The Oogie Factor

November 2, 2007 at 4:50 pm 17 comments

This is my middle daughter, Sheena. sheena.jpg She’s a social worker, employed at a facility that houses teenaged boys with severe behavorial problems.  She has a big, strapping boyfriend and was an athlete in high school and college.  Sheena has been fiercely independant since she was about three.  While she’s an excellent daughter, generous and loving, she hasn’t needed anything from me, financial or emotional, for years.  Until last night.  What, you may ask, could turn this strong, powerful young woman into a quivering pile of mommy needing jello? 

Well it was this:chicken.jpg

an uncooked chicken.  She and strapping boyfriend could not wash or stuff this chicken because “it looks too much like a chicken.”  City kids, sheesh. 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Trick or Treat Dust to Dust

17 Comments Add your own

  • 1. guyana-gyal  |  November 2, 2007 at 6:50 pm

    hahahahaha my first laugh for today!

    But I won’t lie, it took me a lonnnng while to be able to wash and cook that animal too. And now, even though I don’t eat meat, I cook it for others. But I AIN’T TOUCHING IT. I wear gloves…yeah, go on, laugh!

    Reply
  • 2. lauraj  |  November 2, 2007 at 7:26 pm

    sometimes i gag myself silly with chicken….ugggh just thinking about cleaning a chicken makes me all grossed out!

    Reply
  • 3. Jamaican Dawta  |  November 2, 2007 at 8:08 pm

    ROTFL!

    Thank God I’m now a vegetarian-almost-vegan. But when I was a meat eater, I used to HATE having to clean and cut up a chicken. No wonder I flunked biology, lol.

    Reply
  • 4. hammer  |  November 2, 2007 at 9:22 pm

    I’m a vegetarian but I can usually take those suckers apart and cook them just fine. as long as I have tongs and a sharp knife 🙂

    Reply
  • 5. Dave M  |  November 2, 2007 at 10:48 pm

    Well just thank god it looked like a chicken. My daughters a vegetarian and cant cook or touch meat. She doesn’t even like the smell when passing a butchers shop.

    Reply
  • 6. thecrazydotter  |  November 2, 2007 at 11:45 pm

    Oh my sympathies are completely with him! I can’t even bear to look at a meat shop when I pass by one. And yes, I am veg

    Reply
  • 7. frothingatlemouse  |  November 3, 2007 at 5:18 am

    Omg. This is too funny. I remember the first time I cooked Rock Cornish Gamehens. I felt like crying. These itty bitty birdie bodies. snort

    Reply
  • 8. stacy  |  November 3, 2007 at 8:19 pm

    You gotta love our kids. My son is also very independent and could not wait to “get the hell out” the minute he turned 18, but when it comes to the kitchen……he’s actually called for directions to make Hamburger Helper and they’re printed right on the box.

    Reply
  • 9. bobciz  |  November 3, 2007 at 9:45 pm

    Did you ever notice those tiny little hairs that sometimes still cling to the naked chicken. Now that’s really appetizing.

    Reply
  • 10. Absolute Vanilla... (& Atyllah)  |  November 3, 2007 at 11:16 pm

    I love it – said she who recently removed her hands from the insides of chicken and filled it nicely with garlic, thyme, rosemary, oregano and sage…

    Reply
  • 11. QuillDancer  |  November 4, 2007 at 2:01 am

    Perhaps then they shouldn’t eat it, either? LOL 😀

    Reply
  • 12. Jon M  |  November 4, 2007 at 5:33 pm

    I can remember when I first started dating my wife and we had to help out on the farm she lived on. No room for sqeamish there, especially plucking and dressing Turkeys for Christmas! Kids today huh? 🙂

    Reply
  • 13. hayden  |  November 5, 2007 at 1:17 am

    roflmao!

    way too funny. Did you force them to watch?

    Just sitting down after removing skin and fat from duck legs, deboneing a wild goose breast, cutting skin/fat up for rendering, bones in the pot for stock, and legs and breast spiced and salted, returned to fridge. Something tells me that they wouldn’t have had fun in my kitchen today.

    but that’s ok, I did.

    Reply
  • 14. Janet  |  November 5, 2007 at 8:56 am

    It’s kind of icky, but the trick is not to think about it too much. Actually I only did it once-to a turkey-but I prefer pieces, they’re easier to deal with.

    She’s lucky she doesn’t have to wring its neck and pluck it first!

    Reply
  • 15. Mr. Fabulous  |  November 6, 2007 at 5:01 am

    My first reaction was to mock, but then I realized that I have never cleaned a chicken before…

    Reply
  • 16. colleen  |  November 7, 2007 at 7:37 pm

    My son called me once to ask how to make a beef stew. I was thrilled!

    Reply
  • 17. Gela Words  |  November 11, 2007 at 6:45 am

    Haha. that’s so funny. Teehee

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
November 2007
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Feeds


