Deja Vu

September 18, 2008 at 11:08 pm 13 comments

Chalk drawings on the sidewalk.  Hot nights lit by moonlight, the silence broken only by cricket song and shrill, young voices yelling “ready or not…here I come!”.  Bathing suits drying on the shower rod, dirty sneakers cluttering up the entry way, kool-air stains on the counter tops, the daily search for somebodies baseball glove or sombodies jersey.  Fireflies twinkling on the bedroom ceilings (captured by sisters, freed by the soft hearted brother).  These were the summers of my children’s youth. 

The days passed so quickly, I rarely had time to savor them.  There was always so much to do, so much to remember.  I’ve often mourned the fact that we didn’t spend more time memorizing every moment of those magic days filled with the laughter and tears of our five small kids.  I truly believed they were lost to me forever, but life is often about second chances and wouldn’t you know one wandered my way this summer.

 

Drawing by Jazz & Bri, daughters of my daughter.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

What I Learned Exercise of a Sort

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jon M  |  September 19, 2008 at 2:05 am

    You mean I gotta do all that again???!!!! Only joking, My kids are still kids but growing fast, blink and you miss it! Touching post, good to have you back! 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. katcampbell  |  September 19, 2008 at 7:21 am

    Jon M – if you’re really lucky, you’ll get to do it 3 times! Great grandkids….Thanks!

    Reply
  • 3. Little old me  |  September 19, 2008 at 1:39 pm

    I have been sorting out old photos and it’s made me feel a little sad that the days when my son was little have long gone.

    Reply
  • 4. Absolute Vanilla (and Atyllah)  |  September 19, 2008 at 1:43 pm

    Oh yay for grandkids!! So lucky to have the chance to do it three times, Kat. Given that I chose to have no kids and therefore by default get to pass on grandkids, my solution is to stay a child forever! 😉

    Reply
  • 5. anhinga  |  September 19, 2008 at 8:18 pm

    Only grandchildren bring childhood so sharply into focus. When you are ready, the teacher will come?

    Reply
  • 6. Quilly  |  September 19, 2008 at 9:02 pm

    A special joy I will never have. No kids, no grand kids. Enjoy. You are blessed.

    Reply
  • 7. katcampbell  |  September 19, 2008 at 11:39 pm

    LOM – It’s easy to get all maudlin about missing the old days, I do it myself until I remember that there’s only one life and moments spent mourning old memories are stealing away possible new memories.
    AV – An excellent way to look at it! Kids really aren’t for everybody. We remember the good times, but raising our five was the hardest job I’ve ever had (and the worst paid).
    Anhinga – So right you are!
    Quilly – I do feel blessed.

    Reply
  • 8. Little old me  |  September 20, 2008 at 10:59 am

    Kat I know, but I do miss not having little one’s around, even with all the noise and mess they leave, and I don’t have much chance of having grandkids, our three have all said there’s no way they are having children.

    Reply
  • 9. rel  |  September 20, 2008 at 6:51 pm

    Kat,
    Our granddaughters spent the first three week of July with us. They live in Texas and thusly we don’t get to spend much time with them. This visit was a gift that made this summer so much better than some in the past.
    Reliving the exuberance of new discoveries thru the innocence of childhood was a real rejuvenator for me.
    rel

    Reply
  • 10. katcampbell  |  September 20, 2008 at 10:40 pm

    LOM – Didn’t you teach your kids to never say never? Hugs to you.

    Rel – Aren’t they just the most fun now that we’re old enough to appreciate them?

    Reply
  • 11. Little old me  |  September 21, 2008 at 11:15 am

    All the time Kat, but hubby’s son’s wife works with sick children and say’s that is enough for her, his daughter says she doesn’t want anyone in her life, she wants to do as she pleases, and my son as always said childen are a pain in the bum!

    Reply
  • 12. Dana Fredsti  |  September 23, 2008 at 12:43 am

    Sigh… an evocative summation of my summers too… except we didn’t have fireflies.

    Reply
  • 13. katcampbell  |  September 23, 2008 at 1:27 am

    Dana – No fireflies?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Feeds


