Going on Strike

December 27, 2007 at 5:45 pm 14 comments

Why is it that I’m the only person in my household that knows how to put the new toilet paper back on the holder?  Three adults live in this house AND YET…I seem to be the only one who knows how to replace the paper towels, throw away the empty shampoo bottles or load the dishwasher. 

Maybe they’re geniouses…these tasks are too simple for their complex minds.  But wait, their clothes match and they understand The Simpsons…that can’t be it. 

Perhaps these items are too heavy for them to lift…nope, both of them are heaving those ceramic steins around with just three fingers on one hand. 

Could it be they think its MY JOB?!  It’s not going to be pretty around this joint for a couple of days.  I feel a New Year’s Resolution coming on. 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

MIA New Year, New Life

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Dave M  |  December 27, 2007 at 11:51 pm

    We had a similar situation a while back when some of the kids friends came to stay for a summer. There were four graduates and not one could change a toilet roll. So I had to take them all to the bathroom, give them a step by step guide and then got them to demonstrate………..just so I could evaluate their level of understanding.
    At the end of the day though Kat, they still dont think its their job.

    Reply
  • 2. Zhadi  |  December 27, 2007 at 11:59 pm

    I have lived in a household like that, Kat. I used to hide the toilet paper.

    Reply
  • 3. LauraJ  |  December 28, 2007 at 1:38 am

    I came by last night but had no energy to type a thing. I’m running out of steam now as I type this, lol. I want to wish you a very belated Christmas. I knew something was missing in my bloglines but couldn’t put my finger on it. Then when you posted I thought oh that’s it!! So happy to hear from you. Now I totally agree with this going on strike thing. Unfortunately nothing would get done around here if I went on strike.

    Reply
  • 4. katcampbell  |  December 28, 2007 at 2:39 am

    Dave – Oh no, you mean there’s actually no hope?

    Dana – Now there’s an idea! Except then they’d just sit in there on the throne and scream for me to bring them toilet paper.

    Laura J – Get some sleep!

    Reply
  • 5. Delmonti (Dave)  |  December 28, 2007 at 2:55 am

    It’s all in the detail…. I too seem to be the only one who can replace the loo roll on its holder correctly. When will this torment ever stop?

    Reply
  • 6. katherine.  |  December 28, 2007 at 3:29 am

    take pictures…..laughing

    Reply
  • 7. hayden  |  December 28, 2007 at 5:12 am

    kat, maybe it’s ok if nothing gets done. Maybe that’s exactly what it will take to get them to carry their own weight. wishing you the best with this battle!

    Reply
  • 8. QuillDancer  |  December 28, 2007 at 6:03 am

    Kat — tell them you need help, then when you don’t get it, go on strike. Completely. When someone asks what’s for dinner, you ask, what are you cooking? Etc.

    Reply
  • 9. Absolute Vanilla (and Atyllah)  |  December 28, 2007 at 3:04 pm

    LOL! Ah yes, retraining the household into acceptable behaviour. You realise of course that they only do it because they can, because you let them? Hmm, yes, a New Year’s resolution is definitely needed! 🙂

    Reply
  • 10. katcampbell  |  December 28, 2007 at 4:57 pm

    Delmonti – You actually know how to change the roll? That’s it, I’m adopting you.

    Kat – I’m not sure I want to leave any evidence of the wooping I’m gonna put on these two lazy bums.

    Hayden – My thinking exactly. Life is short, I have better things to do than housework.

    Quilly – Hmmm…a wonderfully evil plan.

    AV – Gee, thanks AV, so this is my fault?! LOL – of course, you’re right.

    Reply
  • 11. hammer  |  December 28, 2007 at 5:22 pm

    I’ve got the exact same problem.

    I’ve started assigning the kids, toilet paper roll job, emptying trash can job and put the dishes in the sink job.

    It’s actually more work chasing them around and making them do it.

    Reply
  • 12. Mr. Fabulous  |  December 28, 2007 at 5:39 pm

    Let’s see…the empty shampoo bottles go IN the dishwasher, right?

    Reply
  • 13. guyana-gyal  |  January 4, 2008 at 11:23 pm

    tee hee you sound like my friend, Annie, how she quarrels when she has to clean, she hates it ’cause the others don’t do their share.

    Reply
  • 14. anhinga  |  January 7, 2008 at 4:30 am

    Have you ever seen a bachlelor’s place, or divorced guy like my son? They just don’t friggin care. The tools from the last tile job are still in the bathtub, no towel to dry your hands on–if you had soap to wash them. You know what they thought? Somehow Mother would always be there to fill the toilet roll, replace the soap, put clean towels up. It didn’t happen and they don’t care. But hey, look at the giant TV setup and the super stereo. It’s happening, man. I’m sorry, it’s genetic, that stupid chromosone.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
December 2007
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Feeds


