Still Got It

January 10, 2008 at 5:16 pm 10 comments

My youngest grandgirl, Ayla, lives a charmed life.  2007-aylas-day-with-nana-1.jpgHer parents are both teachers and went to great extremes to achieve their dream of having a baby.  My daughter nearly died of toxemia in the process and poor little Ayla had everything from colic to acid reflux. Despite all these problems, she drew the super mom card, my daughter is an amazing mother. Because of these early difficulties, they haven’t asked me to watch her much in these first nine months…until recently.  Sweet little thing wasn’t really sure SHE wanted to be left alone with Nana.  She couldn’t find her comfy white crib with the ballerinas around the edge at my house. 

Once Mom actually walked away and theaylas-day-with-nana-2.jpg door clicked shut.  Ayla was SURE she didn’t want to stay with Nana.  I reassured her that I was perfectly qualified to watch her for one afternoon.  Reminded her that all her cousins had survived a day (week, or month) at my house.  She wasn’t impressed.  She didn’t care how many toys I could drag out of the box.  The stuffed pink poodle was not a suitable replacement for her big black cat at home. 

It was touch and go for quite awhile.  I tried everything.  Rocking her, walking her, making funny faces, Peek-a-boo, Itsy Bitsy spider…  nothing was working.  Ayla has this mournful, non-shrill, heartbreaking kind of cry.  There’s no hysteria in it, every howl says “I’m afraid, I’m abandoned, My life is over.”aylas-day-with-nana-5.jpg  She can sustain this sobbing for considerable lengths of time.  I was fetching her mother’s cell phone number when in desperation I tried my last trick – cookies and pretzels.  What girl can resist a handful of snack foods tossed on a table?  I should have tried new shoes, or poker cards from the look of this picture…but I’m a little rusty. 

Disaster averted, we had a nice afternoon that stretched into evening and on into bedtime.  Now if she’ll just grow some hair…

aylas-day-with-nana-4.jpg

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Job Hunt The Writer’s Strike

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mr. Fabulous  |  January 10, 2008 at 6:22 pm

    Oh my God she is absolutely adorable!

    It’s not unseemly of me to gush like that, is it?

    Those eyes!

    Reply
  • 2. Absolute Vanilla (and Atyllah)  |  January 10, 2008 at 8:44 pm

    She is too cute for words!

    Hope the two of you get to spend many more afternoons together and that the walling grows less each time – keep those pretzels handy, Gran’ma! 😉

    Reply
  • 3. J.  |  January 10, 2008 at 9:20 pm

    AHHHHHHH!!!! I love bald babies!!!

    Reply
  • 4. LauraJ  |  January 10, 2008 at 9:43 pm

    Lace the snacks with Rogain?
    Find last Halloween’s wig?
    I’ve run out of suggestions.

    Reply
  • 5. Nessa  |  January 10, 2008 at 10:29 pm

    She’s beautiful and grandma still has the touch.

    Reply
  • 6. QuillDancer  |  January 10, 2008 at 11:25 pm

    Look at those eyes! She looks so sad in the first photo that I just want to pick her up and hug her! And of course food did the trick. All that crying works up an appetite!

    Reply
  • 7. Dave M  |  January 11, 2008 at 12:18 am

    A baby with lots of guts, she’ll go a long way. God cant they keep up the bawling though. If only you could reason with babies and younsters……still you found something to keep her happy. Letting them get saucepans out of kitchen cupboards used to be one of ours to keep them quiet. So Pap will become a kept man…….always one of my ambitions, but it never worked. Quiet days of doing croswords, off for the odd cycle ride…I can but dream.

    Reply
  • 8. katcampbell  |  January 11, 2008 at 1:51 am

    Mr. Fab – You can gush all you want…isn’t that why grandmothers post baby pictures?

    AV – I was hoping to be able to spend many afternoons with her, but back to work with me after all. Will have to sacrifice more Saturdays – the crying kills me.

    Jan – Personally…I like a little hair on babies. People keep asking if she’s a boy, even when she’s wearing pink!

    Laura J – LOL! I never thought of last years halloween wig!

    Nessa – Thanks, she’s a sweety.

    Quilly – I tried hugging and snuggling, she was having none of it. When Ayla is sad…AYLA IS SAD.

    Dave M – Pap drew the lucky lottery, he’s definately heading for kept man territory.

    Reply
  • 9. Linda  |  January 12, 2008 at 9:29 am

    You should have brought out a cardboard box and paper bag, my baby seems to love them. The kids got all of these wonderful toys for Christmas and they would rather play with these sort of non-toy items. I am glad that all turned out well though. With your Nana experience it had to be.

    Reply
  • 10. anhinga  |  January 14, 2008 at 6:42 am

    She is adorable! My bald son and both his daughters grew the thickest, most beautiful heads of hair ever. Just wait.

    I must have missed the grandmothering class. My granddaughters (7 &10) were here last night. When their parents returned they had tatoos on their arms and ankles and we were playing poker for Tootie Rolls. Thankfully, we have forgiving children.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
January 2008
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Feeds


