The Inner You

February 13, 2008 at 8:00 pm 18 comments

Remember when we used to say there was a skinny person inside us crying to get out when we were dieting?  Luckily, diets are out of vogue having been replaced with “healthy eating”.  So what happened to all those skinny internal people? 

I never had a skinny person trying to get out of me.  My internal nag was more the Martha Stewart type.  Inside me lives an immaculate housekeeper.  Most of the time I can  keep her trapped under piles and piles of clutter.  She’s easily distracted by new and more germ ridden messes, so it wasn’t that tough a job.  But occasionally she breaks free and tears me away from all the things I want to do.  I can’t concentrate to write with the pile of mail tumbling over into my workspace and the collection of shoes blocking the rollers on my chair.  That’s where it starts…then I notice the fingerprints on the glass doors, the brown leaves on the houseplants, the pile of laundry in the bathroom.  The layer of dust thick enough to plant potatos everywhere….and realize she’s broken through and the only way to beat the old hag back into the darkness is to clean house.  What lives in you?

Hey, look at this,biggestheartaward.jpg I won an award from my dear friend Absolute Vanilla.  Thank you, AV, someday I will pass it forward when I’m not chasing my own tail (and they aren’t expecting it!) 

On another note:  All you techy programmers out there…isn’t there someway to get a drop down menu of one’s blogroll attached to the link thing?  It would save so much time when posting.  Just askin. 

Entry filed under: Flaws.

Where’s Kat? Jaded Beyond Redemption – Not

18 Comments Add your own

  • 1. LauraJ  |  February 13, 2008 at 9:40 pm

    The inner me is a woman who longs for love.

    Reply
  • 2. anhinga  |  February 13, 2008 at 11:04 pm

    I must be so transparent. Trying to bring forth the inner me produces nothing that can’t be easily discerned. I feel so shallow. 😦

    Reply
  • 3. Mr. Fabulous  |  February 13, 2008 at 11:49 pm

    Is it really an inner housekeeper, or an inner demon that is actually trying to keep you from writing?

    Reply
  • 4. Mr. Fabulous  |  February 13, 2008 at 11:50 pm

    Oh, and as far as drop down menus go, I think you are talking about flooble, but it can only be installed if you have your own domain.

    Reply
  • 5. hammer  |  February 14, 2008 at 12:40 am

    a neat freak lives inside of me but he’s taking a year off.

    Reply
  • 6. katcampbell  |  February 14, 2008 at 2:06 am

    Laura J – Sounds like the inner and outer have met in your wonderful middle. It’ll come.

    Anhinga! You’ve just got a great sense of self.

    Mr. Fab – You keep telling me I have to have my own domain for all the best stuff… doesn’t anybody program for poor people anymore?

    Hammer – How’d ya do that? Where’d ya send him? I’ll hook it up with my inner Martha for a year.

    Reply
  • 7. stacy  |  February 14, 2008 at 3:53 am

    LOL…there’s no skinny person inside of me, either. Just the world’s biggest procrastinator.

    Reply
  • 8. katcampbell  |  February 14, 2008 at 5:17 am

    Stacy – I feel ya girlfriend!

    Reply
  • 9. QuillDancer  |  February 14, 2008 at 7:14 am

    A slob lives inside of me. I tidy the house just a bit everyday to help keep her in line.

    Reply
  • 10. zhadi  |  February 14, 2008 at 9:47 am

    Kat, I have an internal Martha Stewart too…same type of nagging re: my surroundings.. You’d think the bitch would at least come up with festive was to decorate the house with 10 bucks, some twigs and ribbon, but no…she just NAGS me…

    Reply
  • 11. catch  |  February 14, 2008 at 12:24 pm

    I have a internal nag living inside of me….usually I just shut her up with a few oreos. She wants me to have everything prissy and in order…but I keep resisting..I gotta be me!

    Reply
  • 12. Absolute Vanilla (an  |  February 14, 2008 at 2:38 pm

    There’s no skinny person in me, I am the skinny person but perhaps I have a fat person in me waiting for me to bring on the chocolates! 🙂

    Have a happy Valentine’s Day, Kat!

    Reply
  • 13. katcampbell  |  February 14, 2008 at 7:23 pm

    Quilly – Maybe I should try that.
    Dana – You got a defective Martha? Wow, that sucks.
    Catch – Oreos work?
    AV – Happy Valentine’s back to ya! Feed that internal fat person!

    Reply
  • 14. John Linna  |  February 15, 2008 at 12:28 am

    I have a need to end clutter that I let out only when I can’t move the mouse on the computer desk. It’s getting close.

    Reply
  • 15. Zhadi  |  February 15, 2008 at 4:18 am

    TELL me about it.

    Reply
  • 16. frothingatlemouse  |  February 16, 2008 at 6:44 am

    There’s a mediocrely somewhat in shape person in me. If I can avoid pizza. Eh.
    I do understand the get things in order thing before you take on a project, though. Unfortunately, I tend to let all the housework go and not do that OR the project. Oh well.

    Reply
  • 17. Janet  |  February 16, 2008 at 7:21 pm

    I have the same inner housekeeper as you! I even have shoes blocking my chair rollers. Drives me nuts. And once I put something away, I see other things to put away and before I know it, I’ve completely lost track of what I was doing before the clean freak popped out.

    Reply
  • 18. Jamaican Dawta  |  February 20, 2008 at 6:41 pm

    Hmmm, I wonder who my inner person is. 🙂

    Congrats on the award!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
February 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829  

Feeds


