Second Pine Tree Beside the Candy Cane

October 7, 2008 at 3:14 pm 13 comments

An apt description of my blog lately…great sucking void.  So much happened last week I had no time to get here.  Eventually I’ll write about all of it, but for today, my fiendish plan to participate in an annual Christmas production without the indignity of being “second pine beside the candy cane” or “third bush up stage”.  I got together with two of my writing buddies and we wrote our own play.  It’s called The Christmas Legacy, three acts with music and a cast of 27, not counting the choir.  Everyone gets to play.  Which is great, as long as you have somewhere, and someone to produce it. 

Our amazing local art council has been discussing adding theater to their program for awhile.  My writing group is an arm of that art council, there is a literary guild that produces a book of stories about our area every two years, and now we’ve added the Southeastern Ohio Regional Theater Guild.  From that pool of people we found a director and the Art Council secured a small grant letting us tick “someone to produce” off the list.

Last week, my time was spent securing the venue.  We have three Methodist churches in our small town, old, older and oldest.  Two of them, older and oldest, recently consolidated their memberships and moved to older’s church, leaving oldest church empty.  It’s perfect so we’re off…auditions are Sunday and Monday.  So if you live, or no someone who lives in the Southeastern Ohio area, come join us!

Entry filed under: Holidays, Music and Theatre, Uncategorized.

This and That H is for…

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Little old me  |  October 7, 2008 at 4:16 pm

    This sounds like so much fun, will you print the story after you have done the play, so that we can all read it.

    Reply
  • 2. LauraJ  |  October 7, 2008 at 4:30 pm

    I’ll be a bush waaaaaaaaaaaayyy in the back….

    Reply
  • 3. Hayden  |  October 7, 2008 at 5:32 pm

    I love it! This will be my 3rd year of following your Christmas play efforts, and I think this time you’ve found the perfect solution!

    Reply
  • 4. anhinga  |  October 7, 2008 at 10:08 pm

    How charming and Rockwell America is this? I would love to attend, but you are a bit too far from Florida. Maybe someone could video it and you could post at least a portion.

    Reply
  • 5. Dana Fredsti  |  October 8, 2008 at 2:34 am

    Dang me, that sounds like fun! And good for you for rescuing yourself from playing a bush!

    Reply
  • 6. Dr. John  |  October 8, 2008 at 4:08 am

    Looks like things are going well for you.
    A play and a play to produce it. Keep us informed.

    Reply
  • 7. katcampbell  |  October 8, 2008 at 7:07 am

    Okay how crazy is this….my own comments don’t show up on my blog…let’s try again:

    LOM – I won’t be able to put the whole play up here because we’ll try to sell it after we’ve produced it, but I will post the best bits.
    Laura J – Two days with me and I’d have you begging to play lead!
    Hayden – Where there’s a will, theres a way, huh?
    Anhinga – I’m hoping there’s some techy in the group that will video tape it, if so, I’ll definately post something.
    Dana – I’m way too old to pay my dues…
    Dr. John – It is going to be fun!

    Reply
  • 8. quilly  |  October 8, 2008 at 5:08 pm

    Fun! Break a leg!

    Reply
  • 9. Janet  |  October 8, 2008 at 6:06 pm

    I bet it’ll be great! Way to go, refusing to be reduced to being a shrub and writing your own play-in which I’m sure you’ll shine!

    Reply
  • 10. aine evans  |  October 9, 2008 at 1:34 am

    Very cool! I love when talented people enhance their community. Sounds like you’ll have a blast.

    I can’t get into the Christmas spirit yet, though. No matter how much the local mall tries to make me… LOL

    Reply
  • 11. katherine.  |  October 9, 2008 at 4:46 am

    hey…you could YouTube it so we could watch?

    Reply
  • 12. Absolute Vanilla (and Atyllah)  |  October 9, 2008 at 5:13 pm

    This is terrific – you are one proactive lady, Kat! I’m sure it will be a blast – and yes, I’m with Katherine – can you video it and put it on youtube – please!

    Reply
  • 13. vaianp  |  October 9, 2008 at 7:28 pm

    That will be so much fun. And Good for you getting ahead of the curve. I look forward to hearing more~

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
October 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Dec »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Feeds


