Trick or Treat

November 1, 2007 at 2:02 pm 12 comments

Another Halloween for the record books.  Wouldn’t you know that the one year I caved in and agreed to make not one, but two furry costumes (a nightmare to sew on, totally screws up my machine), it was the hottest Halloween in Ohio, I think, ever.  69 degrees.  They could have trick or treated in their blog-halloween-ayla.jpgswimsuits. 

blog-halloween-jazz-and-bri.jpgblog-bren.jpghalloween-blog-juliette.jpg

In order of appearance:  Ayla the Pink Poodle with her mother dressed as a cat, Briauna the vampire with Jazzmin a Rockin 50’s girl, Brendolynn as herself (an organ grinders MONKEY) and Juliette, our fiersome pirate. 

Just sixty days until I unofficially leave my day job.  I’ll work, sorta, for another sixty wrapping up my year end reporting and on March lst, I’ll officially be done.  Already things are weird at the office.  My assistant is taking over my job and  entered full panic zone as of yesterday.  Everyone thinks they want to be the big dog until they look at the “to-do” list…suddenly it isn’t fun and games any more.  Next week we move into our new building.  More weirdness.  It didn’t make any sense to me to take residence of my positions office for three months, so my assistant will take the office intended for me, the new girl will move into what was supposed to be the assistant’s office and I’ll be the ghost in the basement archives.  Don’t feel too sorry for me though, the archives of this new building is beautiful.  Lushly carpeted, bright and filled with beautiful shelving and the 100 years plus of old records filled with the names of people, like me, who kept this little government running all these years.  But it will still be weird down there all alone.  I’m very social. 

I hope everyone had a safe and enjoyable Halloween.  My daughter has assumed the role of Thanksgiving Hostess, so that leaves me free to plan the social engagements for Christmas.  Woo-Hoo! 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

What Love Looks Like The Oogie Factor

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Delmonti (Dave)  |  November 1, 2007 at 2:41 pm

    first again? whats going on? I’m feeling like a stalker now.

    Anyhow, marvelous pictures Kat…. Once again you’ve pulled all the stops out.

    Halloween…. as a kid, no-one did “Trick or Treat” in the UK, and it’s still a rare thing.
    My little Em did get dressed up tho along with some of her school friends and went out and about “Trick or Treating” witrh a few grownups… going mostly to other parents homes to do the deed.

    It still feels wrong to me tho’…. not cos of the “pagan” thing, but more to do with it being…..errrmmmm…… “not British”..

    I know….. bloody Limeys!

    Reply
  • 2. lauraj  |  November 1, 2007 at 5:13 pm

    Another Holiday down…2 more to go!! You rocked those costumes! Kudos to you for making 5??!! I made one and I’m exhausted!
    It seems just yesterday you were counting 200 and 60 days! Time flies!

    Reply
  • 3. stacy  |  November 1, 2007 at 8:01 pm

    The costumes look great and the kiddos are so cute. I love that pink poodle! The organ grinder’s monkey would have been a good one for my daughter.

    Reply
  • 4. katcampbell  |  November 1, 2007 at 8:47 pm

    Dave – Well if I’m gonna have a stalker, I’m glad its you! I never liked trick or treating when I was a kid. Assaulted my dignity to have to beg for anything. But I’ve ALWAYS loved costumes. What did Emily dress up as?

    Laura – The vampire was easy and so was the poodle skirt, so I only suffered through the pirate, poodle and monkey.

    Stacy – I loved that poodle costume, if it came in my size that’s what I’d be next year.

    Reply
  • 5. janwilliams  |  November 1, 2007 at 9:50 pm

    Great job on the costumes. Creative and well designed

    Reply
  • 6. katcampbell  |  November 1, 2007 at 10:54 pm

    Thanks Jan! I can take credit only for the labor, the design came from McCalls or Simplicity.

    Reply
  • 7. Shameless  |  November 2, 2007 at 2:13 am

    Wow, you did a wonderful job! 🙂

    Reply
  • 8. Linda  |  November 2, 2007 at 6:09 am

    I loved the costumes. My daughter was a black cat and my son was Elvis. We had some friends over to trick or treat and the kids had so much fun. Today they were both cranky though. Thanks for sharing the pics.

    Reply
  • 9. QuillDancer  |  November 2, 2007 at 7:31 am

    I lost two night’s sleep over one costume. Five would have put me in my grave!

    Reply
  • 10. Tim Id  |  November 2, 2007 at 9:02 am

    Totally dig that Organ Grinder Monkey costume. Maybe next year I’ll be an Organ Grinder and Enya-Maria can be my monkey 🙂

    Reply
  • 11. katherine.  |  November 3, 2007 at 5:15 am

    those are GREAT! I look forward to being a Gramma and getting the costumes done early….smile!

    Reply
  • 12. zhadi  |  November 25, 2007 at 9:46 am

    Awwwww! Nothing says Halloween like little kids all decked out for trick’or’treating! Up here in San Francisco there were plent of adults decked out, but not nearly enough kids in my neighborhood. I had to make due with photos of my niece as a 1 3/4 year old Carmen Miranda…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
November 2007
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Feeds


