Winners and Stuff

January 29, 2008 at 5:49 pm 12 comments

This just in on the winners of a free copy of Murder For Hire, The Peruvian Pigeon, from Dana’s blog tour.  You may notice there are four names and there were supposed to be only three, according to Dana: “we have four ’cause two slips of paper stuck together on the way out of the fedora and it seemd the right thing not to toss either back…”  What’s not to love about that kind of honesty?  If your name is on this list you need to send your mailing address to Dana at zhadi@aol.com .  Congratulations to the winners!

Zoggirl
Shelli
Diesel
Steven Prosapio

Have you heard about that new dating service in Massachusetts?  It has the same questionionnaires about likes and dislikes as all the other dating services, but bases compatibility on how one person SMELLS to another.  Eric Holzle’s ScientificMatch.com tests each person’s “major histocompatibilty complex”. 

How do you suppose they go about gathering samples for this kind of matching.  Quite frankly, this grosses me out and makes me wonder how in the heck we all managed to pair up before “personality studies”. 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

When Only Dark Will Do The Background Music of Your Life

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Little old me  |  January 29, 2008 at 7:48 pm

    All I can say is YAK!

    Reply
  • 2. colleen  |  January 29, 2008 at 9:02 pm

    I would base it on looking into each other’s eyes and seeing what can be recognized.

    Reply
  • 3. Mr. Fabulous  |  January 29, 2008 at 9:05 pm

    Maybe they send in a pair of their underwear…

    Reply
  • 4. nessa  |  January 29, 2008 at 9:16 pm

    What if you have a stuffy nose?

    Reply
  • 5. Absolute Vanilla (an  |  January 29, 2008 at 9:33 pm

    Interesting about that smelling thing – I imagine that may just be one of the ways we went about these things when we were first evolving. Smell is an incredibly powerful sense – and each of us is loaded with pheromones – so linking smell is kinda interesting 🙂

    Reply
  • 6. Zhadi  |  January 29, 2008 at 11:00 pm

    Absolute Vanilla definitely has a point…if a guy doesn’t smell right, I’m not interested. I love the way my boyfriend smells, even when he’s not freshly washed. Of course, if they ever develop an aftershave that smells like freshly baked chocolate chip cookies…grrrrwwwwwwolllf!

    Reply
  • 7. rel  |  January 29, 2008 at 11:01 pm

    Kat,
    I’d prefer to have someone less odiferous or at least different from myself.
    If there are any typos here, it’s from the blur caused by the tears in my eye fro not winning the book, but Amazon just broke in to inform me that the copy I ordered earlier has been shipped. 😉
    rel

    Reply
  • 8. Jon M  |  January 30, 2008 at 1:37 am

    My dogs are very keen on smells. Just glad we don’t go around introducing ourselves the way they do! Email me, Kat, if you would like to peruse me book! 🙂

    Reply
  • 9. hayden  |  January 30, 2008 at 7:11 am

    what did we do before match-ability tests?

    oh, I imagine we sniffed each other out one way or another.

    this reminds me. when my niece was all of 19 she was in an accident and unable to drive for some months. A young man in the neighborhood, her bosses son, was attending grad classes at the same uni where she was an undergrad, and began giving her rides. She gushed to me: “he is sooooo fabulous! I could never have him, but I can roll up the window and just SNIFF!” Three years later they were married, and now, another 5 years later, they’re still very much in love.

    Reply
  • 10. QuillDancer  |  January 30, 2008 at 9:31 am

    Pheromones are very real and have a lot to do with attraction, but I wouldn’t want someone to base a relationship with me on my scent — what if I changed brands of soap/shampoo/deodorant/perfume? Most of us don’t smell at all natural anymore!

    OC and I met over the net. I was pretty certain I was in love long before we arrived within sniffing distance of one another. Pheromones don’t transmit well through email of telephone wire.

    However, the dude who started that dating service probably did it because he likes the smell of money!

    Reply
  • 11. puresunshine  |  January 31, 2008 at 10:07 pm

    That is really gross!! Seriously, however in the world will they get samples!

    Reply
  • 12. John Linna  |  February 1, 2008 at 1:51 am

    Before one just fell in love and it wasn’t very scientific. Before that the parents arranged the marriage.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
January 2008
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Feeds


