What Are You Reading?

April 9, 2008 at 8:05 pm 25 comments

One of the hazards of editing other people’s books is that I get out of touch with the good published novels coming out all the time.  I keep falling back on my old stand-by favorites when I read for pleasure and its time for something new.

What are you reading right now?

Entry filed under: Books.

They Know Me Here Saying Goodbye to The House

25 Comments Add your own

  • 1. damyanti  |  April 9, 2008 at 8:35 pm

    I am reading “Dona Flor and her two husbands” by Jorge Amado

    Reply
  • 2. Dave (Delmonti)  |  April 9, 2008 at 8:37 pm

    This blog and BMC Remedy AR System 7.x: Admin – Part 2

    Reply
  • 3. nessa  |  April 9, 2008 at 9:26 pm

    I am racing through all of Sherrilyn Kenyon/Kinley MacGregor’s novels. So much wicked fun.

    Reply
  • 4. Eamon  |  April 9, 2008 at 9:45 pm

    ‘Pie and Prejudice’ by Stuart Marconie. A really good, Bill-Bryson-like travel book about the north of England.

    Most countries have some sort of divide (north / south etc ..). This is an interesting look into that.

    Reply
  • 5. stacy  |  April 9, 2008 at 9:59 pm

    I just finished another Jodi Picoult novel, “Songs of the Humpback Whale.” Now I’m starting a Lisa Jackson book, “Love Letters” to give my brain a rest. Picoult’s books are good, but sometimes the emotions are tough.

    Reply
  • 6. LauraJ  |  April 9, 2008 at 10:33 pm

    I’m reading a Men and Woman/Mars and Venus book about starting over after divorce/breakup or losing a loved one. I found it in a bargain bin the other day. 5 bucks says I DON’T finish reading it. 😀

    Reply
  • 7. Mr. Fabulous  |  April 9, 2008 at 10:53 pm

    I am reading Tin Roof Blowdown by James Lee Burke.

    Reply
  • 8. katcampbell  |  April 10, 2008 at 1:20 am

    damyanti – Anything with two husbands in it is worth looking into.
    Dave – Hmmm…I already read this blog (it falls into the old stuff category) and I haven’t the faintest idea what that other thing is.
    Nessa – I could use some wicked fun!
    Eamon – Sounds very interesting. Thanks for stopping by!
    Stacy – I haven’t read anything by Jodi Picoult. I’ll add that to my list.
    Laura J – Hey, those kinds of books are meant to be read a little at a time.
    Mr. Fab – I read Heartwood by him, I’ll have to add this one too.

    Reply
  • 9. anhinga  |  April 10, 2008 at 2:27 am

    Just finished “The Inn at the Edge of the World” by Alice Thomas Ellis. I had read her “Unexplained Laughter” a while back and love, love, love her writing. I see she has a long list for me to whittle away on and I can’t wait.

    Rhaim Ellis’ “After Life” was a great read. It’s her first and only novel so far. I am just waiting for the second.

    Steve Martin’s “Born Standing Up” is also great.

    Reply
  • 10. Dr. John  |  April 10, 2008 at 3:09 am

    Right now I am waiting for four novels that are continuations of what I have already read.

    Reply
  • 11. DeeDubya  |  April 10, 2008 at 3:11 am

    I tend to alternate pulp novels with ones that tax my brain a bit more.

    Following the great pulp trash of The Templar Legacy by Steve Berry (most enjoyable) I am now reading the brilliant “The Kite Runner” by Khaled Hosseini. HIghly recommended.

    Reply
  • 12. zhadi  |  April 10, 2008 at 3:53 am

    I am re-reading WORLD WAR Z by Max Brooks and…
    oh dagnabbit…I can’t remember the name, but it’s a mysery by Cornelia Read and very good so far!

    Reply
  • 13. QuillDancer  |  April 10, 2008 at 6:13 am

    Ilona Andrews! Magic Bites, Magic Burns — and be sure to read the acknowledgments in both novels because my name is there.

