and dance a little” – you need your own version 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. QuillDancer  |  October 7, 2007 at 10:00 pm

    I wanna sing and dance. I wanna sing and dance. I wanna be a Pirate in the Pirates of Pennziance …. When I would sing at Sidewalk Sunday School, my sound mixer would turn off my mic. sigh But I’m a great actress so it was always a fun scene.

    I hope you get the part!

    Reply
  • 4. lauraj  |  October 7, 2007 at 10:32 pm

    I sleep very little. But they are so worth it!!

    Reply
  • 5. Hayden  |  October 7, 2007 at 11:31 pm

    woo-hoo, it’s christmas pagent time again! as I recall, you DIDN’T fail last year. You had to take a powder.

    I’m rooting you on….

    Reply
  • 6. Catch  |  October 8, 2007 at 1:05 am

    I am 59 years old and I feel like I still have children at home…and I do…lol. Since Ash and Gaige have moved back in I babysit 3 ( or 4) days a week, she gets home at 5 and he is all hers!!!! lol…then its my time! Actually its almost easier with them living here, all of his things are here and he is settled. I like going to bed at night having them safe under my roof!

    Reply
  • 7. katcampbell  |  October 8, 2007 at 1:26 am

    Rel – Thanks! I bet you really can sing though…I’m a barking dog.

    Vanilla – Thanks for encouragement! I have fun wherever I go.

    Quilly – Non-singers of the world UNITE!

    Laura J – You’re one of those blogging mothers I so admire. Tough getting it all done.

    Hayden – Good memory! True, I had to drop out last year because the grandgirls moved in. That’s why they’re going to be in it this year with me, no worries about babysitters.

    Catch – Amazing energy…maybe I’m just not organizing myself properly.

    Reply
  • 8. Jamaican Dawta  |  October 8, 2007 at 5:57 pm

    All the very best with your audition. I’m not surprised that you can act. From your writings, you strike me as a very dramatic person 🙂

    BTW, how does one become a member of the Shameless Lion Writers’ Circle? Is it open to persons outside of the US?

    Reply
  • 9. Janet  |  October 8, 2007 at 6:15 pm

    Good luck with the audition!

    Reply
  • 10. katherine.  |  October 8, 2007 at 10:29 pm

    I cannot sing at all either….my mama….my daughter…solo quality.

    another one of those things that skipped a generation.

    Reply
  • 11. Dave M  |  October 8, 2007 at 11:10 pm

    Do you have some pre printed Oscar nomination forms? Good luck with the audition……………..move over Meryl Streep.

    Reply
  • 12. Jon M  |  October 9, 2007 at 12:37 pm

    Time gets squashed alright! I’m doing this just before rushing off to work!

    Reply
  • 13. hammer  |  October 9, 2007 at 9:05 pm

    I hope it works out and you can post the video 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
October 2007
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Feeds


