Crushed Under Change

January 21, 2009 at 7:08 am 4 comments

Today I watched the inaugeration of our first African American President. I can’t remember the last time I felt this proud of my country and all through his brilliant, hopeful speech I couldn’t help thinking about whether or not he’s broken through the glass ceiling for everyone, that now the door to the oval office is open not just to men of any color, but to women. I hope that we now have a future of selecting our candidates with no regard to color or gender. A hopeful change.

Today my aussie soul sister left on her journey back to Oz. She’s been here since December 9th and so much a part of my family she gets her own invitations to things from my friends. My dog is searching for her. I’m looking at her empty room and missing her already. Sad change.

This month begins my hunt for a job because right before Christmas, Pap lost his which makes us a completely unemployed household. Scary change.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Merry Christmas Everyone! Unreasonable Demands

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Quilly  |  January 21, 2009 at 10:30 am

    Well, Pap wasn’t supposed to be working anyway, was he?

    I’m sorry you have to go back into the fray. I wish you luck.

    Reply
  • 2. Little old me  |  January 21, 2009 at 11:14 am

    Good luck with the job hunting, I am also starting to look for a job to, as I feel much better now.

    Reply
  • 3. LauraJ  |  January 21, 2009 at 5:39 pm

    Good luck and big hugs!!

    Reply
  • 4. Ian  |  January 21, 2009 at 8:14 pm

    Kat:

    Good luck with the job hunt, and I am sorry you are feeling the down side of the economy. You will be in my thoughts and prayers.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The free-lance writer is the person who is paid per piece or per word or perhaps. (Robert Benchley)

Welcome to My Neighborhood!

Shortly after I learned to use a spoon, I learned to use a pencil. Crippled by shyness as a child, I found that the things I couldn't say out loud, I could say with a pen, and then a typewriter. The shyness was overcome with education and age...but the need to write has never left me.

Books That Have Toured Here

Murder For Hire - The Peruvian Pigeon Dana Fredsti mfhcoverjpg.jpg

You’re Not The Only One

Compiled and edited by Peach, this book includes a story by Kat Campbell, as well as 105 other great writers from across the internet. Proceeds from the sale of this book benefit the War Child Fund. Great reading for you, help for some deserving kids. Order by clicking on LuLu in my links.

Recent Posts

Woo Hoo Awards!

rockingirlblogger.jpg biggestheartaward.jpg
thinkingbloggeraward.jpeg thoughtfulbloggeraward.jpg
January 2009
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Feeds


