A Cautionary Tale

October 12, 2007 at 3:40 pm 19 comments

***EDIT ADDED AFTER MY MORNING PEPSI:   I’m mostly whining kidding in this post, time spent on my grandgirls is treasured time to me.  I love being the first to know they hate Bratz dolls now and love High School Musical instead.  If somebody made me choose between being a writer or being the cool Grandmother – I’d stick with being a grandma.  Besides, I’m sure all this effort will get me a better nursing home than the other grandma.  :>)

For all of you out there eyeballing your half grown children or infant grandchildren and dreaming about being the cool grandparent…just stop it.  Save yourself now, fake a kneck injury or something.  Being the cool grandparent is just plain work.  Back breaking, brain busting, time consuming work. 

While I am up to my hairline in pattern pieces and satin pirate pants, the other grandmother is having a pedicure.  During her spa day.  With the money she didn’t spend on plastic spiders and talking skeletons for the little darling’s Halloween party. 

I’ve been sneezing out pink fur from a poodle costume for three days.  My office is so littered with pins, bits of fabric, half finished costumes and boxes of party supplies I can’t find my work.  She’s settling into her easy chair surrounded by sparkling windows and the smell of furniture polish. 

In two weeks I’ll be attempting to keep 60 screaming kids, hyped up on sugar, from tearing my daughter’s home to shreds.  The other grandmother will be sitting down to tea with her friends.  She doesn’t have to keep her favorite novels in a box to make room for the coloring books, Polly Pockets and Fisher Price cell phone on the bookcase. 

That other grandmother is living the good life and she’ll get the same plaster of paris handprint I get for Christmas. 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Bees Get More Rest Influenced By:

19 Comments Add your own

  • 1. lauraj  |  October 12, 2007 at 5:38 pm

    But they’ll remember YOU best and all the fond creative memories you make with them. For a grandma … YOU ROCK!!!

    I’m the cool aunt…my nieces have aunts on thier mother’s side who do just what you said the other grandma does…my nieces don’t like them very much…but they adore me. It’s fun to be adored eh??

    Reply
  • 2. hammer  |  October 12, 2007 at 5:38 pm

    My mother in law is a seamstress and makes 6 complicated costumes each year from scratch. My mother mails a box of candy.

    I wonder which grandmother the kids will remember and cherish the most…

    Reply
  • 3. katcampbell  |  October 12, 2007 at 7:23 pm

    Laura J and Hammer – You guys really know how to put things into perspective, don’t cha! :>)

    Reply
  • 4. Mr. Fabulous  |  October 12, 2007 at 7:32 pm

    I agree with the first two peeps. I hear a lot of people talk about their favorite aunt growing up or their favorite grandparent.

    That’s gonna be YOU. You are the one helping to shape their lives, creating precious memories, instilling in them the right values and attitudes.

    You got the MUCH better deal.

    Reply
  • 5. bobciz  |  October 12, 2007 at 7:53 pm

    The grandkids won’t even remember what the other grandma looks like, but they will see you in every costume, school project, and handmade gift they help their grandkids make in years to come. Nice legacy.

    Reply
  • 6. guyana-gyal  |  October 12, 2007 at 7:54 pm

    They’ll be fetching your walking stick for you, not for the other grandma. Have fun!

    Reply
  • 7. katcampbell  |  October 12, 2007 at 8:19 pm

    Bob – Thanks.

    GG – How nice to see you out and about!

    Reply
  • 8. katherine.  |  October 12, 2007 at 11:30 pm

    I still soooo wanna be the cool gma!

    (maybe you won’t need the home…..)

    Reply
  • 9. Jamaican Dawta  |  October 13, 2007 at 2:10 am

    Ah, but she’s missing out on all that precious bonding experience. Who do you think they’re going to remember the most? The one who was there with them, and for them – you.

    Take heart, when they’re grown, they’ll probably surprise you with some unexpected pampering 🙂

    Reply
  • 10. QuillDancer  |  October 13, 2007 at 11:18 am

    The gifts may be the same, but the love behind them won’t be. All of their lives they will remember and treasure you.
    the real rewards aren’t the hand prints in plaster; they are the impressions being made on beating hearts — both theirs and yours.

    Reply
  • 11. Catch  |  October 13, 2007 at 12:35 pm

    Oh Kat…our grandkids are gonna remember us for a long long time…and we will be the cool grandmas forever. AS my 20 year old granddaughter said to me….Grandma, your so cool..you are the only grandma I ever heard of who has a tattoo on her butt! LoL

    Reply
  • 12. Jon M  |  October 13, 2007 at 11:53 pm

    “sneezing out pink fur from a poodle costume” loved it! These things always catch me (I’m a parent, not Grand yet!) by surprise. Like: “I need to be a character from a book” is announced 25 minutes before school!

    Reply
  • 13. nessa  |  October 15, 2007 at 1:58 am

    The other Grandma’s life sounds boring.

    Reply
  • 14. Shameless  |  October 15, 2007 at 5:13 am

    Priceless! 🙂

    Reply
  • 15. Delmonti (Dave)  |  October 15, 2007 at 2:33 pm

    …..marvelous!…..

    the memory that lives on in those kids is what will keep you alive……long after you’ve gone.

    Reply
  • 16. Absolute Vanilla... (& Atyllah)  |  October 15, 2007 at 6:13 pm

    Brilliant post, Kat, made me laugh out loud!
    Psst, I’m sure sneezing out pink poodle fur must have been more than just ticklish! 🙂

    Reply
  • 17. Janet  |  October 17, 2007 at 8:26 am

    oh, the cool grandma always gets remembered! Good luck with the costumes, will you post photos?

    Reply
  • 18. J.  |  October 17, 2007 at 7:20 pm

    She’s not living the good life though. She’s totally missing out.
    And you, my friend, are the bomb.

    Reply
  • 19. Gela Words  |  October 25, 2007 at 4:36 am

    Hehe, I love that post. I wish I knew that I was going to be a grandmother, cool or otherwise – I’m still looking for a father-to-be. Sigh. Where are the men?

    I’m still alive Kat. Somehow I can’t seem to find the time to scratch my head, much less blog, I still try and read some. It doesn’t help that I’ve taken up teaching in addition to my full-time job.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
October 2007
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Feeds


