When Only Dark Will Do

January 28, 2008 at 7:33 am 20 comments

This weekend was one of those rare and unusual couple of days when I couldn’t find anything to do.  Not true, there is always something to do around here.  There was nothing I wanted to do.  As restless as a four year old at a political rally, I was just about as pouty as a preschooler too.  Pap was refing basketball tournament games, my kids and friends were all up to their own business, things were even slow here in blog world.  Just to make everything a little more frustrating, I did something to my answering machine and now it answers in Spanish.  By Saturday night I was sick to death of my own company so I went to the movies. 

We have a new theater, always lots of movies to choose from, and I haven’t been to the movies in a while so everything was new to me.  Considering my grumpy, restless mood, I probably should have picked a comedy orsweeney-todd.jpg romance movie.  But I love Johnny Depp.  Johnny Depp with Helena Bonham Carter and Professor Snape plus Wormtail from Harry Potter and directed by Tim Burton?  That certainly left no choice for me but Sweeney Todd, a dark, tragic, musical.  If you haven’t seen this movie, but plan to, here’s your fair warning:  lots of blood, bugs, rats, murder, mayhem, cannablism, deceit, and the singing isn’t great.  I loved it anyway. 

Something that struck me on the drive home was the difference between American actors and actresses and, in this case, England’s.  We focus so much on astounding beauty here, whether there is talent or not.  Timothy Spall, who plays Beadle Bamford in this movie, borders on pure ugly.  He’s chunky, homely and so talented I was completely sucked in by his character.  I wish Hollywood would take a walk down any street that isn’t in California, and remember what real people look like.  Then they need to call every agent in the country and say “bring us your talent, even if they aren’t a size 2”. 

Entry filed under: movies.

Same Name Winners and Stuff

20 Comments Add your own

  • 1. QuillDancer  |  January 28, 2008 at 10:21 am

    Ah, but Hollywood asks for what the public will buy. Sad to say, the public buys “pretty”.

    Reply
  • 2. DaveM  |  January 28, 2008 at 11:40 am

    As restless as a four year old at a political rally…..I like that …..here’s another one I came across……restless as a longtailed cat in a room full of rockers…….wonderful imagery. Did the cinema sell pies especially for that movie?? I want to see this one too.

    Reply
  • 3. Little old me  |  January 28, 2008 at 2:01 pm

    saw the film last weekend, just love it.

    Reply
  • 4. rel  |  January 28, 2008 at 2:35 pm

    Kat,
    Like anything, when you are over inundated with it; beauty gets boring!
    rel

    Reply
  • 5. LauraJ  |  January 28, 2008 at 5:07 pm

    I agree!!! We want normal looking people!!

    Reply
  • 6. katcampbell  |  January 28, 2008 at 5:55 pm

    Quilly – Maybe so, but isn’t that what Hollywood trained the public to demand?

    Dave M – They should have sold pies! I can’t wait to hear your impressions of this movie.

    Little – Wasn’t that scene with Nothing Will Harm You the saddest, most tense thing?

    Rel – Yup, I’m bored with beauty.

    Laura J – Maybe it will catch on.

    Reply
  • 7. Mr. Fabulous  |  January 28, 2008 at 7:10 pm

    I loved the movie as well. I like anything dark like that.

    Reply
  • 8. Hayden  |  January 28, 2008 at 9:07 pm

    amen. this is one of the main reasons I watch few movies and no tv.

    Reply
  • 9. Zhadi  |  January 28, 2008 at 10:11 pm

    I SO agree with you re: Hollywood’s forcing size 2s and pretty people grown in vats down our throats! Figuratively speaking, of course! I can’t wait to see that movie…

    Reply
  • 10. Jon M  |  January 28, 2008 at 11:16 pm

    Timothy Spall played some fantastic characters on British TV he is very good!

    Reply
  • 11. katcampbell  |  January 29, 2008 at 2:09 am

    Mr. Fab – Strange to believe of me, but I do too. The Saw movies (at least the first two) rank among my favorites along with anything by Tim Burton.

    Hayden – I love going to the movies though, disappearing into some other world for a little while. I wonder if a letter campaign would make any difference?

    Dana – You know first hand how ridiculous Hollywood has become. How do we fix it? You will LOVE this movie. After you do, tell me what you thought of the Seaside scene.

    Jon M – Don’t tell him I said he was homely! Magnificent actor, Believable in every part I’ve seen him in.

    Reply
  • 12. John Linna  |  January 29, 2008 at 2:45 am

    Well that’s one mobvie I won’t see. I want something funny.

    Reply
  • 13. Jamaican Dawta  |  January 29, 2008 at 7:34 am

    Good heavens! I have so much catching up to do. I feel like I’ve missed out on so many happenings in your life. Well, I’ve read your blog from scratch already, so it’ll be fun catching up again. 🙂

    LOVE the new header, by the way. And I agree with your sentiments in your last paragraph.

    Reply
  • 14. katcampbell  |  January 29, 2008 at 8:06 am

    Dr. John – No, I don’t think you would like it all.

    JD – Hooray! You’re back out and about! Thank you about the new header, its a view of my balcony from this past August. I miss my flowers :>(

    Reply
  • 15. Little old me  |  January 29, 2008 at 3:23 pm

    Kat, nothing will harm you, brought a shiver to my spine.

    Reply
  • 16. nessa  |  January 29, 2008 at 3:48 pm

    I agree with you about the actors. I much prefer British movies/shows because you are more likely to get real acting. Helena Bonham Carter is a perfect example. She’s such a beautiful woman but constantly changes her looks for the parts she plays. Julia Roberts is just Julia Roberts from one movie to another.

    Reply
  • 17. Delmonti (Dave)  |  January 29, 2008 at 4:21 pm

    Kat, I shall be giving that movie a glance sometime this week.

    Reply
  • 18. katcampbell  |  January 29, 2008 at 4:52 pm

    LOM – Oh me too! I was gripping the arm rest saying “No, don’t do it!”

    Nessa – I love Helena too, what they did to that girls hair in this movie was absolutely criminal though.

    Dave – Oh good! I can’t wait to hear what you think of it.

    Reply
  • 19. Velvet Sacks  |  February 1, 2008 at 4:14 am

    Kat, ahem, I think you’ve forgotten one of my favorite actors, Phillip Seymour Hoffman. He’s closer to a toad than to a prince, and I’ve loved him in everything I’ve seen him in. Then there’s William C. Macy, John C. Riley and Steve Buscemi. That’s a short list, I realize, and except for these guys, I agree with you completely.

    Reply
  • 20. katcampbell  |  February 1, 2008 at 4:41 am

    Velvet – You are so right about Hoffman, Macy, Riley and Buscemi – but have you noticed they’re all men? Where are our less than thin, beautiful, average (to homely) female superstars? PSH is one of the finest actors I’ve ever seen.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
January 2008
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Feeds


