10 Signs A Book Has Been Written By Me

February 3, 2008 at 7:04 pm 18 comments

My friend Rel tagged me to answer this and  since I find the topic quite interesting (as well as HIS answers) I decided not to turn it over to Diesel’s handler of meme’s and tag’s,  Grundir.  (If you have the time, hop over there and scroll down until you see this picture:  grundir_small.jpg  Very funny.  I’m done stalling…

10 Signs a book has been written by me:

1.  You’ll find it being read by the coolest kids in the sixth grade.

2.  It will always feature a powerful girl in mind or body but never both.

3.  It will come with seat belts so I don’t lose a reader on the wild ride.

4. You’ll catch yourself quoting one character or another.

5.  It will be set in contemporary times with a twist.

6.  There won’t be a sequel, but characters seem to wander around and pop up in other books of mine.

7.  There’s a pomeranian in it.

8.  You’ll learn some little known fact about something you think you know all about.

9.  I will be shelved face out at the bookstore.

10.  The dedication page will have a mention of person(s) from my blog neighborhood.

I’m not a tagger, but if people were so inclined, I’d love to see this answered by:  Nessa, Mr. Fab, Jon M, Guyana Gal, Seamus, Scarlet and anyone else who wanted to play. 

Entry filed under: Books, writing.

The Background Music of Your Life Nearly Speechless

18 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Absolute Vanilla (an  |  February 3, 2008 at 11:12 pm

    A pomeranian? In all your books? Very intriguing! 🙂

    I relate fully to your fifth point, sounds like it could be said of my books too 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. QuillDancer  |  February 3, 2008 at 11:35 pm

    Sadly, if it was written by me, it never got finished. I have no trouble writing short stories based on true events, but I have a heck of a time devising a plot out of thin air.

    Reply
  • 3. katcampbell  |  February 4, 2008 at 1:11 am

    AV – Yup, a pomeranian, the best breed of dog to ever land on the planet.

    Quilly – You’re living a storybook romance, I think it would make a great book.

    Reply
  • 4. Mr. Fabulous  |  February 4, 2008 at 6:20 am

    Ooh, I LIKE this! I will do it, although I probably won’t get to it until next week.

    Reply
  • 5. zhadi  |  February 4, 2008 at 6:24 am

    Pomeranians are cute – the ones i’ve met are very much feline in their personalities… I assme you have one?

    Reply
  • 6. katcampbell  |  February 4, 2008 at 7:33 am

    Mr. Fab – yahoo! I’m so curious about your book I can’t stand it.

    Dana – Poms are as close to cats and people as I’ve ever encountered. Where they improve on cats, is they come when called and are always up for a reciprocal hug. Had one…had to give my baby up when we moved to an apartment. I should have paid the astronomical pet deposit, I miss her as much as a kid.

    Reply
  • 7. stacy  |  February 4, 2008 at 8:20 pm

    Woohoo! I love a book that requires seatbelts!

    Reply
  • 8. hammer  |  February 4, 2008 at 9:00 pm

    Yeah pomeranians!

    Reply
  • 9. katcampbell  |  February 5, 2008 at 3:07 am

    Stacy – Action, that’s my favorite read and my favorite way to write.

    Hammer – Ah, so you know the greatest breed of dog to ever grace the earth.

    Reply
  • 10. John Linna  |  February 5, 2008 at 5:07 am

    Ten signs a book was written by me.
    1. It didn’t sell. 2, Nobody read it.3. My wife hated it. 4. My son is sure he is the lead character. 5. There is no lead character. 6. It has no plot. 7. Elementary school kids can read it. 8. It has a Springer Spaniel in every chapter but one. 9. It will never sell. 1o. Nobody will ever read it.

    Reply
  • 11. katcampbell  |  February 5, 2008 at 9:12 am

    Dr. John! Where’s all this pessimism coming from?

    Reply
  • 12. mrsjosegoldbloom  |  February 5, 2008 at 7:16 pm

    ” It will come with seat belts so I don’t lose a reader on the wild ride” LOL… this was my favorite one. What the heck, I might give this meme a try.

    Reply
  • 13. katcampbell  |  February 5, 2008 at 7:40 pm

    Mrs. Jose – Go for it!

    Reply
  • 14. Shelli  |  February 6, 2008 at 4:55 am

    I think I am going to do this. If I can think of 10 things that would be in a book written by me.

    Reply
  • 15. Shelli  |  February 6, 2008 at 7:55 am

    Yep. I did it. It will be up in the morning.

    Reply
  • 16. mrsjosegoldbloom  |  February 7, 2008 at 6:19 am

    Okay Kat I did it and tagged a few more people while I was at it.

    Reply
  • 17. Diesel  |  February 7, 2008 at 9:05 am

    Hey, for a minute there I thought Grundir was moonlighting!

    Reply
  • […] dear friend Kat of Kat’s Random Thoughts did what I thought was a really cool meme last week. So I am going to do it now. And you can’t stop […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
February 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829  

Feeds


