New Year, New Life

December 29, 2007 at 7:36 pm 23 comments

What a bundle of nerves I am this weekend. The advent of change is nearly palpable in my house.  Once the clock ticks over to 2008, the real countdown to my new life begins.  I won’t be sad to shut the book on 2007, what a crappy year.  

I don’t make new year’s resolutions.   When my kids were all at home, we were the New Year’s Eve party house.  Two non-drinking parents in attendance- everyone gave us their kids.   Pap and I always went all out, punch in champagne glasses, crazy games, balloons on the ceiling, and at midnight – the clean slate celebration.  Whenever a year rolled over, we forgave all our kids transgressions from the previous year, no matter how heinous.  They loved this ceremony, and most of them took full advantage of the opportunity to start over in our good graces. 

Considering how things went down around this place in 2007, I think I’ll see if Pap wants to revive the old clean slate ceremony.  Even if it is just the two of us now.

Happy New Year everybody! 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Going on Strike Still Random in 08

23 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Hayden  |  December 30, 2007 at 12:29 am

    It’s GOT to be smoother in 2007 – you’ve had a really rough year! I love the clean slate ceremony – great idea. Best wishes to you, Kat!

    Reply
  • 2. QuillDancer  |  December 30, 2007 at 2:26 am

    Here’s to clean slates, new beginnings and the birth of a new year.

    Reply
  • 3. LauraJ  |  December 30, 2007 at 2:38 am

    I hope you get a nice kiss at midnight! Happy New Year Kat!!

    Reply
  • 4. John Linna  |  December 30, 2007 at 5:31 am

    I also love the clean slate ceremony. It reminds me of what God does for me every day.

    Reply
  • 5. Mr. Fabulous  |  December 30, 2007 at 6:23 pm

    I say, why not! Go for it!

    Reply
  • 6. Catch  |  December 31, 2007 at 12:19 am

    what a wonderful ceremony Kat…..your place sounds like the place to start off the New Year! God bless!

    Reply
  • 7. stacy  |  December 31, 2007 at 3:00 am

    Sorry to hear you’ve been so sick, Kat, but so glad you are feeling better. I love the clean slate idea. We should all get to start the new year fresh.

    Reply
  • 8. hammer  |  December 31, 2007 at 4:42 am

    The clean slate sounds like a good idea. It would help my state of mind that’s for sure.

    Reply
  • 9. bettygram  |  December 31, 2007 at 10:53 am

    I also like the clean slate idea.
    Have a Happy New Year!

    Reply
  • 10. Delmonti (Dave)  |  December 31, 2007 at 3:55 pm

    Sounds like a plan there Kat. A hope everything turns out the way you want.

    Reply
  • 11. Gawpo  |  January 1, 2008 at 2:20 am

    Party on, then. And happy slate wiping, too. You are the best. G

    Reply
  • 12. rel  |  January 1, 2008 at 3:13 am

    Kat,
    That’s the best idea for New Years that I’ve ever heard!
    Need to make that a trdition in our house.
    rel

    Reply
  • 13. Linda  |  January 1, 2008 at 4:51 am

    Happy New Year, Kat!! I hope that all goes the way that you wish.

    Reply
  • 14. Janet  |  January 1, 2008 at 5:19 am

    That is great, a clean-slate ceremony!

    Happy New Year!

    Reply
  • 15. Barb  |  January 1, 2008 at 7:19 am

    dear friend.
    this is going to be our year yet again !
    the countdown has begun once more.
    New Year’s Eve. 2208 we will make a whole lot of new traditions, that will be a first for all of us.
    Love to Pap Princess and the clan.
    This is one year that just has to fly.
    Luv Ya
    Barb

    Reply
  • 16. frothingatlemouse  |  January 2, 2008 at 2:23 am

    Happy New Year, Kat! I hope the coming year gives you peace and serenity and all sorts of other good stuff. And the wherewithal to deal with everything else!

    Reply
  • 17. nessa  |  January 2, 2008 at 3:03 am

    I wish you a very Happy New Year and hope all of your changes are good ones.

    Reply
  • 18. Velvet Sacks  |  January 2, 2008 at 7:07 am

    Kat, it’s wonderful to see you back here again. I hope your 2008 will kick sand in the face of last year. Happy New Year!

    Reply
  • 19. Jon M  |  January 2, 2008 at 9:05 pm

    Goodest luck in 2008, Kat!

    Reply
  • 20. Zhadi  |  January 3, 2008 at 12:25 am

    Happy New Year, Kat, and may 2008 be a whole new slate filled with good things!

    Reply
  • 21. puresunshine  |  January 3, 2008 at 5:11 pm

    Best wishes for the new year!!

    Reply
  • 22. guyana-gyal  |  January 4, 2008 at 11:17 pm

    So many people have had a rough 2007! My family had it so bad last year, it was like bad after bad rolling in.

    Hope you have a great ’08, Kat, you, Pap and the rest of your family, hope your slate is filled with good this year.

    Reply
  • 23. katherine.  |  January 7, 2008 at 8:43 am

    I love the clean slate idea….wishing you a wonderful 08!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
December 2007
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Feeds


