Exercise of a Sort

September 22, 2008 at 7:08 pm 12 comments

One of the best things about our new home, is this little copse of woods behind it.  The neighborhood kids use it to ride bikes or 4 wheelers (when they can sneak them in), but during the day it’s occupied by birds and bugs and usually, my prissy house dog.   Why is it that anything quirky or odd always seems to gravitate to me?  If you look at the end of the dirt path there is a small white speck.  That would be my dog.  The one that’s supposed to be trotting gentily by my side, keeping his fur clean.  The one that came to us with the ridiculous name of Whimper, and has since been renamed Walker…to a dog they sound the same and I’m less embarrassed when I have to yell for him in public. 

My kids will confirm that while I might complain that I’m the keeper of the odd and rebellious, I ususally just go with the flow.  Walker will not poop anywhere but in these woods.  He’ll let his head explode before he’ll do his business in our yard.  I don’t know why, everyone else’s dog poops in my yard or flower beds…but mine must have a spot that has never been touched by any other dogs poop.  He’s also made it his personal mission to search out and destroy every cricket on the planet.  The woods are full of them and he’ll eventually step on, lick or bark at every one of them.

My kids will vouch for the fact that I normally embrace the weird and odd, easier to go with the flow than attempt to bend anything to my will.  Actually I’m just lazy…anyway.  Walks through the woods are not speedy trips.  There are way too many things to sniff, pee on and chase (the dog, not me) so Walker and I have come to an agreement.  We will only do this once a day.  Well, twice if the weather is especially nice.  Okay, three times, but that is the absolute limit.  In exchange for all this benevolence, he must act like a prissy house dog anytime he’s in view of any of the neighbors.  The second part of the agreement is that he can run at will through the woods but he must keep his leash on.  This is a temporary rule, in place to protect him.  At two, with no early training, he has all the ADD that comes naturally to a puppy. Once he’ll actually respond when I say “come here”, I’ll let him run unfettered.   Walker’s okay with this rule, because while he’s positively fierce with taking on a cricket, ground hogs and rabbits scare the tar out of him. 

What, you may be saying, does all this have to do with exercise?  Beyond the obvious, walking, This picture was taken at the edge of the woods looking back to my house which is hidden somewhere in that fog in the distance.  This little woods, and my little dog are perfect interval training partners.  Walker used to look at me strangely when our brisk walk suddenly turned into lunges, or I stopped completely to do push ups on a tree, but he’s catching on.  Then there’s all the exercise I get cleaning the boy up after these healthy walks. 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Deja Vu Pondering…

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Absolute Vanilla (and Atyllah)  |  September 22, 2008 at 8:02 pm

    Oh come on, Kat, admit you do chase and sniff in those woods just a little! 😉

    It looks like a gorgeous spot and I can understand Walker insisting it’s the only place to poop – I mean, look at that scenery! Why choose a yard when you can have the wild.

    I used to have a Golden Retriever who on walks on the cliff paths in Guernsey would only poop over the edge. All four paws clinging to the earth, the backside positioned well out over the cliff. Cleaner that way, I suppose, (I certainly couldn’t pick it up!) – assuming no one was standing way below.

    Reply
  • 2. katcampbell  |  September 23, 2008 at 12:13 am

    AV – How fastidious of your Golden Retriever! That’s so funny.

    Reply
  • 3. Dana Fredsti  |  September 23, 2008 at 12:42 am

    Wow…gorgeous gorgeous place to live and what a wonderful spot to meander and walk! I so miss my dog right about now…

    Oh, and Walker is much better than Whimper. ALthough I might have paid to hear you holler ‘WHIMPER!!!!’ heh.

    Reply
  • 4. katcampbell  |  September 23, 2008 at 1:25 am

    Dana – Mostly I just hollered “hey, you, do!” rather than use that hideous name.

    Reply
  • 5. katherine.  |  September 23, 2008 at 6:11 am

    your kids talk too much….laughing.

    I lived in the mountains for a while…and loved walking in the woods.

    Reply
  • 6. katcampbell  |  September 23, 2008 at 6:37 am

    Katherine – why yes, my kids do chatter away like magpies. Beastly little adults. I love the woods almost as much as I love the beach.

    Reply
  • 7. catch  |  September 23, 2008 at 2:31 pm

    Ive been enjoying catching up on your blog….the place where you and the dog walk looks so relaxing!! And the pics and post about building the patio was so cute!! And your right ~ we did have some awesome winds from hurricane Ike!!!!! Whew..I was sure glad when that was over!!!

    Reply
  • 8. katcampbell  |  September 23, 2008 at 4:09 pm

    Hi Catch! Nice to see you out and about.

    Reply
  • 9. Little old me  |  September 23, 2008 at 4:39 pm

    What a lovely place to live, now I am green!

    Reply
  • 10. katcampbell  |  September 23, 2008 at 7:44 pm

    LOM – Awww, thanks. We are really happy here, and after all the problems Pap and I faced over the last few years, happy is a great place to be.

    Reply
  • 11. Ian  |  September 23, 2008 at 11:44 pm

    What a beutiful area. I love the picture of the mist over thefield.

    Reply
  • 12. katcampbell  |  September 24, 2008 at 1:40 am

    Thank you Ian, it is a beautiful place, and the living is very easy.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Feeds


