Bloggers for Charity – War Child

February 20, 2008 at 12:10 pm 6 comments

On a visit to Minx’s blog yesterday I learned of a writing project to benefit the War Child charity called “You’re Not The Only One” the details of which were at Peach’s blog (it’s exhausting giving credit where credit is due, isn’t it?) Peach had this to say about the project:

We would like you to submit (to us at bloggersforcharity@yahoo.co.uk) a written piece about something you’ve been through from any aspect of your life that you want to share. It can literally be about anything: your relationships, your past, a road not taken, being a parent, an illness or your regrets etc. We’ve called it “You’re Not The Only One” to reflect the camaraderie of blogging.

War Child is a UK  based charity, but they help children all around the world.  Follow the link if you’d like to learn more about the cause.

The plan is a book filled with stories as described above, either something you’ve already written in your blog, or something new.  Nothing that has been published outside of your blog however.  1,500 words or less (and they prefer less).   It will be published through lulu.com.   Cruise on over to Peach‘s place for intimate details of this project.  But do it quick, the deadline is February 29th.

I’m going to contribute to this cause, I’ve narrowed it down to three of my favorite posts (all of which need editing).  If you have some time to read today, or you remember these particular stories, which one do you suggest:

Unwelcome Guest and A Trashy Cat    An opossum invades the house and the cat puts the moves on the dog.

A Reputation Ruined  Children sell out parents propensity for swearing.

The Crappy Desk Chair Method of Advertising  Conversation with a character at the hospital.

Entry filed under: charity, writing.

Rejection Strategy Professional ADD

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. J.  |  February 20, 2008 at 8:22 pm

    Hmmmmmm … that sounds interesting.

    Reply
  • 2. rel  |  February 21, 2008 at 4:29 pm

    Kat,
    I’m thinking about, ok? Don’t rush me!
    😉
    rel

    Reply
  • 3. peach  |  February 21, 2008 at 4:47 pm

    thanks for the pimping !

    peach x

    Reply
  • 4. Absolute Vanilla (an  |  February 21, 2008 at 7:48 pm

    I’ve just come from Minx’s blog and have been pondering what I might write, and then I remembered there’s something I wrote a few months back that I think will do very nicely!

    Reply
  • 5. anhinga  |  February 21, 2008 at 10:55 pm

    Boy, you make things hard. I was all set to vote for the woman in the hospital story (forget name) when I read the opossum story. I am still laughing. Can you send them all?

    Reply
  • 6. John Linna  |  February 22, 2008 at 12:13 am

    I vote for the opossum.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
February 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829  

Feeds


