This and That

September 26, 2008 at 9:13 am 14 comments

It started day before yesterday.  That little tickle in your throat you can’t get rid off.  The weird cough that comes out of nowhere.  Yesterday a light, annoying headache joined the list.  Today I have a full blown, gushing, cold.  Since I’m not sick very often, I’m sure I’m sicker than anyone has ever been.  If Pap loved me at all, he’d have a squad parked right outside, ready to resessitate (I know that’s spelled wrong, but I’m much to weak to correct it) me once I’ve started gagging on my own snot. 

Despite my  declining health, I spent some time in the yard today, attempting to tidy things up before it gets cold or covered with leaves.  You might remember me telling you that my backyard was a parking lot in April? We planted grass seed and from a distance it looks like we have a lawn.  Have you ever noticed that the bag of grass seed says “guaranteed to contain less than 5% weed”, or something like that.  Well the 5% weed is the only thing that managed to root in my clay.  I won’t be sad to see snow.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Pondering… Second Pine Tree Beside the Candy Cane

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. DaveM  |  September 26, 2008 at 10:31 am

    Colds are doing the rounds here too. Not as bad your strain though!!
    You cant keep a good weed down.

    Get well soon.

    Reply
  • 2. Little old me  |  September 26, 2008 at 2:52 pm

    Our lawn is all moss now after the summer we have had, at least it doesn’t take much cutting!

    Reply
  • 3. LauraJ  |  September 26, 2008 at 4:33 pm

    Get well soon Kat!!

    Reply
  • 4. nessa  |  September 26, 2008 at 10:07 pm

    I hope you feel better soon, Kat. Shame it’s not that other kind of weed; D

    I read your previous post. What an eye openner. I’m considering doing something similair to see if i can.

    Reply
  • 5. nessa  |  September 26, 2008 at 10:09 pm

    Oh, and I would live in a forest and take occassional, very occasional, visits to the other places – well, maybe not the desert. I like mountains and trees and snow.

    Reply
  • 6. vaianp  |  September 26, 2008 at 10:50 pm

    Feel batter soon Kat. I hate that tickle. Especially when it wakes me up in the middle of the night!

    Reply
  • 7. aine evans  |  September 27, 2008 at 12:17 am

    Oh no! Don’t tell me it’s starting! I hate cold season. With elementary age kids, I dread the rounds of shared germs.

    I hope you feel better soon, Kat! Wanna a weird tip for combatting that tickle? Someone told me this trick last year and it actually worked for my daugther… slather a generous amount of vicks vapo-rub on the soles of your feet and put on socks before going to bed. Weird, I know. But hey, anything’s worth a good night’s sleep!

    Reply
  • 8. anhinga  |  September 27, 2008 at 12:25 am

    I’m glad to see you haven’t lost your sense of humor.

    Reply
  • 9. Absolute Vanilla (and Atyllah)  |  September 27, 2008 at 9:51 pm

    Oh poor Kat. Be better soon and just take it easy till you are.

    Reply
  • 10. katherine.  |  September 27, 2008 at 11:13 pm

    hope you feel better soon….

    this is the nicest time of year for us…although I do wish we had trees with leaves that change color and all that autumn stuff….

    Reply
  • 11. Jamaican Dawta  |  September 28, 2008 at 1:30 am

    Awww hon, hope you feel better soon. Get lots of rest, drink fluids, and let someone else do the gardening for you until you’re back on your feet.

    Reply
  • 12. smielymamaT  |  September 29, 2008 at 6:10 am

    OH NO! I had that cold all last week. So that’s where it went…

    I have a cousin who says there’s nothing wrong with good weed…

    har har.

    Nice to catch up with your posts again, hope you feel better soon.
    T

    Reply
  • 13. guyana gyal  |  September 30, 2008 at 8:35 am

    I don’t know if I should be embarrassed to admit this or not…the parapet in front of our home is the only one with weeds growing merrily amongst the grass, all the other neighbours have lovely grass. I’ve heard that dandelion is good though, makes a good coffee-like brew 🙂

    Feel better soon, Kat.

    Reply
  • 14. catch  |  October 10, 2008 at 2:56 am

    feel better soon Kat!!!! AT least when it snnows all of our yards will look the same!!!!! Take care girlfriend!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Feeds