    Reply
  • 14. katcampbell  |  April 10, 2008 at 7:09 am

    Anhinga – Lots of titles to check out, thank you!
    Dr. John – And what are the titles?
    DeeDubya – I do that too! The Kite Runner was very good.
    Dana – I love everything by Cornelia Read.
    Quilly – Already ordered both! I can’t wait until they come.

    Reply
  • 15. DaveM  |  April 10, 2008 at 10:47 am

    William Boyd’s Restless. He’s a great story teller and one of my favourites of his is ” A good man in Africa”. Just finished Phillipa Gregorys ” A Wise Woman” thats well worth a read.

    Reply
  • 16. Little old me  |  April 10, 2008 at 11:21 am

    Terry Practchett, The Last hero

    Reply
  • 17. Janet  |  April 10, 2008 at 5:56 pm

    I’m reading “An Irish Country Village” by Patrick Taylor. I confess, the cover caught my eye in the bookstore. I’ve ordered the previous book “An Irish Country Doctor” at the library. It’s sort of a human version of “All Creatures Great and Small”.

    Reply
  • 18. aine evans  |  April 10, 2008 at 8:06 pm

    I’m reading “The Mists of Avalon.” It’s taking quite awhile because I’m also reading a bunch of “clinical books” and “The Feminine Mystique” (it’s about time I read this iconic tome…) at the same time. But I’m enjoying “Mists” very much!

    Reply
  • 19. Eamon  |  April 10, 2008 at 8:33 pm

    (Davd) William Boyd: I think he is just great. Any Human Heart, in particular. I think he is probably the best writer around today. What I like about him is that his use of language is just so good. He is sympathetic towards his characters. And serious-minded but always balanced with light houmour.

    Reply
  • 20. guyana gyal  |  April 11, 2008 at 2:13 am

    I’m reading about women in history in Australia.

    And Don Quixote.

    Does anyone else read two or three books at the same time?

    Damyanti, I saw that movie, it was something else! I didn’t know the movie was based on a book, now I want to read it too.

    Reply
  • 21. katcampbell  |  April 11, 2008 at 2:52 am

    Dave M – I love Philipa Gregory. I’ve read The Other Bolyn Sister and The Virgin’s Lover. I’ll definately add A Wise Woman to my list.
    LOM – The title is certainly interesting.
    Janet – Sounds like you picked a winner if you’ve already decided to read something else by this author.
    Aine – I loved The Mists of Avalon and I must admit I couldn’t get through The Feminine Mystique. Of course I was much younger when I tried to read it the first time…maybe I’ll give it another go.
    Eamon – I’ll definately add this author to my list, sounds very interesting.
    GG – I’m always reading several things at one time, but two of them will be work related, so that doesn’t really count. Damyanti’s book was a movie?!

    Reply
  • 22. anhinga  |  April 11, 2008 at 4:33 am

    guyana gyal asked if anyone read three books at once. Oh yes, even more. Once in a while one grabs me by the throat and I must finish it, like Inn at the Edge of the World, but I have a stack by the bed. Many are re-reads. For the third time I am reading Silent Retreats by Phillip Deaver. It is a collection of short stories and won the Flanary O’Connor award. A great read and lesson in writing. Don’t even mention the literary magazines like The First Line that find their way int he pile……

    Reply
  • 23. Mr. Fabulous  |  April 11, 2008 at 5:02 pm

    Actually, if you haven’t read any of his Dave Robicheaux books, it’s best to start at the beginning of the series. They are the best detective series I have ever read. Burke’s prose is poetry.

    Reply
  • 24. Hayden  |  April 15, 2008 at 8:36 pm

    for pleasure? Ugh, I’m obsessed. Re-reading, one at a time, all of my books on strawbale building. Catching the details I was too ignorant to understand the first time through.

    Reply
  • 25. Charla  |  April 18, 2008 at 8:13 pm

    I just read “Day of the Triffids” by John Wyndham. Loved it – precludes the “Day of the Comet” type movies and is amazing to think he wrote it in the 50’s.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Feeds


