They Know Me Here

April 7, 2008 at 2:49 pm 16 comments

Moving back to this small town after my hard won escape to the city is a little like moving back in with your parents after college or a business deal gone bad.  It’s not unpleasant.  Everything is familiar and fraught with memories.  There’s a certain level of soothing comfort to be found in a hometown.  The people at the local pizza shop say “Hey, we’re glad you’re back!”   I know where to go to get the best price on gas or a weird screw to fix an outlet cover. 

But just like moving back with your parents, you sacrifice a little privacy, a little freedom of movement.  The humming electricity of everything and everyone new and just waiting to be mastered doesn’t exist when you move back to where  you started.  I don’t regret my seperation from Pap or move to the city.  It served as a reminder that I’m more than just one of the characters this small town created.  More than just somebodies wife, or mother. 

There’s a scene in The Bridges of Madison County in which Meril Streep’s character explains that once women make a choice to get married and then have children they must stay still and steady to give their children an opportunity to move.  Eventually those moving children spin off on their own and by that time we mothers may have forgotten how to move much less the woman we were before they came along.  My move to the city reminded me how to move and that I can do it anywhere. 

Entry filed under: Moving, small towns, writing.

If Its Not Broke and Ignoble Exits What Are You Reading?

16 Comments Add your own

  • 1. LauraJ  |  April 7, 2008 at 5:19 pm

    I want to give you a very big hug! It’s amazing I find when we see and realize our own growth. May your new adventure in your old town be full of happiness!!
    (I went to the town where I spent 14 years of my life on Friday and folks are kind. When I used to live there it seemed folks weren’t as kind. I think it was me who had to open my heart and eyes more to see beauty. )

    Reply
  • 2. QuillDancer  |  April 7, 2008 at 6:47 pm

    I am not going to try to quote it, but there is a line at the end of “Over Board” where Roddy McDowell tells Goldie Hawn how lucky she is have seen and experienced another way to live then the one she was born into. It is so hard to see past our own situation to other possibilities.

    Reply
  • 3. Dave (Delmonti)  |  April 7, 2008 at 7:59 pm

    remembering who you once were, before someone or something happened can be a difficult thing to find.

    Reply
  • 4. stacy  |  April 7, 2008 at 8:03 pm

    Holy cow, woman! You never do things by halves. I’m glad things are coming together and you have no regrets.

    I like that Streep quote. I think that’s where I am in my life…learning how to move again.

    Reply
  • 5. J.  |  April 7, 2008 at 10:45 pm

    I think I’ve slightly (or more) forgotten how to move.
    Great post, chicklet. I needed that.

    Reply
  • 6. katcampbell  |  April 8, 2008 at 1:35 pm

    Laura J -That sometimes happens, we fail to see the good in places we take for granted.
    Quilly – True, and I loved that movie.
    Dave – Yes, even for you men.
    Stacy – The first time I saw that movie, that scene didn’t even click with me, this time it stood out like blazing neon.
    Jan – No time like the present to wiggle a little, poke about and see what it feels like.

    Reply
  • 7. DaveM  |  April 8, 2008 at 11:16 pm

    All the best in your new venture Kat. Knowing you can do something is wonderful, whether you use it again is immaterial.

    Reply
  • 8. jason evans  |  April 9, 2008 at 12:08 am

    Maybe it’s like the discomfort we feel on carnival rides after we’ve been away from them a long time. It’s takes time to remember how to embrace the exhilaration.

    Reply
  • 9. Jon M  |  April 9, 2008 at 3:16 am

    Kids are only on loan to you and it’s good to keep a bit of yourself in reserve for when they’ve gone!

    Reply
  • 10. Dr. John  |  April 9, 2008 at 4:21 am

    If I went back to my home town nobody would know me. I have been gone far too long. Good luck in your new old adventure.

    Reply
  • 11. Barb  |  April 9, 2008 at 4:40 am

    I’m so glad that you and pap have returned to your Ole Town, as it is my second ole home town too.
    You Know Who. !.

    Reply
  • 12. colleen  |  April 9, 2008 at 8:06 am

    Where am I and what just happened. I read a post, made a comment (about lists and dreams) and then came back to the front page where it didn’t exist.

    Reply
  • 13. tony  |  April 9, 2008 at 10:26 am

    Heck, I move every 2 years…whether I need to or not!

    Reply
  • 14. katcampbell  |  April 9, 2008 at 7:57 pm

    Dave M – Good point. Sometimes just the knowing is enough.
    Jason – Yes, that’s a good example!
    Jon M – Easier said than done my friend.
    Dr. John – Hometown is kinda relative here. I didn’t grow up here, but my children did.
    Barb – You silly thing.
    Colleen – How weird! Your other comment came through in my e-mail but didn’t post here. Technology – blah
    Tony – Yes, but you’re young! I moved all the time when I was in my 20’s and 30’s, not so easy nowdays.

    Reply
  • 15. Hayden  |  April 11, 2008 at 8:03 am

    moving to find oneself – moving back and finding oneself afresh.

    I’m sure there are other ways to do it, but none so certain to do the trick. I hope to meet you when I return to the midwest. You have a firmer grip of feet-on-earth of anyone else I can think of.

    Reply
  • 16. katcampbell  |  April 11, 2008 at 8:26 am

    Hayden – What a lovely thing to say. We will make an absolute point of meeting when you get back here to the real world.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Feeds


