Rejection Strategy

February 19, 2008 at 5:42 pm 16 comments

Have you seen that clip of the guy who proposed to his girl, mid-court during an NBA game between Houston and Sacramento?  She says no.  In front of a packed house, cameras rolling and one of those silly mascots hamming it up beside the intended groom. 

At first glance you might say “Ah, that poor guy, rejected in public, on National TV.”  I was impressed with the courage of the girl who looked like she really cared about this guy, but knew the timing just wasn’t right.  She had options, she could have taken the ring and then retract her answer off camera.  She could have decided not to make waves and been swept into a marriage that just never worked.  She could have taken advantage of this golden opportunity to really embarrass him with a diva performance ending with “talk to the hand”.  She let him down with a whisper and shake of her head. 

She left the court obviously upset and embarrassed.  He left with a beer and the comfort of the silly mascot.  Nobody ever said doing the right thing was going to be easy. 

Entry filed under: relationships.

Things That Make Ya Go – Ugh Bloggers for Charity – War Child

16 Comments Add your own

  • 1. John Linna  |  February 19, 2008 at 7:27 pm

    I hope it was the right thing. Proposing in public like that sure wasn’t the right thing.

    Reply
  • 2. QuillDancer  |  February 19, 2008 at 9:09 pm

    I haven’t seen the clip — thankfully — I would have felt horrid for both of them. I hope it isn’t out there still playing endlessly.

    Reply
  • 3. stacy  |  February 19, 2008 at 9:37 pm

    Wow. I never thought about it that way.

    Reply
  • 4. hammer  |  February 19, 2008 at 10:55 pm

    I’ve seen it. I felt bad for the guy, but hell, he took a gamble and he should have known there were risks.

    Reply
  • 5. Mr. Fabulous  |  February 20, 2008 at 12:17 am

    I like to think that he hooked up with the mascot.

    Reply
  • 6. katcampbell  |  February 20, 2008 at 1:19 am

    Dr. John – If she wasn’t feeling it, she did the right thing.
    Quilly – Its on YouTube, playing endlessly.
    Stacy – What would you have done?
    Hammer – I have to think he didn’t know her very well if he wasn’t sure of her answer.
    Mr. Fab – LOL! I thought the same thing!

    Reply
  • 7. Stephen Prosapio  |  February 20, 2008 at 4:14 am

    Ugh. Thanks for this, Kat. It makes the rejection I experienced last week seem tame by comparison.

    I’ve only known one guy who was rejected on a marriage proposal. He’d been with the lady for quite some time too. He told me about it and added that they were still dating. Why?

    “I love you and want to spend a lifetime with you.”
    “Eh, no thanks.”
    “Okay, then dinner Thursday night?”
    “Sure. Why not.”

    Reply
  • 8. katcampbell  |  February 20, 2008 at 5:29 am

    Stephen – Baffled. Sucker for punishment to keep dating her. She, on the other hand, was probably quite happy with the unmitigated adoration.

    Reply
  • 9. Shelli  |  February 20, 2008 at 6:55 am

    God, isn’t this the truth. If you read my post tomorrow, you will see why this post spoke to me.

    Reply
  • 10. verb2be  |  February 20, 2008 at 8:32 am

    I agree – doing the right thing isn’t always pretty. If it were me, I’d chicken out, say yes then and there, and have a “talk” afterwards. Cluck, cluck

    Reply
  • 11. katcampbell  |  February 20, 2008 at 8:41 am

    Shelli – Can’t wait to read your post tomorrow now…you’re good at cliffhangers Mrs!

    Verb2be: I’m clucking right along with you. I was astounded at this young woman’s courage.

    Reply
  • 12. colleen  |  February 20, 2008 at 9:28 am

    I didn’t see it or hear about it till now, but I would have hated that kind of on the spot pressure. When Joe asked me even though it was a no brainer, I still had to say ‘give me some time to digest this.’ Maybe I can find the proposal on youtube.

    Reply
  • 13. katcampbell  |  February 20, 2008 at 11:01 am

    Colleen – If you don’t find it, click on Hammer’s link from my blogroll, he’s posted the video.

    Reply
  • 14. Jamaican Dawta  |  February 20, 2008 at 6:53 pm

    I didn’t see the clip, but I have to hand it to her, she’s one courageous lady who’s not easily swayed by external pressure. If that guy really knew her as his woman, he would have realised that she’s obviously not someone who feels comfortable being the centre of attention. I hope I’m not judging him too harshly, but it seems he wanted to put on a big show, without thinking of her feelings and what was best for her. Girlfriend did the right thing. Big up to her!

    Reply
  • 15. Delmonti (Dave)  |  February 22, 2008 at 3:28 am

    thats the kind of lass I’d ask to marry me! way to go!

    Reply
  • 16. Kristi Seals  |  April 3, 2008 at 8:21 pm

    I just wanted to let you know that just because you don’t work for the Village doesn’t mean you are not missed. It took me a while to find your blog so now you we have to keep in touch. late kate

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
February 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829  

Feeds


