Pondering…

September 24, 2008 at 9:40 am 12 comments

My writing group has spent our last two meetings discussing writers who are making a living at this craft.  Not the bestsellers – the midlisters and those freelancers that are making ends meet at home with their writing.  To fit into this category, you must be a prolific writer with teflon skin to remain unscathed by rejection.  But even before you get to that point, you must be consistant.  A story a week, 52 stories a year at minimum.  Pages a day, a novel a year, minimum.  So we’re trying it this month.  A story a week, one for every week between our September meeting and our October meeting.  I write books for children, doesn’t it seem logical that I would also write short stories for children?  Well, no, that isn’t working at all.  But what is working are quirky adult tales that involve second chances.  Hmmm…never one to fight the muse, I’m going with it.

If money, family, jobs, or birth were not an object and you were told to select from the following, where would you choose to live?:  Forest, Beach, Desert or City.  I don’t know why I think about this all the time, but I do. 

It is nearly time for my annual attempt to land a major part in the community theater Christmas Play.  I have a plan that I can’t disclose now, but will be posting about if things fall into place sufficiently.  A guarantee that I won’t risk being “third bush beside the nativity”. 

There is a chance that I’ll be less scatterbrained tomorrow…let’s all hope so.

Entry filed under: Music and Theatre, randomness, writing.

Exercise of a Sort This and That

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Dave  |  September 24, 2008 at 2:06 pm

    I can go weeks without writing my name never mind a story a week. But then again, I’m not a writter.

    I’d probably go for Forest……

    Reply
  • 2. katcampbell  |  September 24, 2008 at 5:12 pm

    Dave – Forest just seems to have it all, doesn’t it? Well no waves, and more creepy crawly bugs and things that could bite you.

    Reply
  • 3. aine evans  |  September 24, 2008 at 6:38 pm

    Forest within driving distance of a beach. 🙂

    We have a rustic cabin in the woods already (no water, no electric), but if money were no object… well let’s just say skylight over the bed and the hot tub….
    😉

    Good luck with the writing goal! My husband is a writer and I am in awe of his ability to produce new posts week after week on his blog.

    Reply
  • 4. Absolute Vanilla (and Atyllah)  |  September 24, 2008 at 6:53 pm

    Oh I’m so glad it’s not only me who writes books for children but can’t seem to write short stories for children!

    As for a choice of where to live if… the shores of a lake with towering mountains behind me. Switzerland… 😉

    Reply
  • 5. anhinga  |  September 24, 2008 at 9:44 pm

    The writer of a blog I read and his wife have both been published by major publishers, but he finally gave up on the big houses and is sending only to small publishers now. I don’t understand how freelancers make a living with small articles and short stories, not that I have worked hard at it. I think your writing group is on the right track. Produce, produce, produce. Mine needs to get more productive.

    By the way, forest won out over beach, but just barely. How about a stream or river with a waterfall in the woods. Now that’s perfect.

    Reply
  • 6. katcampbell  |  September 25, 2008 at 2:12 am

    Aine – hey, you don’t even have to play the “where would you live game”. I could live rustic, and your husband awes me too! Jason doesn’t just post, he posts poetry.
    AV – Hooray! There are two of us quirky birds! I’ll go halves with ya on a place in Switzerland.
    Anhinga – Freelancers have dozens of projects circulating all the time, and one story that has been written several times to fit many publications. They amaze me. Definately a waterfall!

    Reply
  • 7. Hayden  |  September 25, 2008 at 8:00 am

    where to live is a toughy – I think anhinga is on the right path… a woods by a river. Of course, a year after I move to MI I’ll probably say city or beach.

    restless…

    Reply
  • 8. Dana  |  September 25, 2008 at 8:50 am

    No contest on the where would i live question… right where I do, near the beach in the fog belt of San Francisco. Only other place I’d go would be further north, still near the beach, but with lots of redwood trees on the east side of the house, beach on the west. So peaceful and quiet! River is nice too..moving water, the sound and sight, just does it for me.

    I have an evil schedule of a 200 page novel every three months for the next two and a half years, plus I want to get more stories written and finish the sequel to MFH. I’m moving towards the path of full time writing and agree it’s all about the ability to produce no matter what. Good luck to everyone in your group!!!

    Reply
  • 9. katcampbell  |  September 25, 2008 at 2:31 pm

    Hayden – I think you’ll be surprised. I often miss the beach, but then I remember sand, sand fleas, burning heat…and suddenly my woods with the creek is wonderful again.
    Dana – Isn’t is great when you plop down right where you belong?

    Reply
  • 10. Jon M  |  September 26, 2008 at 2:38 am

    Short stories are a discilpline in themselves aren’t they?
    I’d live in a forest, no doubt.

    Reply
  • 11. katcampbell  |  September 26, 2008 at 8:45 am

    Jon M – Absolutely, same with flash fiction. What a gift to be able to tell a story with a beginning, middle and end, fully fleshed in 600 words.

    Reply
  • 12. Jamaican Dawta  |  September 28, 2008 at 1:35 am

    I have some pondering to do myself re making money from writing. Will check you for advice from time to time. 🙂

    LOL @ “third bush beside the nativity”. You crack me up.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Feeds


