Same Name

January 24, 2008 at 8:39 pm 21 comments

I use google alert to let me know when articles are posted about various things.  Usually something I’m researching, book tours or news items I’m following.  After Pap and I had our identity theft discussion, I stuck my own name in there.  At first what came up for Kat Campbell were usually my blog posts or things about people named Kat or people named Campbell.  Today my name twin made an appearance.  I followed the link, to Belfast, Ireland and the MySpace page of Kat Campbell, the girl that is not me.

It’s weird enough to stumble across somebody with your name.  What makes it weirder, is her friends list could pass for my family’s emergency calling tree.  Same names all over the place – and not the common ones.  But that is where the similarities end.  No doppelganger for me over there in Ireland, just a very young, pretty girl that has mastered the art of “party”.  If it ever comes down to arm wrestling for the rights of our name, I think I could take her.  Especially if its after midnight on any weekend.

Are you following Dana’s blog book tour?  If you’ve missed a day, no worries!  Follow the tour from the schedule in my sidebar and catch up.  Remember if you leave a comment within 3 days of her posting, you get you name in the drawing for a free book. 

The real Kat Campbell….out.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

MFH An Interview with Dana, Screenplay and Novel Writing When Only Dark Will Do

21 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Zhadi  |  January 24, 2008 at 9:41 pm

    hee hee…’mastered the art of “party” ‘ Don’t know why that made me laugh, but it did! The whole ‘same name’ thing is weird enough, but then you have the case of people who seem to come from the same tribe. Y’know, features and coloring similar enough to look like they were all grown in a vat somewhere. Especially when they’re wearing the same style of clothes…

    Reply
  • 2. katcampbell  |  January 24, 2008 at 10:08 pm

    Dana – Yup, I know a few tribes of those.

    Reply
  • 3. nessa  |  January 24, 2008 at 11:42 pm

    That’s interesting. I wonder what comes up when I do mine?

    My husband thinks the interent is full of perves.

    Reply
  • 4. katcampbell  |  January 25, 2008 at 12:50 am

    Try it Nessa, you might be surprised. I think the internet is just like the real world, some pervs, some mean people, some nice people, some crazy people. He doesn’t blog, does he?

    Reply
  • 5. hayden  |  January 25, 2008 at 6:07 am

    I google myself every few months, just to be sure I’m not out there, LOL! A few have hit, and I am evah so much more careful now!

    Reply
  • 6. QuillDancer  |  January 25, 2008 at 8:07 am

    We can follow the tour right up until we get to the Vox blog, where we can’t leave a comment at all.

    Reply
  • 7. Absolute Vanilla (and Atyllah)  |  January 25, 2008 at 5:43 pm

    She who mastered the art of party, is no doubt having a fun time… and possibly has a sore head to show for it 😉

    I google myself every now and then and am always startled that I’m not the only one with MY name, out there!

    Reply
  • 8. rel  |  January 25, 2008 at 6:12 pm

    Kat,
    I’ve been following Dana’s tour and I notice someone with identical initials to mine keeps commenting. Oh well, that’s the internet for ya. I wonder if they’re party artists too.
    rel

    Reply
  • 9. John Linna  |  January 25, 2008 at 7:04 pm

    I found another John Linna in Finland and he was also a Pastor. It is a small world indeed. I think, however, I would lose if I arm wrestled him for the name.

    Reply
  • 10. katcampbell  |  January 26, 2008 at 3:42 am

    Hayden- Isn’t it the weirdest feeling when you see your name come up? Once I see its just from the blog I’m okay.

    Quilly – When I pass your name to Dana as a commenter for the tour, I’ll have her put you in twice to make up for the VOX stop. Anybody else that got stopped there, let me know.

    AV – Any girl with that many pictures of herself at different parties must have a head and stomach of iron. Or its just an Irish thing.

    Rel – Well, the nerve! We know there’s only one real Rel out there!

    Dr. John – He was also a Pastor? That is cool, like your profession was handed out with your name.

    Reply
  • 11. Mr. Fabulous  |  January 26, 2008 at 2:17 pm

    Hmm…I think I will start using Google alert. I better keep an eye on what’s out there…

    Reply
  • 12. Janet  |  January 27, 2008 at 8:20 am

    It’s been a while since I googled my own name, there wasn’t much. I can imagine how weird it must be to have someone out there with the exact same name. My name isn’t too common, though so I doubt I have a name twin out there.

    Reply
  • 13. katcampbell  |  January 27, 2008 at 3:02 pm

    Mr. Fab – Judging from your blog stats, you’d probably break the poor old google alert :>) Bravo my popular friend!

    Janet – Once an alert came in with a picture! Freaked me totally out until I followed the link, it was from a speech I gave at some event that the newspaper covered. I was very happy when that story faded into obscurity.

    Reply
  • 14. Jon M  |  January 28, 2008 at 3:44 am

    Someone e-mailed me once saying that they had the same name as me…I didn’t know what to do really. Were they genuine? Fishing for information? I also share the name of some American General from the Civil War apparently. And a missionary. Neither of them blogged.

    Reply
  • 15. katcampbell  |  January 28, 2008 at 4:07 am

    Jon M – *giggle* I’m trying to imagine a civil war general blogging.

    Reply
  • 16. colleen  |  January 29, 2008 at 9:04 pm

    There is another Colleen Redman who is a writer and writes on topics, mostly health related, that I am interested in too. It’s so weird.

    Reply
  • 17. Gela Words  |  February 3, 2008 at 5:18 am

    Hehe, you’re so funny. I do that all the time, google my name (and the names of everyone I know) and you’re right, it’s quite weird reading about someone with the same name.

    I keep hoping that I’ll come upon some salacious story of people that I know but unfortunately the people that I know seem to live boring, staid lives 😉

    Reply
  • 18. Gela Words  |  February 3, 2008 at 5:18 am

    And how do I know you’re the ‘real’ Kat Campbell anyway???? 🙂

    Reply
  • 19. another kat.  |  February 15, 2008 at 6:24 am

    funny…you posted this on my birthday…

    (I’m catching up…..too)

    Reply
  • 20. Katt C  |  February 15, 2008 at 2:53 pm

    Um, you don’t know me, but I got bored and looked up my name on google, and was brought to your blog.

    There are a lot of us out there!

    -Katt Campbell

    Reply
  • 21. katcampbell  |  February 15, 2008 at 6:21 pm

    Yes there seem to be Katt Campbell!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
January 2008
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Feeds


