Two Years and Counting…

March 7, 2008 at 9:38 am 20 comments

If it’s March, then it’s my blogaversery.  Two years ago when I started this blog I lived in a big house with one kid at home, two grandkids in residence, one husband, a dog, three cats, too many koi and goldfish to count, a full time day job, a part time newspaper gig and a recently completed first novel.  There were also the committees – Arts Council, Tree Commission, Pottery Festival, Artists Guild and my writers group.  Since then I’ve left my husband then reconciled, moved to an apartment, watched my newspaper go out of business, passed on the Tree Commission and Artists Guild, amped up the writers group, scaled down the pottery festival and worked the day job down to three days a week soon to be gone forever.  The grandkids are back with their mother and the pets have all taken up residence with people in big houses.   There have been births, deaths, graduations, illnesses and Pap has made several trips to the hospital.  No wonder I’m crazy.

Pap’s laser surgery went very well.  Today he had an ultrasound on his veins and the surgeon is thrilled.  Thank you all for your kind and encouraging words.  Sometimes all that practicing really pays off.

Tomorrow Princess moves in with her Charming.  I’m losing my buddy.  Intellectually, I know all this crying is ridiculous, it isn’t like she’s dieing or moving out of state.  Emotionally, it feels like too much change to bear.

Entry filed under: milestones.

“Practicing” Medicine Where’s Kat – Again

20 Comments Add your own

  • 1. QuillDancer  |  March 7, 2008 at 11:38 am

    All unwanted/unexpected change is too much change when one is facing it. All one focuses on is the stress and “loss”. Hopefully, you will soon start noticing some gains. And hopefully one of those gains is going to be a happy Princess with a man who truly loves her and treats her well.

    Reply
  • 2. Paul Maurice Martin  |  March 7, 2008 at 8:54 pm

    In line with QD’s comment, lots of changes at once have a cumulative effect for sure before things start to settle into place again and you find a new equilibrium. At least that’s how it’s been for me –

    Reply
  • 3. Shelli  |  March 8, 2008 at 12:11 am

    I know it’s hard. When Ash left, it was traumatic because of circumstance, but when Emily leaves, I am sure I will cry for days, too. For different reasons. Hugs.

    Reply
  • 4. Barb  |  March 8, 2008 at 3:44 am

    Hi Kat.
    between crying bouts, remember all the “stuff” she used to leave all over the place, remember the Drama Queen, remember the bossy bird, remember, that when she is home, your computer does not belong to you. remember her being on the phone all the time. all of this is part of Princess, now charming has to learn to live with it. LOL. By the time you move again yourself, get pap back on his feet, get your new home all set, stop missing your baby, I’ll be there ready for fun and games ( if your winter does not kill me. ) Think of me as the silver lining to your dark cloud.

    Hugs.

    Reply
  • 5. Janet  |  March 8, 2008 at 5:15 am

    You certainly have gone through a lot in two years! Give yourself a break, Kat. Take care of yourself.

    I’m glad Pap’s surgery went well!

    Reply
  • 6. Kaige  |  March 8, 2008 at 11:48 am

    Happy Blogoversary! Good to hear the surgery went well. Change can be good. Too much change at once is overwhelming. Hang in there!

    Oh, and I’m tagging you for a fairly new meme. *evil grin* It’s similar to the kids game of Telephone. Kinda fun and very easy. I promise!

    Reply
  • 7. hammer  |  March 9, 2008 at 9:35 am

    Thats a lot of stuff to go through. I’m glad the surgery went well and I hope your holding up ok.

    Reply
  • 8. anhinga  |  March 9, 2008 at 8:15 pm

    Happy Anniversary. A second before I opened your site I told my husband that in five months my blog would be two years old. Did either of us know we would continue on like this? I didn’t.

    So glad Pap’s surgery went well and that your life seems to be calming down. It has certainly been a tumultuous two years! More hugs.

    Reply
  • 9. Dr. John  |  March 10, 2008 at 3:44 am

    Good to hear that all the practice got a good result. Now why you have all these emotions flowing is a good time to write and then write some more.

    Reply
  • 10. J.  |  March 10, 2008 at 7:29 am

    That’s a ton of stuff.
    Change is good though. Even if we don’t think so at the time.
    xoxoxo

    Reply
  • 11. Hayden  |  March 10, 2008 at 7:34 am

    Enough is too much already! I understand why one more change seems unbearable. Let yourself cry – chances are good that you’re crying for lots of things, all tangled together right now. Remember – every tear shed contains stress chemicals now eliminated from your system. true fact. let them out. Relieved that the surgery went well!

    Reply
  • 12. stacy  |  March 10, 2008 at 8:03 pm

    Happy Anniversary, Kat! It sure has been an eventful two years for you, but I’m glad you brought us along for the ride and gave us the chance to get to know you and share in your life.

    Reply
  • 13. rel  |  March 12, 2008 at 8:41 pm

    Kat,
    Somethings have to be done: moving on is one and Crying is another.
    I don’t cry too often but that’s not to say I don’t feel just as agrieved.
    rel

    Reply
  • 14. colleen  |  March 13, 2008 at 4:28 am

    What a year! My bloganniversary is in March as well. Three years!

    Reply
  • 15. smielymamaT  |  March 13, 2008 at 6:55 pm

    Huh. Thanks for th catch-up session, just when I hadn’t been by in a while! Hope Charming stays charming… I’d cry too, it’s a big change for you. Keep busy, it’ll help, but you already seem pretty busy.. 🙂 T

    Reply
  • 16. Jon m  |  March 15, 2008 at 1:07 am

    Hope all is picking up Kat! Funny how 2 years can seem like yesterday and a decaed ago…mind you a decade ago can seem like two years ago…hmmm.

    Reply
  • 17. Absolute Vanilla (an  |  March 15, 2008 at 9:01 pm

    Happy Bloggaversary, Kat!

    And so glad to hear the surgery went well!

    Reply
  • 18. frothingatlemouse  |  March 16, 2008 at 4:46 am

    Belated hugs and vibes and prayers for the surgery and a belated happy blogversary.

    Ain’t life grand?

    It really is, but sometimes it certainly keeps ya busy.

    Reply
  • 19. Jamaican Dawta  |  March 19, 2008 at 10:04 pm

    Happy Blogaversary! Sorry I’m late. And I’m glad to know that Pap had a successful surgery.

    Hey, it’s ok to cry. Look at all you’ve been through. You’re much stronger for having gone through all those experiences. So, if you feel a bit emotional, you’re entitled to vent in any way you choose.

    Reply
  • 20. Zhadi  |  March 21, 2008 at 9:25 pm

    Kat, I so understand the effect of culmulative changes on one’s emotions. Hang in there and yeah, cry if you need to and don’t feel about doing it.

    Congrats to Pap on the successful surgery too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Feeds


