The Background Music of Your Life

February 1, 2008 at 5:26 am 20 comments

I was a sophomore in High School in 1973 when Roberta Flack was tearing up the charts with “Killing Me Softly”.  I hadn’t had my heart broken yet, but I loved that song.  I would love hearing the phone book set to music if Roberta Flack was singing it. 

 I made it through High School as the “breaker” instead of the “breakee”, but when that day came, and first husband took my fragile heart and ripped it down the middle, it was this song that popped into my head, quickly followed by Phil Collins (“If Leaving Me is Easy”).  In 1995, Pap had an affair.  We survived it, obviously, but some things can be forgiven but never forgotten.  When “Mr. Brightside” was playing three times a day, it brought that entire period back, complete with a headache and nausea, every time it played.  But I didn’t really mind because when you know you aren’t the only one to have experienced some kind of pain or embarrassment, it takes away some sting. 

Unlike books, which are the vehicles I use to take me into someone elses better life, music is the medium that has always illustrated my life.  And now you know why it frustrates me half to death that I can’t sing. 

Entry filed under: Music and Theatre.

Winners and Stuff 10 Signs A Book Has Been Written By Me

20 Comments Add your own

  • 1. zhadi  |  February 1, 2008 at 10:21 am

    I’ve always loved that song, but my version was Vicky Lawrence’s version, along with THE NIGHT THE LIGHTS WENT OUT IN GEORGIA. Music, both the lyrics and the chords, evoke more sense memory emotion than anything else to me.

    Reply
  • 2. QuillDancer  |  February 1, 2008 at 11:15 am

    A song can transport me back in time and totally manipulate my feelings. The other day I heard the song we were dancing to when my ex-husband proposed to me, and despite all the horrid history sense, for just one moment I missed that man. In other words, music can actually make one insane!

    Reply
  • 3. hammer  |  February 1, 2008 at 11:47 am

    There are some songs that throw me for a loop and I don’t even remember why. Must be some strong memories tied to them. Too bad it doesn’t work with happy memories too.

    Reply
  • 4. katcampbell  |  February 1, 2008 at 11:55 am

    Zhadi – I didn’t know Vickie Lawrence made a version of Killing Me Softly. The Fugees have one out now, they did a good job, but are no Roberta’s

    Quilly – That’s happened to me before, anything from the disco era takes me right back to the happiest times with my first husband.

    Hammer – It works both ways for me. Maybe there was no music playing during your happy times.

    Reply
  • 5. rel  |  February 1, 2008 at 2:12 pm

    Kat,
    Music and aroma are tied to my emotions intrinsically. The smell of Chantilly, and the mucic and lyrics to Harbor Lights brings teen angst s as if only a night haspassed.
    Frank and Nacy Sinatra singing “Something stupid combined with the smell of stale beer puts me back on the dance floor for the first time I danced with my wife.
    Rocky’s theme song; “Eye of the Tiger”….Oh dear, now see what you’ve started?
    rel

    Reply
  • 6. katcampbell  |  February 1, 2008 at 4:26 pm

    Rel – There are worse things than a roam down memory lane!

    Reply
  • 7. J.  |  February 1, 2008 at 8:48 pm

    I remember walking around for weeks listening and singing to Air Supply songs.
    LOL…
    (and a few Phil Collins tunes too)

    Reply
  • 8. LauraJ  |  February 1, 2008 at 9:56 pm

    Some music makes me cringe…some music makes me crave certain foods or beverages and some music makes me long for certain people. I love love love music! (Except for 80’s music and early 90’s.)

    Reply
  • 9. Hayden  |  February 2, 2008 at 2:20 am

    I think most of us live our lives in a sound track that only we know. It would be interesting if that were more explicit.

    (faint music wafting around us where ever we go, LOL!)

    Reply
  • 10. Shelli  |  February 2, 2008 at 4:38 am

    I can completely lose myself into music. I use it on the treadmill to take me away from the other people who are working out with me. Not that they are bad people or anything, but I can go anywhere I want with whatever music I choose for my session on the treadmill. I LOVE and, yes, sometimes hate music and the emotions that it can invoke.

    Reply
  • 11. katcampbell  |  February 2, 2008 at 5:34 am

    Jan – “I’m All Out of Love”…that was a great break up song.

    Laura J. – Strong emotional connection…Hay! I love 80’s music, the CURE rocks.

    Hayden – Wouldn’t that be cool if at least when we entered a room our theme song for the day preceeded us?

    Shelli – Without music there would be no treadmill for me, I’d spend all my time yacking at whoever was working out beside me.

    Reply
  • 12. nessa  |  February 2, 2008 at 4:54 pm

    I can’t sing without crying; happy tears, sad tears. Music gets in your soul and spirit and mind.

    Reply
  • 13. John Linna  |  February 3, 2008 at 12:55 am

    I understand your frustration being the only Pastor asked not to sing with the choir. It was sad because I love those songs.

    Reply
  • 14. Gela Words  |  February 3, 2008 at 4:32 am

    Singing is one talent that I wish I had. That along with being a great writer. Don’t worry, your writing certainly compensate for the deficiency (according to you, you probably sound great and just needling us poor tone-deaf people :).

    Reply
  • 15. katcampbell  |  February 3, 2008 at 10:23 am

    Nessa – I’m like that when I watch parades. I can’t just watch, I always cry.

    Dr. John – I guess it doesn’t matter what gift we get, we always want something else.

    Gela – I really, really can’t sing. As my father once said “She couldn’t carry a note if we duck taped it to her forehead”.

    Reply
  • 16. Tim Id  |  February 3, 2008 at 10:42 am

    I’ve always thought life should have a soundtrack the way movies do. Whether it is a great song that you play over and over or dramatic flurishes to let you know when something is going to happen it would really be a welcome respite from the noise of everyday life…or the silence.

    Reply
  • 17. Gawpo  |  February 3, 2008 at 2:33 pm

    In 1970 I was a sophomore and I saw that Clint Eastwood flick with the crazy lady. What was it called? Not gonna Google it either. Saw it at the drive-in. Was it called—yes! it was! Play Misty For Me.

    Creepy scary.

    Reply
  • 18. stacy  |  February 4, 2008 at 8:20 pm

    I’m the same way, Kat….born with the soul of a singer, but the voice of a frog. It just ain’t fair!

    And I know what you mean about hearing a song that can just rip old wounds open. We went through an affair here, too, and now, for me it is the Sugarland song “Stay” that brings back all those old feelings.

    Reply
  • 19. Delmonti (Dave)  |  February 5, 2008 at 3:05 pm

    Ah… I feel a post coming on… Tracks of my life….. maybe.

    Reply
  • 20. katcampbell  |  February 5, 2008 at 5:29 pm

    Dave – Oh yes! You must have the most interesting background music ever.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
February 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829  

Feeds


