Still Random in 08

January 7, 2008 at 9:12 am 10 comments

Princess, my baby, turned 21 on January 3rd.  At her age I was married with my first child on the way, working full time and taking care of a house and garden.  She lives at home, piddles her way through college and spends her part-time job money on clothes, shoes, movies, music and general goofing off.  She wonders why I’m cranky.

The Victorias Secret semi-annual sale was also last week.  My four twenty-something daughters were all a-twitter.  They couldn’t understand why I wasn’t just giddy with anticipation? At my age beautiful underware is just a waste of money, there isn’t enough lace and sequins in the known world to make me look better undressed than dressed. 

We had snow last week.  Then I blew a tire and put my car in a ditch.  I managed to get it out, a piece of good luck that wouldn’t have happened in 2007.  I’m sure of it.

We spent the first weekend of a brand new year at the Funny Bone laughing at Josh Blue.  Not a bad way to kick off a year.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

New Year, New Life Three Sisters of Fate

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. hammer  |  January 7, 2008 at 10:04 am

    I worked very hard at 21 and it kinda makes me cranky to see kids that piddle. If the kid is comfortable they may not want to take on any added responsibility.

    When my dad was a kid he was expected to work hard and get his life going at age 15

    When I was a kid 17 for working and being self reliant by 20.

    Nowadays it’s mom’s basement till 39 lol

    Reply
  • 2. katcampbell  |  January 7, 2008 at 10:05 am

    I’m just hoping to marry her off Hammer, its my fault she’s so unmotivated, hard to let that last one grow up!

    Reply
  • 3. QuillDancer  |  January 7, 2008 at 12:41 pm

    I’m glad that car thing worked out okay. Bet it was scary for a minute or two!

    Reply
  • 4. nessa  |  January 7, 2008 at 4:24 pm

    My husband keeps telling me to make life more miserable at home. Our daughter is 21 too and still here.But she’s learning things too so I’m ok with it.

    Laughing is good.

    Reply
  • 5. Mr. Fabulous  |  January 7, 2008 at 6:59 pm

    The ladies I work with get all pumped up at the VS sales as well, but mostly for fragrances and the like. I have to say, some of those perfumes do smell divine!

    Reply
  • 6. stacy  |  January 7, 2008 at 8:14 pm

    I was in your shoes at 21…’cept the baby didn’t come for another year. That baby turned 21 in October and his choices make me a bit cranky. He quit school (after blowing off 2 semesters of classes), moved in with his fiance’s family (a volitile domestic situation at best), quit a good job that was probably going places because one of the managers was a pain (welcome to real life) and works for slightly more than minimum wage at an electronics store. He and the fiance did move into their own place but with nothing else planned for the future they plan to get married this summer. Sigh. At least they don’t live with me.

    Reply
  • 7. Hayden  |  January 7, 2008 at 10:53 pm

    Yep. I didn’t do the baby route and didn’t marry until 26, but I was on my own and paying my own rent by 20, with no going back and asking for loans to “tide me over.” I just figured it was time; I finished at the community college and immediately “got on with my life.” It probably helps that I was far from living in a palace at home, so I didn’t feel any shock of ‘downsizing.’ My place was better than theirs – it didn’t leak.

    The other side of that is that I’m 56, have worked since I was 14, and its been a real struggle to figure out what I want beyond to financial survival.

    Reply
  • 8. J.  |  January 7, 2008 at 11:45 pm

    I like VS pajamas. 😀

    Reply
  • 9. John Linna  |  January 8, 2008 at 5:47 am

    If you enjoy having your daughter at home then there is no problem. She will leave soon enough.

    Reply
  • 10. Catch  |  January 8, 2008 at 1:36 pm

    my 24 yr old piddles too……another thing we have in common! lol…it tends to make me cranky too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
January 2008
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Feeds


