Things That Make Ya Go – Ugh

February 18, 2008 at 9:02 am 14 comments

How irritating is it that somebody is profiting (and it isn’t me or you!) thebucketlist_smallposter.jpgfrom an assignment given out by High School teachers and college professors for more than thirty years?  I’m talking about The Bucket List.  Oh we all call it different things…mine is Try Before I Die and has been a page on my blog since I started a blog.  Mines been around since High School when it was a class assignment.  I see these lists all the time on other people’s blogs…and yet, none of us (and we claim to be writers!) thought to write a screenplay around these  stupid lists of things we want to do before we croak.  In my defense, I write for children and they don’t worry about time running out before they do everything they want to do.  Ugh!  I’m not going to see this movie. 

Do you ever do that?  See something and think “why didn’t I think of that?”

Entry filed under: movies, writing.

Stop Reading! Rejection Strategy

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Stephen Prosapio  |  February 18, 2008 at 1:53 pm

    The ideas are the easy part, the execution is the tough part of anything. A funny story like this was that back in the early 90’s my brother and his roommate were one of probably thousands of college kids who postulated “Who would win a battle between Alien and Preditor?”

    Of course two movies later…

    I wrote the ending of the flim The Natural as a short story several years before the movie came out. Of course at 17, I wasn’t in a position to make a film but at least I got an A on my HS English paper.

    Reply
  • 2. Quilldancer  |  February 18, 2008 at 5:44 pm

    All the time! Worse yet, the best story I ever wrote was a “fairy tale” about a girl who had been “blessed” by a fairy with the “gift” of always having to tell the truth. “How do you like Granny’s new dress dear?” “It makes her look twice as short and wide as she already is.”

    Anyway, as I was finishing the first draft a fantastic new book came out by Levine — Ella Enchanted. I was promptly told my project was done because I would just come off as a copy cat.

    Reply
  • 3. katcampbell  |  February 18, 2008 at 5:49 pm

    Stephen – Nothing new under the sun, is there?

    Quilly – I can’t think of one thing that sucks more than that. Its rendered me speechless.

    Reply
  • 4. Mr. Fabulous  |  February 18, 2008 at 6:34 pm

    If it’s any consolation, the movie has not gotten good reviews 🙂

    Reply
  • 5. katcampbell  |  February 18, 2008 at 6:39 pm

    Mr. Fab – So true. Now if one of us had written it, would have been a blockbuster.

    Reply
  • 6. LauraJ  |  February 18, 2008 at 7:41 pm

    I can’t stand the romantic crap they put out there. I actually want to see this movie and I have no idea why. I secretly have the hots for Jack.

    Reply
  • 7. hammer  |  February 18, 2008 at 9:07 pm

    I never heard of a bucket list till the movie came out.

    Still, I’m not going to see it either.

    Reply
  • 8. bobciz  |  February 18, 2008 at 9:12 pm

    Happens all the time…especially with artwork that I thought of doing and then see someone else has already used the idea. It’s exasperating as hell.

    Reply
  • 9. Hayden  |  February 18, 2008 at 9:15 pm

    kat – pray it’s enormously successful and then see it for the blessing it is. No film script can be sold to a producer if it doesn’t have a huge star behind it and/OR you can’t pitch it like this:

    “It’s like a bucket list for teenage (girls/boys) of outrageous things they want to do before they graduate”

    “It’s like a bucket list for 20-somethings who have made a pact to do ___ before they settle into a job and family”

    “It’s like a bucket list for divorcees who feel that they’ve missed their lives and want to do …. before they marry again”

    It takes a success to make a genre, and a genre to get an audience with a producer – If it gives you a twinge of “why didn’t I think of that” then it’s a golden opportunity to write it your way and be heard!

    Reply
  • 10. stacy  |  February 18, 2008 at 9:24 pm

    Even worse is having the idea and then seeing it come to fruitation in someone else’s hands before you’ve done anything about it.

    Reply
  • 11. anhinga  |  February 18, 2008 at 10:26 pm

    I like your thinking, Hayden. You didn’t see the end of the road, but little paths branching out all over. We will never run out of “For Dummies” books. This genre could go on ad infinitum, too. Go for it, Kit.

    Reply
  • 12. Diesel  |  February 19, 2008 at 8:21 am

    For any idea, there are a thousand ways of executing it, some good, some bad. Sadly, that movie looks like shite.

    Reply
  • 13. katcampbell  |  February 19, 2008 at 8:49 am

    Laura J – Hots for Jack? He always plays a bad boy…hmmm…
    Hammer – Even is I wasn’t being pissy about the topic, I’m just so over seeing Jack Nicholson being a jerk in movies.
    Bob – I never thought about this kind of thing happening with art! That would be frustrating.
    Hayden – You have such a way of finding the silver lining in everything!
    Stacy – So true.
    Anhinga – Isn’t Hayden just a genious?
    Diesel – It does look like a crappy movie, doesn’t it?

    Reply
  • 14. Shelli  |  February 20, 2008 at 6:57 am

    Sometimes I see things and say, “Hey! That was my idea!” I just never have the money to make it happen. I have had many ideas that I have thought of long before they were actually products.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
February 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829  

Feeds


