Rebellion by Kid and Other Stuff

February 29, 2008 at 7:54 pm 12 comments

You’ve surely heard the story about the six year old suspended from school for his mohawk?  This is disturbing on many levels.  First the mother, who can read the school dress code and has been warned twice before.  Second the school – come on, I can’t believe a bunch of six year olds spend more than one second noticing anybodies hair style.  To me the real issue is the mother using her little boy to rebel against “the man” and the school determined to “get her in line”.  At six, my son didn’t even notice he had hair, much less prefer one style to another.  I feel so sorry for this little boy a human pawn in an adult game.
Julianne’s Wheels of Fire, the book I’m currently writing, is zooming right along.  15,000 words since Monday.  Granted, they aren’t all great words….but that will come later.  While the time spent just writing instead of blogging was productive.  I miss hearing what everyone’s up to.  I missed the humor, contemplation, and sometimes even righteous anger I get from reading through my blogroll.  Apparently I need to learn how to strike a balance, so I can have both things.  Just as soon as that pesky day job is out of the way.

Entry filed under: kids, randomness, writing.

Hmmm….What’s This Called How Do You Write?

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. nessa  |  February 29, 2008 at 8:52 pm

    Great job on your book. Keep it up.

    Reply
  • 2. QuillDancer  |  February 29, 2008 at 9:42 pm

    I currently have two 4 year olds very conscious of how they look. They both wear single articles of clothing more expensive then my best outfit. They both wear K-Swiss shoes and chunky gold jewelry. One has a mohawk. On the days it isn’t gelled (grandma doesn’t like it and won’t fix it) he comes to class and refuses to remove the hood on his sweatshirt. Granted, these aren’t normal thoughts for a 4 year old, but he was taught them and they are very real to him.

    Reply
  • 3. Dr. John  |  February 29, 2008 at 11:02 pm

    Glad the writing is going well. Children are often used by adults as pawns in their fights.

    Reply
  • 4. katcampbell  |  March 1, 2008 at 1:03 am

    Thanks Nessa. How’s yours coming?
    Quilly – You’re kidding? I stand corrected.
    Dr. John – Thanks! I hate seeing kids used this way.

    Reply
  • 5. anhinga  |  March 1, 2008 at 6:23 am

    Kudos on the writing. These blogs are a siren that call us from our productive writing–or are they? Have you ever written so consistently? Surely the practice is beneficial. Can’t wait for your book.

    Reply
  • 6. Absolute Vanilla (an  |  March 1, 2008 at 2:50 pm

    Oh I know just what you mean about striking the balance, Kat – like you, I tend to be all one thing or the other.
    Brilliant news on the word count – we’re at about the same figure!
    Keep going and good luck with it.

    Reply
  • 7. Delmonti (Dave)  |  March 1, 2008 at 3:02 pm

    how many words do you need for a book? – just wondering

    Reply
  • 8. katcampbell  |  March 1, 2008 at 4:53 pm

    Anhinga – I usually write that consistantly, even with the blog. This last year I’ve been a mess. Too much change all at once. I’m hoping this is a sign I’ve weathered the storm.

    AV – Thanks for the encouragement!

    Dave – 35,000 to 55,000 for the middle grade novel I’m currently writing. But that’s just a guideline.

    Reply
  • 9. FatWhiteMan  |  March 1, 2008 at 7:17 pm

    Do you have a link to the Mohawk story?

    Reply
  • 10. Hayden  |  March 1, 2008 at 7:23 pm

    WOW. 15,000 words in less than a week! You’re cruising! I’m really impressed.

    And jealous. very, very jealous.

    Reply
  • 11. Janet  |  March 1, 2008 at 8:17 pm

    I’m impressed, I think I have a terrific day when I get 500 words a day.

    I had the same thought about the mom of the Mohawk kid-she was using him to make a statement. Sad.

    Reply
  • 12. katcampbell  |  March 1, 2008 at 9:07 pm

    Hayden – don’t be too impressed! That’s a quick 15,000 that will take me a month to edit into something worthy of anyone reading!

    FWM – I don’t have a link, but I’ll look.

    Janet – See response to Hayden above.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
February 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829  

Feeds


