Ike and Other Interuptions

September 16, 2008 at 7:08 pm 6 comments

If it’s not one thing, its another.  How nuts is all this damage from hurricane Ike?  My fellow Ohioans will back me up on how horrible those winds were.  Down here in our valley, all we lost were tree branchs and internet connections.  The cities didn’t fare so well, out of power for a week.  That seems incomprehensible to me in this day and time.  Why should it take a week to repair power lines?  Why are there still power lines in the air when we have the ability to bury them?  I’m much more interested in visiting with you today than writing, but look at what those winds did:

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

The Patio What I Learned

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Quilly  |  September 16, 2008 at 8:55 pm

    I am glad your house is still intact and you still have food, water and electricity. When 18 power poles went down here last winter in a high wind storm, people were three days without electricity — and they put the power poles right back up in the air. OC says there are just some places where digging isn’t feasible — like on an island made of solid rock.

    Reply
  • 2. katcampbell  |  September 16, 2008 at 10:00 pm

    Quilly – We’re acres of clay, so OC is probably right. I guess it isn’t cost effective.

    Reply
  • 3. Absolute Vanilla (and Atyllah)  |  September 16, 2008 at 11:00 pm

    Kat!!! You’re back!!! Yippeeeee! You’ve been missed.

    So glad you’ve survived Hurricane Ike – it’s been a real doozy, hasn’t it.

    Reply
  • 4. hammer  |  September 16, 2008 at 11:43 pm

    Welcome back!

    The wind missed us completely but it is unseasonably cool.

    Reply
  • 5. katcampbell  |  September 17, 2008 at 3:49 am

    AV – Yes, finally! First a broken computer (lightening) and most recently no internet. I missed all of you too.

    Hammer – Thanks! I’m glad you were saved from these crazy winds.

    Reply
  • 6. Dave M  |  September 17, 2008 at 11:13 am

    Kat, great to hear from you again and all the news of whats been happening. My old computer packed in too, in fact with a bit of help from me as I was “fixing” it!!! As it was old I didnt bother repairing but got a new Dell.
    You have been busy withe the garden and by the look on the pictures was great fun for all.
    At least you are brown if any one is brown here its due to rust, as we have had one of the wettest summers ever.
    Look forward to reading more. Take care. Dave

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Feeds


